We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Way good wings!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bull & Bones Brewhaus & Grill

Bull & Bones Brewhaus & Grill
Ranked #13 of 119 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, Brew Pub, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bull & Bones is a brewpub with both an upscale dining room and a separate sports bar with a casual dining area. We have a wood-fired grill, on-site smoker, an ice rail integrated into our granite bar, 20 HDTV's, and 7 championship pool tables!
Troutville, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Way good wings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for lunch yesterday, really loved the wings. We ordered the hot, might even go "hotter" next time, and there will be a next time! Had to drive an hour, but was really worth it. Beers good too!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindylou60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    107
    54
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg
1 review
“Poor service, overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Have tried this restaurant a number of times and have been amazed at how poorly we were treated. Some of the food is good but the staff is terrible. I really can't believe how consistently bad this place is.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dugspur, Virginia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good brew, food and service too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were looking for a light meal before an evening lecture at Tech. Already shopping next door so this was a good choice.
Enjoyed a tasty ahi wrap with home made fries. Complimentary rolls provided. The ahi was delicious and the wasabi sauce very tasty.
My partner enjoyed a tasty brewhaus chili and Caesar salad. Both well prepared and served promptly.
Enjoyed fine maroon effect ale with the meals. The award winning ale lived up to expectations.
Overall a fine meal. Service was courteous and prompt allowing us to enjoy our meals and meet our schedule.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueridgeCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible , terrible service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My sister and I go out every Wednesday for dinner. There are not a lot of places for non students in this college town so we have gravitated to this bar/restaurant. We do like the salmon....matter of fact it is probably the best in Blacksburg. We have a joke between us that we must be invisible. The servers look over us and we have to beg to get a waiter. Really? Waited an additional 30 minutes just to have the bartender take our money. Thought it was just us, but we talked to another of the very few people at the bar and discovered they feel the same. The only reason this establishment is still in business is the lack of options. If you have extra time, aren't very hungry, like to spend $35 for salmon and 1/2 bottle wine than this is a he place for you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kacki_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Visited this restaurant on a recommendation from a family member who frequents every time she visits Blacksburg. The food was excellent... It only took about an hour for us to receive it. Somehow the kitchen "lost our ticket" and our food was never made. Not sure where to pinpoint blame - the restaurant was busy, but not overcrowded. I would definitely give it another try.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank shelbimack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull & Bones Brewhaus & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bull & Bones Brewhaus & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing