We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a French bakery!”
Review of Our Daily Bread

Our Daily Bread
Ranked #5 of 127 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Not a French bakery!”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Have you been to French bakery? Well, this is not one. Don't get me wrong, their food is good but their bread does not come close to French bread. For real French bread, go to BreadCraft in Roanoke. That is real French bread. ODB's pastries are expensive and again do not really taste like their genuine French counterparts. Again, if you really want real French croissants, a trip to BreadCraft is what you must take! So, yes their lunch menu is very decent, but, French Bakery, it is not!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank LaFontaine60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    66
    22
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a real French bakery”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Ever since the new French owners took over, this has been the most amazing bakery I've ever been to. They have gorgeous, delicious desserts, and a surprisingly wide range of breakfast and lunch foods--hot and cold. On Sat there is free live music, tho I've never been on a Sat. I always order the spinach and feta quiche.

Helpful?
Thank Beckyetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“yum!!!!”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The selections were excellent! The layout seemed a little disjointed but I'm not a great fan of cafeteria lines. Staff was great and the food was delicious!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great baking! Tasty treats!”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The food served was really excellent. The bread has the European crunchiness and the croissants were made with butter and very tasty. The pastries with the American custard were very sweet. Would have preferred natural cream rather than over sweet. I must admit for European bakery this is the best in the area!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinR4961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We never go visting in Blacksburg without several visits for pastries. breakfast, lunch or snacks at this delightful bakery cafe. The bakers are true artists for taste and presentation. The made-in-house sugar cookies are frosted and taste wonderful and the artist who does them is very talented. The cakes are devine asare the daily artisan breads. Each day's offerings change. Sandwhiches are on house-made bread. Soups are always generous with ingredients. The startas are different every day and are so silky. They regularly have live entertainers who are a real pleasure. A real gem.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kkguilday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Daily Bread also viewed

 

Been to Our Daily Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing