We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience in the burg”
Review of Cabo Fish Taco

Cabo Fish Taco
Ranked #2 of 127 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Cabo serves authentic Baja Mexican Cuisine in a relaxed and casual setting. Using only the freshest ingredients, Cabo specializes in unique tacos, wraps, and burritos, as well as a diverse selection of salads and featured entrees. Come by and try a taste of Baja and sip on one of our fresh made margaritas.
Cazenovia, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good experience in the burg”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Last time i was here (1985!) this place was a honky tonk bar located in an old church...well now it is a nice southwest eatery with a nice bar and ample seating inside/upstairs with an outside seating area...the beer selection is good with some local craft beers available (on tap). We had a few kinds of tacos, - BBQ mahi, buffalo shrimp and steak - all were very good and the prices were reasonable. Service was prompt and very friendly and we were there on a busy night. i miss the old bar but this place is definitely worth checking out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnsuep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    118
    32
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The atmosphere here is more casual and the servers have proven to be friendly. The food is $9-$12 if you're not getting the most fancy items on the menu. I've eaten here twice now - once with my husband and once with my parents and husband. They start you off with chips and a corn salsa-like dip. Between my husband, my parents, and I, we can say the BBQ Mahi Tacos and Lemon Grilled Shrimp Tacos are AMAZING, the Guacomole Salmon Salad is good but not as good as the tacos, and the Rosarita Fajitas are great, too! We also tried the guacomole, which was delicious.

Their drinks range in price depending on what you want. I got a mojito for $6 (which was light on the rum) and my husband got a Yuengling for $3.25.

Because I like to have an idea of prices before I go to a restaurant, I'll say that when my husband and I went alone, we spent about $30 + tip. When we went with my parents, we spent about $50 + tip. It's pricier for the Blacksburg area, but well worth it. If you don't eat at Cabo Fish Taco on your trip to Blacksburg, you're missing out!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paige89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Dining by myself, I chose to sit at the bar. A little weary as sometimes that can be difficult since the bar was busy getting drinks for the dining area, but service was excellent. Just enough service to ensure my drink and food were good, and I had all I needed. Chicken feta pasta, a special, was excellent, as well as the regional beer on tap. Would stop again if in Blacksburg area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KJACR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Love it! Food is outstanding; service is great; value makes it easy to try every item on the menu...working my way through the appetizers...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Decent option, but the place smells icky.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Food is average to good with interesting options not found on many menu's. But unless you are seated outside, you'll be sickened by the awful smell that is always present. Bad grease trap maintenance I'm guessing...pretty gross. Great margaritas though so if you have a few you may not care about the smell.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank noodle1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabo Fish Taco also viewed

 

Been to Cabo Fish Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing