We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Main Street Inn -- Gem in Blacksburg!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Main Street Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Main Street Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Main Street Inn -- Gem in Blacksburg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Main Street Inn offers exceptional accommodations right in the heart of Blacksburg -- walking distance from everything Va Tech! The king suite was comfy and clean. It was a bit tight, but enough room for 2 people. The windows facing Main Street might be a bit loud during football weekends though!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3boysmomBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    58
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
77
47
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our plans changed last minute, and the Inn gave us a room on short notice. Friendly staff, and a clean room. Very close to campus and the downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GabeB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

A charming, immaculately clean small hotel very near the Va Tech campus. Suite-type rooms. Lots of attention to detail in the decor, amenities, cleanliness. I was concerned about the possibility of having to park across the street, but there were plenty of spaces in the spotless parking garage under the hotel. (Maybe if the hotel was completely full they'd all be taken and somebody would have to park across the street, but that wasn't the case when I was there.) Very reasonable rate (AAA rate $119 when I was there) for such a nice, understatedly elegant place.

A side note - nothing to do with the hotel directly: All the restaurants around are very much college student, bar type places -- which doesn't mean the food is not good, but if you're looking for an elegant gourmet dinner, you'll have to drive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieOnAHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel is not part of a chain. I didn't earn any reward points. I'm still glad I stayed here. A colleague made a reservation for a group of us and she made a good choice. The small, nicely decorated lobby had great snacks (biscotti, wether candy) and nice coffees. The rooms were small suites with fridge. I wish I had more time at the hotel to enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abst14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was a very nice surprise in the middle of downtown Blacksburg. I stayed two nights and enjoyed the convenience of walking to campus and downtown restaurants. The lobby was beautiful and the staff was very friendly and polite. The room was different than a standard hotel room. It was nicely appointed but small with a suite type design. The front third was a small sitting area with NO window and then the bath was located immediately behind the sitting area. You walked down a short hall beside the bathroom to the bedroom area which was located behind the bathroom. The bedroom had a window but the room was not much bigger than the bed. If you want a suite type set up and do not plan to spend much time in the room this would be fine. I had two unpleasant discoveries--the walls were NOT soundproof. My bed evidently backed up to the same wall as the bed next door and I could clearly understand the conversation that the folks next door were having at a normal volume. Had they been loud or noisy it would have been a problem. The second disappointment was that most of the parking was across the street in a parking garage that only allows overnight parking on the 4th and 5th floors. There was loading/unloading space next to the hotel and a dozen or so guest spots under the hotel, but if you need frequent access to your car, the garage is inconvenient. The only other comment I have is that it took me two trips around the block to locate the hotel and the driveway immediately beside it. The hotel is built right up to the sidewalk which makes it hard to see when you are driving by. The narrow driveway immediately beside it is also hard to locate. Otherwise it was a refreshingly different type of accommodation in a great downtown location.

Room Tip: Ask for parking under the hotel and not in the parking garage across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallinSaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Right in the heart of Blackburt, less then 5 minuts walk from campus, restaurants, pubs.....The personnel is reactive and wellcoming. Large confortable rooms with all you need (iron, microwave, fridge, Wifi...). Only downside, the double bed is actually not so big for a couple

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pignolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at the Main Street Inn for business but because of the great location it became a great mini vacation as well. The hotel is located in the middle of downtown Blacksburg near all the restaurants, bars, shops, etc. It's also right across the street from the farmers market and just a hop skip and a jump to the main campus.

The staff is super friendly. The front desks receptionists on Friday afternoon, Saturday, and early Sunday morning were beyond friendly. Clean rooms, cold OJ in the morning, and copnveneint parking. We will be staying here again for all of our future VT buisness related events.

Room Tip: Have a Fish Taco at Cabo Fish Taco and try one of their many margaritas. They are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lunarluau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#4 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#6 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Property: Main Street Inn
Address: 205 S Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060-4823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing