We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Main Street Inn
Nearby Hotels
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$116
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Blacksburg-University(Blacksburg)(Great Value!)
$118
ResidenceInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Carpet Inn(Blacksburg)(Great Value!)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$129
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Blacksburg(Blacksburg)
$109
$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
141
74
28
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
141
74
28
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking garagewithin walking distancegranola barswet bargreat locationsitting areamain streetsmall sitting roomdowntown blacksburgqueen suitevirginia techcookiessuite styleplace to stayin towncomfortable bedrooms are fine
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 258 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were in a queen bed suite on the second floor. The room was clean but the sleeping and bathing area was cramped. We were right by the elevator but due to the sitting room separating the sleeping area from the hall we didn't have any issues with being kept awake by noise. Overall I would stay here again because it is conveniently located in downtown Blacksburg and is nicer than the other hotels in the area that I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mevanvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Excellent location with Starbucks across the street and cabo fish taco next door. Walking distance to campus and all of the downtown restaurants. The suites that are $10 more are a little larger and have a king bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom_Stiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I recently booked a room for my mom who was visiting for a birthday weekend. My apartment is not very comfortable, so I chose the Main Street Inn- for its location and because of feedback from colleagues. The room was lovely, the service was friendly (they were able to give us a later checkout date even though they were sold out) and the location allowed us to have a great weekend without a lot of driving. Although there was a boisterous (fraternity?) house nearby that was audible in the room during the day (but not extremely), the room was very quiet at night. Parking was a little snug, but consistently available. The Keurig coffee and biscotti in the lobby was a nice extra. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Meggin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Would definitely come back on my next visit to Blacksburg. Great location near restaurants and shops and a close hop to VT campus. The room was perfect size, not overly large, but enough space to relax. The front desk staff was very helpful and even let me borrow his personal iPhone charger for a few hours as I had forgotten mine! Whew. Used the free wifi (had to call and ask for the pw - no instructions in the room) but had no connectivity issues.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 317 - top level and back of the building - very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I am a recent alum of VT, graduated in 2009. Thanks to my good education at Tech, I can say I have a good career going. In other words, I'm a potential hotel customer for (hopefully) the next 50 years in Blacksburg.

I selected Main Street Inn for two reasons, 1) it is close to everything, and 2) I had heard that it was very nice. I wasn't concerned too much about the cost. I was VERY excited about staying at the Inn and actually booked/paid my room in March! However, I left the Inn with many mixed feelings. I will share below my PROS and CONS of my stay.

PROS:
- Proximity! My goodness, it just can't be beat. It is close to downtown, and a short walk to the stadium and other parts of campus. I loved being out and about after the game downtown knowing the hotel was essentially next door.
- Close to bookstore
- Nice, luxurious and intimate lobby
- Wonderful bed

CONS:
- Rooms are a bit awkward in shape, though did appreciate the separation.
- No breakfast
- Parking was across the street, which wasn't too big of a deal, but the parking is on the top of the garage so a bit of a pain
- Room had wear and tear that I didn't exepct, scruffs on walls, etc.
- The room I had was a single with a small den area. I believe they are all that way. The couch pulled out to make a secondary bed. This is my MAIN problem with my experience. I had a third person with me, and I was charged an additional $25 a night. I understand this is a common charge in some hotels, especially when you have 5. However, most hotels are also not $260 a night. In all, my experienced cost me roughly $600 for two nights. I was perfectly comfortable with the $525 figure but, out of principle, I was very upset that an additional charge was applied. Other hotels have waived similar charges for me in the past.

OVERALL: This hotel was close to cementing itself as the only hotel I will choose to stay in when I visit Blacksburg. However, I felt nickled and dimed and I left with a bad taste in my mouth. I understand that its a football game weekend, but please also understand I have more than one option in places to stay and don't do silly things like charge me a third person.

Next time, I will look back to VT Inn and Conference Center, who waived or did not have that rule in the past. Or potentially the Holiday Inn or Hilton Garden Inn before the Main Street Inn comes back on my radar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCTraveler2786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews