We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Still a favorite 25 years later!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Grill

Mike's Grill
Ranked #30 of 120 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Great Burger and Pizza Joint - favorite spot of VT college students and alumni.
Pittsboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
193 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Still a favorite 25 years later!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had the opportunity to go back to my alma mater, Va Tech, recently for a football game. The first restaurant I ate in when I arrived on campus in Fall 1986 was Mike's Grill. The burgers were great and the prices were very reasonable for a college student. And now 26 years later, the prices are still great and the burgers are still a treat. Nothing fancy - just a good quality of meat, a nice portion and good service. Enjoyed the fries as well. Ate dinner for less than $8 including tip.

There's nothing fancy about this place but it's a great spot for spending some time with friends or family. You seat yourself as a table becomes available and you go to the cash register to pay. Service is good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mike's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Know the original owner, now ran by the son. The absolute best burgers!! The fries are, also very good.

Helpful?
Thank Jackie1947_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't know what the big deal is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went to Mike's for a fast lunch lured by the promise of the best burger. Not really. The service was average and the food was too. The best burger I have had in a restaurant is at Zinburger in the southwestern US. It is a Fox concept restaurant. Sure wish they were national. Will not be revisiting Mike's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mansfjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An old favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Mike's hasn't changed in years. The service is good, the food is priced reasonably. The food is good, location is great. I wish they had Coke products rather than Pepsi, though, and at the very least, that they brewed their own iced tea.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank laurab243_243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, West Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Burgers on the Planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

There is no better cheeseburger on the planet! I've been eating them for 27 years and they only get better!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Grill also viewed

 
Blacksburg, VA
Blacksburg, VA
 

Been to Mike's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing