We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel for the Price!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Burtonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for the Price!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Garden for one night and I must say, it was a great experience. The facilities were very clean, the staff was very cordial and professional, especially Ms. Kim, who was very polite and accommodating during the checking in process. The rooms were immaculately clean and were equipped with a Fridge and a microwave, amenities you don't find that often at other hotels unless you pay for them. Room service was great! The bathroom was also very clean. Overall, I enjoyed my experience and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Blacksburg area. The staff definitely goes above and beyond to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Docgats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    153
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
260
70
35
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Lovely hotel in the heart of Blacksburg. Their staff is immensely helpful. This is one of the coolest, nicest, and cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at. Their staff is so pleasant, and it makes a long trip that much better! Great hotel, two thumbs way up!

Room Tip: Floor 2 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great place to stay! Great accommodations. Rooms were very clean and nice. Breakfast buffet was great. Beds were very comfortable. Room thermostat worked great. Would recommend this Inn to anyone. Great location also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is nicely designed and closer to the Virginia Tech campus than hotels in Christiansburg, but it is overpriced. The building itself is constructed of stone bearing a striking resemblance to Hokie Stone. Nice touch.

The guest rooms
This review is based on a stay in room 408. The carpeting in the hallway is in very good condition and has a nice design. The entry door to the guest room is VERY heavy or the hinges are adjusted too tightly. My 110 lb wife could barely open it and the doors slam loudly when closing. The guest rooms use VT colors and have framed photos of campus scenes on the wall. The wooden furniture in the room is very nice. The condition of the carpeting, walls and furniture are excellent. The room design is typical of most hotels and nothing much innovative or surprising. There is one desk and chair, a comfy chair and hassock, 2 queen beds, dresser with surprisingly small flat panel TV (approx 27”) and a mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the corner. The mattress was much too firm for our liking. The bathroom has a full shower, granite sink and a toilet. This hotel wins the award for the thickest and cleanest smelling towels. The A/C unit is quiet. The room was a bit cool and the thermostat would not rise above 74, but felt cooler. Lighting is good. The main thing that set this room apart from other hotels was the Keurig coffee maker. Very nice.

The view from the window in the rear of the hotel looks out at 5 - five story apartment buildings and their expansive parking lot. There is a very good fitness center with lots of weights and machines. The indoor pool is small which is not unusual in new hotels. The lobby is large and nicely designed. Breakfast is served in an open area in one half of the lobby. The area was very chilly since outside temperatures dipped into the 30s during the night. The cold air would enter as guests entered and exited the hotel through the large doors. The cooked to order eggs and other items offered were very good. Breakfast was very crowded and the friendly waitresses had trouble keeping up with clearing dishes. Breakfast was probably worth the $9 plus tip, but I really don’t like paying for breakfast when you can get it for free at many other hotels, especially considering the $160 room rate.

Problems and suggestions to management
The bathroom sink would not hold water. The toilet did not flush properly. It had to be flushed twice and had a mini-geyser effect which made you want to stand far back when flushing. Strange. The shower curtain looked clean, but had a mildew smell and should probably be washed. The desk lamp has slots in to allow heat to escape, but it also allows light to glare out the top. The pillows on the bed seem to be short in length which was annoying. The mattress was much too firm for our liking and the polyester quilt seemed like it was made from Teflon since it kept sliding off the bed at night.

Conclusion
This is a very nice hotel and in good condition. I would stay here again, but only if I was able to get a more reasonable rate. The Hilton Rewards category 6 rating is ridiculously high. The Virginia Tech area does not have enough hotels to meet demand.

Room Tip: Go to breakfast early to minimize crowds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Terrible insulation between floors you can hear everything the upstairs person is doing and i mean everything from walking to talking. Also room would get hot fast couldnt keep fan running on ac unit to drown out noise. Wouldnt stay here again to noise preventing sleep

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I am Hilton Diamond and have stayed at many properties. This is one of the best in terms of room quality, service and employee helpfulness. Great locations in that one can walk to tons of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hotel couldn't be more conveniently located just off 460 - you can see the highway, but not hear it because the hotel is down in a bit of a hollow. Lovely lobby area with a bar, which is open in the evenings - we did not use it. Breakfast is not included in the room rate which is the only drawback to this lovely property that is staffed with great people who go out of their way to help you. We asked about a place to hike as well as directions to the place that was the reason we were in town and they had preprinted cards with a description of each place as well as directions that they gave us. Also they have a great map to give you that lists the restaurants in each of 3 shopping areas over in the VT campus. Our plans changed and we ended up needing to find a place to eat on the fly and that map was very helpful. If you don't want to pay for the full "hot" breakfast, which is cooked to order and an excellent value at $9, you can do the cold buffet only for $5 which is a great option.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ovg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#4 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Address: 900 Plantation Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#1 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#1 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the comforts of home while on the road at the Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg. Complete with refrigerator, microwave, high-speed internet and HDTV, your spacious guest room contains all the essentials for an overnight visit or week-long stay. Adjacent to the VA Tech campus, this hotel is a convenient stop for parents and potential students alike. Forget something at home? The 24-hour Pavilion Pantry has basic health and beauty essentials as well as microwavable meals, snacks and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing