We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Our Daily Bread

Our Daily Bread
Ranked #5 of 126 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Had breakfast while in Blacksburg on business. Had the brioche French toast and it was absolutely wonderful - it literally melted in my mouth. I'd go back any time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cybored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    63
    19
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent pepper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Great selection of food here, including fab desserts. Get a cup of soup and a baguette sandwich, the take a pastry home with you later. Good pepper shakers: grind your own.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe58156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Bread and Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our Daily Bread is a locals' favorite.

Great breads -- fantastic variety.

They also serve fresh, high quality sandwiches, salads, soups, etc...

The decor/ambiance are sort of blah, but the food is excellent.

Definitely recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ceejaysquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprise in Blacksburg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great surprise!
Our family of 6 landed in Blacksburg for an interview, and passed by Our daily Bread. Looked good, we went in and had a great breakfast. We're from Montreal where places like these are plenty, but in the US, out of the big cities, it's hard to find real good pastry and decent bread and good French Bistro type snacks.
We had French macaroons--excellent
We had crepes -- excellent
We had a croque monsieur -- excellent
We had a quiche -- my wife loved it; I don't like nutmeg
We had croissants -- very good. Not Paris nor Montreal, but definitely better than most I've had
We had a raspberry /chocolate mousse cake -- excellent with excellent quality chocolate

Price? $60 for 2 + 2 adults and 2 kids; including tip tax coffee orange juice milk--quite reasonable

Highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smiro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh Bread and Other Homemade Goodies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have shopped Our Daily Bread in the past and even had a meal there. I found that the restaurant to be a bit pricey. However, I found the breads, cookies, pies, cakes, to be priced just right. It is one of the few places that are left to find homemade baked goodies. I had the pleasant experience several years ago of having Our Daily Bread BAKE me some excellent bread for my use in THE EUCHARIST. I had the recipe from a Trappist Monk from my time, while attending The Candler School of Theology at Emory University in Atlanta Ga. The folks at ODB were very gracious and the finished product was just perfect!! They followed the recipe to the letter and when I used it later that day it tasted wonderful. The folks that were apart of the worship service said they had not tasted The Eucharist like that before, ODB really came through for me. SO with all that said, I highly encourage folks to just stop by and give it a try!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Skip_62_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Daily Bread also viewed

 

Been to Our Daily Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing