We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; clean, nice rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Main Street Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location; clean, nice rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a really nice hotel right in the heart of Blacksburg. It's an easy walk to all of the night life in downtown and to the football and basketball venues. We were in Blacksburg for a basketball game and it was perfect. The rooms are spacious and clean...seating area with a TV, good sized bathroom with big shower, and sleeping area with another TV. My only (very minor) complaint is related to service...their policy is that your car has to be moved by 3:00 on the day of checkout. The basketball game was over at 4:00, and we were told we couldn't leave it there the extra hour despite the hotel being mostly empty. We ended up having to move it to the parking garage before the game. Again, not a big deal, but thought it was odd they wouldn't accommodate that request.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    56
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
74
46
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were in a queen bed suite on the second floor. The room was clean but the sleeping and bathing area was cramped. We were right by the elevator but due to the sitting room separating the sleeping area from the hall we didn't have any issues with being kept awake by noise. Overall I would stay here again because it is conveniently located in downtown Blacksburg and is nicer than the other hotels in the area that I have stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mevanvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Excellent location with Starbucks across the street and cabo fish taco next door. Walking distance to campus and all of the downtown restaurants. The suites that are $10 more are a little larger and have a king bed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Stiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I recently booked a room for my mom who was visiting for a birthday weekend. My apartment is not very comfortable, so I chose the Main Street Inn- for its location and because of feedback from colleagues. The room was lovely, the service was friendly (they were able to give us a later checkout date even though they were sold out) and the location allowed us to have a great weekend without a lot of driving. Although there was a boisterous (fraternity?) house nearby that was audible in the room during the day (but not extremely), the room was very quiet at night. Parking was a little snug, but consistently available. The Keurig coffee and biscotti in the lobby was a nice extra. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Meggin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Would definitely come back on my next visit to Blacksburg. Great location near restaurants and shops and a close hop to VT campus. The room was perfect size, not overly large, but enough space to relax. The front desk staff was very helpful and even let me borrow his personal iPhone charger for a few hours as I had forgotten mine! Whew. Used the free wifi (had to call and ask for the pw - no instructions in the room) but had no connectivity issues.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 317 - top level and back of the building - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I am a recent alum of VT, graduated in 2009. Thanks to my good education at Tech, I can say I have a good career going. In other words, I'm a potential hotel customer for (hopefully) the next 50 years in Blacksburg.

I selected Main Street Inn for two reasons, 1) it is close to everything, and 2) I had heard that it was very nice. I wasn't concerned too much about the cost. I was VERY excited about staying at the Inn and actually booked/paid my room in March! However, I left the Inn with many mixed feelings. I will share below my PROS and CONS of my stay.

PROS:
- Proximity! My goodness, it just can't be beat. It is close to downtown, and a short walk to the stadium and other parts of campus. I loved being out and about after the game downtown knowing the hotel was essentially next door.
- Close to bookstore
- Nice, luxurious and intimate lobby
- Wonderful bed

CONS:
- Rooms are a bit awkward in shape, though did appreciate the separation.
- No breakfast
- Parking was across the street, which wasn't too big of a deal, but the parking is on the top of the garage so a bit of a pain
- Room had wear and tear that I didn't exepct, scruffs on walls, etc.
- The room I had was a single with a small den area. I believe they are all that way. The couch pulled out to make a secondary bed. This is my MAIN problem with my experience. I had a third person with me, and I was charged an additional $25 a night. I understand this is a common charge in some hotels, especially when you have 5. However, most hotels are also not $260 a night. In all, my experienced cost me roughly $600 for two nights. I was perfectly comfortable with the $525 figure but, out of principle, I was very upset that an additional charge was applied. Other hotels have waived similar charges for me in the past.

OVERALL: This hotel was close to cementing itself as the only hotel I will choose to stay in when I visit Blacksburg. However, I felt nickled and dimed and I left with a bad taste in my mouth. I understand that its a football game weekend, but please also understand I have more than one option in places to stay and don't do silly things like charge me a third person.

Next time, I will look back to VT Inn and Conference Center, who waived or did not have that rule in the past. Or potentially the Holiday Inn or Hilton Garden Inn before the Main Street Inn comes back on my radar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCTraveler2786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Recently I attended a conference at Virginia Tech, which included a stay at The Main Street Inn.

Normally, I attempt to stay with the traditional chains for their predictability and knowledge that they will meet my minimum business requirements. However, circumstances dictate that I stay downtown, so it was with more than a little trepidation that I agreed to stay at this boutique hotel.

Upon arrival my reservations instantly began to diminish!

Parking was convenient and the location within steps of the University and restaurant district. Upon entering the main lobby, I found it immaculate, staff impeccable and with a friendly professional atmosphere reminiscent of my favorite Boston hotel. The trip to my room continued the positive reinforcement with an elevator that was clean and smooth, while the hall was bright and decorated by people of discerning taste and imagination. Upon entering my room, I was so pleased with the intimacy, décor and suite layout. Additionally, the room had all the business and personal amenities I have come to need and rely upon, plus a bed that reminded me of my own very expensive and comfortable mattress.

Returning to the lobby, on my way to dinner, I had the pleasure of encountering other guest that have found this local jewel and raved about its friendly atmosphere and predictable warmth, comfort and cleanliness.

If you ever find yourself in Blacksburg Virginia and harbor similar “small hotel phobia”, do yourself a service and try The Main Street Inn!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#4 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Property: Main Street Inn
Address: 205 S Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060-4823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing