We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best in town”
Review of Mike's Grill - CLOSED

Mike's Grill
Cuisines: American
Description: Great Burger and Pizza Joint - favorite spot of VT college students and alumni.
Restaurant details
Description: Great Burger and Pizza Joint - favorite spot of VT college students and alumni.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just the best in town”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Mike used to say that he made one thing and he made it really well. If you want a simply fabulous cheeseburger, Mike's Grill is where you go when you are in Blacksburg, Virginia. It is never disappointing. The french fries are good, too, but best eaten hot. At Mike's, you can actually get a few more things other than a great burger. They have pizza and calzones and greek salad, for example, but the burgers are so good, we never really order anything else. The decor does leave a little bit to be desired. It's like an old sweatshirt...kinda tattered and comfy, but, man....those burgers! So good!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Mike's Grill”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Absolutely the best burgers in town! This is a Blacksburg icon! Don't be deceived by the lackluster interior because the burgers were so good. Don't come here for decorating tips as this is "old School" (literally) and not much has changed in terms of the interior over all their years in business. However, as I said before this is the place to go if you want to fill up on a massive burger and excellent fries.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“decent hamburger”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Met a friend here today for lunch. We both ordered Hamburgers with fries so that's all I can review. The Hamburger was good but nothing extraordinary. It was dripping all over the place which some people really like. I think it just makes for a soggy bun. The fries were average. The staff was friendly. You don't get silverware unless you request and only one napkin with a messy burger. We did get more when we requested them. We're in the south and they serve Lipton tea from a machine. Really? The prices were good for what we received. Some people talk about how big the burgers were but to me a 1/2 lb burger is not all that big.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigfoot424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best burgers and pizza in the NRV!!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Mike's is family friendly, university perfect!!! Awesome menu, family run business!!! Mouthwatering food!!! Reasonable prices! I have been dining here for decades!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah2127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SO Disappointed!!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Spent several nights in Blacksburg for 2013 Virginia Tech student move-in. Having heard great things about Mike's, we decided to check them out. Our orders were taken promptly, and our drinks quickly. Our food, however, took nearly one and one half hours to arrive! Virtually all of the customers seated around us also experienced the same ridiculously long wait.
Had our server informed us that 3 of their 5 cooks had not shown up for work, we would have chosen another dinner venue. Shame on Mike's management such incredibly poor service!!! We will not be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megamooo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing