We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Spot to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Main Street Inn to your Saves list
Main Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 South Main Street, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Spot to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here (from Australia) while visiting my son at Virginia Tech. Its a great hotel, with very helpful staff, comfy warm beds and situated right in the middle of Blacksburg. Its walking distance from everything, in this pretty, college town in rural Virginia, a beautiful part of the world. With no restaurant breakfast is available in the form of Granola bars and coffee, which is fine, and there are plenty of cafes close by. The rooms are smallish, but well appointed, and have everything you need.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    54
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
70
43
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We have stayed here many times for VT basketball games. Hotel is very convenient to VT and for downtown activities. Outside nightlife can sometimes be noisy so not the best if you are a light sleeper. Rooms are nice with granite in the bathrooms and two flat screen tvs - although they are very small. They have a nice separation between a small sitting area, the bathroom and then the sleeping/bed area. We stayed here for my son's graduation from VT in December, and they kept making us move our vehicle (SUV) to a parking garage across the street - even though there was plenty of parking. They were very rude about it, so even though we like the convenience and have had good experiences in the past, for the prices they charge and the rudeness of the staff, I doubt we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vlohokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Location is good, but...

Bad service-the lady checking us in was very strange and not friendly at all, they never said welcome back or Helped us with our bags.

Awful rooms- it looked to be a 15 inch flat screen on the wall, and the room was very very very small and had an awkward layout. It smelled of cigarette smoke.

Bad parking situation- there are only a few spaces on property, otherwise you have to park in a garage a block away, this was unappealing

No amenities- no pool, no restaurant, no breakfast to speak of

High prices- other places are much better and less expensive like the hilton Garden inn or inn at Virginia tech

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RamblinMan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed during Christmas break so the town was quiet and so was the hotel. The rooms are small but have everything you need- including a small sitting room with a flat screen TV, sofa and small sink/wet bar. The beads and pillows are very comfortable. The front desk employee was very helpful and the lobby is very nice. There is also a small covered parking garage for guests.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back of the hotel to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whynot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The Main Street Inn is a new hotel (about two years old) with modern conveniences and old world style. The suites are not large but are well designed. All include a seating area with hide-a-bed and chair, tables, a tv, and a small sink, refrigerator, and microwave. No dishes are provided. The decor is tasteful, not flashy. The beds are comfortalble. We could not get on the wi-fi, and it took a long time for the staff to rectify the problem. I don't know if that is typical or a one-time-problem. There is no breakfast per se, but each morning in the lobby you can get fruit, small pastries, juice, and coffee and tea, without any extra charge. There is space for eight cars in the attached covered garage. If you miss out on that there is free parking for hotel guests in the garage across the street. The staff members were all professional and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelineDion88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The Main Street Inn is a quaint little hotel located a few blocks away from the Virginia Tech campus. There are also shops, restaurants and stores nearby. My husband and I stayed here during the ACC Swimming and Dive championships, February 15-18th (held in Christiansburg) and are very happy with our stay. The hotel lobby looks just like the website’s photo - warm and inviting, a great place to visit with friends or read the paper. Though no breakfast is offered, there are always apples, and bakery items as well as coffee, tea and juice in the lobby. The hotel is quiet – something I really appreciate because I am a super light sleeper! I was a little fearful of our room, 303, located directly across from the elevator – but didn’t hear a thing! All rooms are considered suites. The living area has a sofa bed, a bar area with coffee maker, refrigerator, and a microwave. There is a very small flat-screened TV placed high on the wall – due to the LCD screen, the location makes it difficult to see images well. The room is quite small – just large enough for the sofa sleeper to pull out.
The bedroom area is a bit larger, with a table (a desk would have been nice) and a wonderfully comfortable bed. There is also a wall-mounted TV, larger and easier to see.
The bathroom has a granite countertop and newer shower. Décor is moderate at best, but the rooms were clean and appealing. Our housekeeper used a strong “linen spray” that had an offensive aerosol hairspray smell to me. We asked her if she could stop using it and we only had to ask once.
We never had an issue with parking, but the area behind the hotel is quite limited. We asked if we could park there and were given a parking ticket to place in the car.
We were very pleased with our stay at the Main Street Inn and would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alarones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

What a nice place to stay! Front desk staff was efficient and nice. Coffee, biscotti and apples in the lobby were a nice touch, and there were granola bars in the morning for when we needed a quick bite on our way out. The room was small, but beautifully appointed and very comfortable. Plenty of clean towels, cushy comfortable bedding, and Backstreets Restaurant right next door. I will stay there again! They offer a AAA discount for those on a budget also - that gave me 10% off the online rate.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vthokie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 8 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#4 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#6 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Property: Main Street Inn
Address: 205 South Main Street, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing