We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of India Garden

India Garden
Ranked #28 of 126 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond
Level Contributor
462 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Visited this place on a visit to this college town. The meal that day was mainly a buffet. Plenty of food and choices. The price was a little steep, but not a problem. While I wouldn't be here regularly, once in awhile is pretty good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bilewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    33
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bluefield
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

First time at this restaurant. The bathroom was closed. How can you have a restaurant and no open bathroom? Service was poor! Had to summon waitress each time, she only come to table in summoned to greet and leave check. Ordered nan and she did not add to order so it was delayed to mid meal. Food was good, not great. Priced very high! Lamb biryani I ordered had very little lamb. Sauces for tandoori meals of others were good. Prices were high for tandoori.

I left thinking for 6-8 bucks less per person we could have experienced better food, better portions, and actually had a warm environment where they wanted customers rather than being treated like an inconvenience.


Helpful?
Thank brookiefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better than my hometown Indian buffet!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I'm from Greeneboro, NC, a town that has about 700 more restaurants than Blacksburg. I've now eaten here twice. I find the selection wider on the buffet, and the food more flavorful than the highly-rated Saffron Indian restaurant in Greensboro. I do love Saffron, and eat there regularly, but India Garden is just better.

I was part of a large group that made a reservation for the Sunday buffet, nearly thirty people. We were concerned that they would have difficulty keeping the buffet stocked for us, but we never noticed a problem.

I will continue to come to the buffet here every chance I get!

Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
189 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Indian in Blacksburg”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Indian Garden was neat, clean, more bright than cozy; college-town tikka, tandoori, samosas, all competent & some hint of Indian flavors but not distinctive. Started with a few pieces of traditional papadam, but server forgot to bring more when asked although otherwise satisfactory. The atmosphere was enriched by two men playing classical/medieval guitar men in one corner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank centaur41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
94 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fairly Middling”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I am not an avid Indian food connoisseur, but I have eaten at probably 6 or 8 different Indian restaurants, and found India Garden to be rather mediocre. The curry chicken and tikka chicken were somewhat watery as was the Raita sauce. The bigger problem, I thought, was the delay in their keeping the buffet stocked. At one point, people were just sort of loitering around the buffet waiting for Naan bread and the chicken to be replenished. I felt like, after leaving a tip, an $11 bill for the meal was a tad high for what I actually got, BUT, it's kind of the only game in town for Indian food and I was in the mood.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheFranchise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Garden also viewed

 

Been to India Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing