We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
RICHMOND
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“consistently good”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times . It is always clean and well maintained, the staff is as good as you will encounter. Very convenient to Blacksburg, Christiansburg, and the Virginia Tech campus. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WENDELL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    92
    139
    97
    82
See reviews for
288
45
32
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Absolutely horrific experience. After booking on-line and arriving at the hotel, we were placed in a room in the furthest point of the "L"-shaped building ... inbetween two rooms clearly marked No Smoking and occupied by construction workers who were smoking. Our room reeked of smoke, too, so we asked to move. We were placed about a dozen rooms down from the original, in a double-twin that merely was stale smelling.
About the best thing we could say about the stay is that the staff were prompt in moving us and went to the smokers' rooms and informed them that they would be billed $300 for cleaning. That does little to obviate the fact that the back parking lot was full of workers standing around drinking beer and preparing to grill on the approximately 6-7 full-size grills parked on the grass.
One other best thing ... it's near the highway for quick getaways.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $20 and stay closer to downtown B-burg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rugbyref1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Guest feedback is very important to us and we appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts. While it is difficult to learn that a guest has not had a positive experience, such feedback is used as a training tool with our staff to ensure future guests do have a positive experience. We are glad to hear that the staff promptly responded to your concerns by moving you to another room. The local university is fortunate to be able to continue its growth despite economic downturns and we have been able to house some of their contractors while the university is expanding to meet a growing student body demand. The contractors do appreciate that we have such spacious grounds and outdoor picnic space so that they are able to enjoy their down time. Typically they are very considerate of other guests in the hotel and we do apologize that they were a concern for you during your stay. We do hope that you will visit again and that your next stay meets your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Andrew Crowder, General Manager, is amazing! Not only did he help us solve our issue (cancelling our reservation made through Expedia without suffering a penalty equalling the cost of our room), but he went above and beyond my wildest expectations... calling me back with information I had not even requested... meaning he kept working on our issue to find a suitable solution for all parties after we hung up. Even when I was frustrated over the phone with him he calmly explained the process to me, probably more than once, never lost his cool or spoke rudely. I am a person who REALLY values excellent customer service and I got waaay more than I expected from him. Many thanks to he (and Mike, too)!!!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an awesome review! We are very proud of the wonderful hospitality oriented team that we have in place at the Days Inn Blacksburg and their manager, Andrew, and front desk manager, Mike, do indeed epitomize our "We Love Guests!" culture. Our goal is to not only meet guests expectations but also to beat their expectations and it sounds like the Blacksburg team hit the mark during your experience with them.

We hope to see you soon on a return visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This Days Inn was clean, easy-to-find, and convienantly located; not very far from Virginia Tech. The breakfast had hot and cold items and was OK. The employees were polite and helpful. The parking and layout of the hotel were the only drawbacks. The rooms are all facing the outside, and parking was far from the rooms in some instances. Other than that, this hotel is a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside of the hotel face the mountains and have a good view. Ask for a room close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktg824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I was skeptical making a reservation at a Days Inn, having had a couple bad experiences with this hotel chain many years ago in other parts of the country (lost reservations at a fully booked hotel and property stolen from a room). But my boyfriend had stayed at this property in Blacksburg before and the price was right (I paid $80 for one night including tax, with my AAA discount), so I decided to give it a shot. My boyfriend and I are both VT alumni in our mid-late 20's and were returning to town to visit friends and enjoy some lovely Blacksburg spring weather.

I was pleasantly surprised by the experience last week. Check-in was quick and easy, the lobby area was small and clean, and our room on the front of the building faced a large grassy area so it didn't feel like we were too close to Business 460 which runs right by the property. The room itself was clean, the bed was comfortable (no dreamy pillowtop, but definitely not cheap or uncomfortable either), and the bathroom was clean with a nice looking marble countertop and shower. It was nice having a mini-fridge to store my dinner leftovers and there is a microwave that I didn't use but would be handy too. The only thing I wish was different about the room itself is that it could really use a layer of window curtains that lets in light, instead of just having the thick light-blocking ones. As with most hotel rooms, the lighting is all provided by lamps, and while there are good number of lamps, it would still be so much nicer to be able to enjoy the wonderful daylight that makes its way in through the large window without every person who walks by being able to see straight into the room! There is also no fan in the bathroom, which is my parents' number one complaint about hotels, but that is pretty common.

The continental breakfast in the morning was nothing fancy, but definitely added to the value of the room by being available at no cost. There were the standard carb-heavy continental breakfast options plus scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, and a waffle maker, and one other hot food spot was empty while I was eating but may have held something like sausage or grits. It was plenty to fill me up and nice to save on time and money not having to go to a restaurant for breakfast.

The young men who assisted me at check-in and check-out were both friendly and helpful. Basically, I'm an easy-going traveller and this was absolutely a great value for the cost. If you're looking for plush accomodations, obviously you should look elsewhere, but this Days Inn did a great job providing for my normal needs in a clean and friendly atmosphere and I will absolutely return when I visit Blacksburg again and will recommend to friends and family!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front require climbing quite a few stairs to reach them from the parking lot, so if sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungHokieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review about your recent stay at the Days Inn Blacksburg, VA. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Our goal always is to provide guest satisfaction to the best of our ability and it gives us great pleasure to hear that we accompished that goal during your stay with us.

As you noted, our geographic location is pretty awesome - not only close to VA Tech for returning alumni such as yourselves but also boasts a wonderful mountain view and quiet grounds to relax on. Glad to hear you enjoyed the in room amenities and upgrades as well as the complimentary continental breakfast. Your comment about the "friendly and helpfull" service of our staff is perhaps the most gratifying to hear - we love to hear when the team has successfully taken care of our guests.

Your comments and feedback are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The nicest thing about this hotel was the charming young man who greeted us on check-in. Wish I had his name and could give him credit. The property sits back from the highway so there isn't a lot of highway noise. BUT there sure is a lot of guest noise. We were awakened at 3AM by loud party people running up and down the deck and stairs outside. All rooms open to the outside.

Our room was dark, with two lamps not working (the desk did respond when we called and fixed the problem) and clean except for the bedspreads which were disgusting. A quick check for bedbugs yielded no evidence and we were not troubled by this kind of problem.

The bathroom was clean but minimal in comfort. Not much privacy to be had in this room as walls are thin and noises are easily heard.

TV was old, not HD and not working well....lots of static.

Thank goodness we were only here for a night. Couldn't leave fast enough in the morning so didn't partake of the meager (white powdered donuts) breakfast offerings.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dogwoodlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
It is never easy to get less-than-complimentary feedback on a guest's experience at our hotel. However, all feedback is welcomed as it can be used to better train our team and to enable us to achieve a higher level of guest satisfaction.

We do appreciate your kind comments about the clerk that checked you in. We do feel we have a very nice, guest oriented team in place and it is always gratifying to hear when a team member has taken good care of our guests. Nice to know they resolved the issue with the lamps.

As you noted, our geographic location is a nice plus - convenient to downtown Blacksburg and Christiansburg but far enough off the highway (and with a nice mountain view for the rooms in the back!) to eliminate traffic noise. We sincerely apologize for the noisy guests – we do try to ensure that all guests are courteous to other guests in the hotel.

The hotel does provide 24 hour coffee and donut service in the lobby area but we also provide a nice complimentary breakfast buffet in the breakfast area which includes assorted pastries, cereals, breads, fruit, juices, a waffle maker and other items. We will work with our staff to make sure they are properly communicating the location and hours of the breakfast which is served seven days a week.

Thank you again for your feedback and comments. We sincerely hope that you will visit us again in the future so you can experience the service level that we strive for on a daily basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

the room had been upgraded, marble counter/shower. Non-smoking room, which indeed was smoke free. clean, though there was a left over shampoo bottle in the shower nice to have frig and microwave

Front desk personel were polite and attentive.
Decent breakfast. Nice to have 24 hour coffee

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginialoveMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 10 in Blacksburg
216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
1.6 mi away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#7 of 10 in Blacksburg
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center

Property: Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center
Address: 3503 Holiday Ln, Blacksburg, VA 24060-7005 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect southern hospitality and a warm welcome at our Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center hotel, off Interstate 81 and near Virginia Tech. Stroll around our spacious grounds as you enjoy the scenic mountain views that surround our pet-friendly Blacksburg, VA, hotel. Start your day with healthy free Daybreak continental breakfast, then connect to the office with free Wi-Fi Internet access. Work out in our gym, swim in our seasonal outdoor pool or get work done in our business center. Each room comes equipped with a microwave and refrigerator, and handicapped-accessible rooms are available. We offer free parking, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing