We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a favorite 25 years later!”
Review of Mike's Grill - CLOSED

Mike's Grill
Cuisines: American
Description: Great Burger and Pizza Joint - favorite spot of VT college students and alumni.
Restaurant details
Description: Great Burger and Pizza Joint - favorite spot of VT college students and alumni.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Still a favorite 25 years later!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had the opportunity to go back to my alma mater, Va Tech, recently for a football game. The first restaurant I ate in when I arrived on campus in Fall 1986 was Mike's Grill. The burgers were great and the prices were very reasonable for a college student. And now 26 years later, the prices are still great and the burgers are still a treat. Nothing fancy - just a good quality of meat, a nice portion and good service. Enjoyed the fries as well. Ate dinner for less than $8 including tip.

There's nothing fancy about this place but it's a great spot for spending some time with friends or family. You seat yourself as a table becomes available and you go to the cash register to pay. Service is good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolesau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mike's”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Know the original owner, now ran by the son. The absolute best burgers!! The fries are, also very good.

Helpful?
Thank Jackie1947_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't know what the big deal is”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went to Mike's for a fast lunch lured by the promise of the best burger. Not really. The service was average and the food was too. The best burger I have had in a restaurant is at Zinburger in the southwestern US. It is a Fox concept restaurant. Sure wish they were national. Will not be revisiting Mike's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mansfjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An old favorite”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Mike's hasn't changed in years. The service is good, the food is priced reasonably. The food is good, location is great. I wish they had Coke products rather than Pepsi, though, and at the very least, that they brewed their own iced tea.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank laurab243_243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Burgers on the Planet”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

There is no better cheeseburger on the planet! I've been eating them for 27 years and they only get better!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing