We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sal's Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria - CLOSED

Sal's Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Food fit for a king, with an atmosphere and service to match!Our continuing legacy of family restaurants. Located in the beautiful First and Main shopping center. With exceptional food and superior service we welcome the opportunity to serve you.Our menu is no exception either. We offer the same traditional favorites that you have come to love. Our pizzas, calzones, and subs are a staple here in Blacksburg where you will also find newly added specials of fresh seafood, Mussels Luciano, and hand made raviolis. Our in-house chef can also accommodate even the pickiest eaters. We have something for everyone! Sal’s in Blacksburg is kid-friendly and our menu is loaded with kid’s favorites. We also offer our no-hassle catering service and a huge take-out menu. When it comes to dining Italian style we have it covered. Nothing compares to a Sal’s experience and we look forward to creating a special experience just for you!!
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place has the BEST tomato sauce and bread! All of their food is great actually! & the service is MUCH better than most places in Blacksburg!

It's a little pricier than other places around, but well worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paige89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    90
    34
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic First Meal in Blacksburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Visiting Blacksburg as a college team. Came in the night before and Sal's had us set up outside on the patio, with food prepped and ready to go. Food was delicious and service was first class. Couldn't have made a better first impression. So good that we are having second meal following game from Sal's and sharing with friends and family. Highly recommend Sal's when visiting Blacksburg.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CLT_WSOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
201 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My experience at Sals wasn't even with the restaurant itself but when I encountered the owner at an event. He was really unpleasant and it definitely set me up to not enjoy his restaurant.

The place itself is nice but the food isn't that great (especially with all of the great places in Bburg). Coming from the north, where Italian food is everything, this restaurant did not live up to any traditions or standards.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msmith703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“First Rate, From Start to Finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Sal's offers flexibility with a smile. Servers were quick to greet, accommodating and efficient. The menu is extensive and included a "build your own pasta dish". Guests have the option of selecting sauces, noodle types, meats, and vegetables. The kitchen even topped our selection with mozzarella and baked it per our request.

With reasonable prices and large portions, it's easy to see why Sal's receives such high praise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evolvingmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We met friends for dinner at Sal's the last night we were in Blacksburg with our two sons who both attend VT. Our friends were with their family so there were 8 of us. We had to wait for a table, but there was a small bar in the back where we waited. The bartender was very friendly and knew how to mix a drink. The owner/manager kept checking on us and letting us know how much longer it would be before our table was ready. Once it was ready, he showed us to the table and apologized for the wait (which really wasn't very long - no apologies necessary). The food was very, very good, and this is coming from someone who lives in NJ where good Italian restaurants are prevalent. The bread was awesome - crusty on the outside and soft and delicious on the inside. Everyone had something different but everyone remarked at how good the food was. The only downside - it was hard to choose because the menu was so extensive. All in all it was a very good dining experience. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LC_from_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing