We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful service, in need of an update” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zeppoli's

Zeppoli's
Ranked #12 of 124 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, in need of an update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

All told, a solid Italian restaurant if you're looking for pasta. My chicken and mushrooms in a marsala cream sauce was just meh and light on flavor, but it was great how attentive to waiter was. They also have a deal that if you buy a bottle of wine in their store you can drink it during dinner for only a $2 uncorking fee. The interior could be modernized some.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keb2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    52
    20
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Changing Artwork”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great place to dine for Italian food and I love the artwork on the walls that changes every few weeks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneOliver63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
527 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Italian Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Blacksburg is a college town... and it rocks on a Friday night before a Virginia Tech football game. We got there at 6 and got the last table. When we left at 7:30 there were about twenty folks waiting... sipping wine in their wine store.

Very nice selection of reasonably priced wines to choose from... and if you buy a bottle in their store, they'll serve it for a small corking fee. We went Chianti and Pinot Grigio by the glass. Nothing spectacular, but both were good value.

I went with the Halibut special... grilled/sauteed with a caper wine sauce. The fish was fluffy and done perfectly. And my wife went with the seafood fettuccine. Very nice. Both dishes came out steaming.

Our server, Drew, was attentive, but not intrusive. And sometimes attentiveness is lacking when a restaurant is chockers on a busy night.

If we were local or in town during the week... this would be a place that we'd go regularly on a Wed or Thurs night... to enjoy a relaxing dinner.

And... they don't take reservations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Italian value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This restaurant is in a building behind the building with frontage, so I missed it the first time driving by. Restaurant is low budget in the decor and looks department, which is ok with me because that was translated into food prices that were a tremendous value for what you get. The restaurant has a wine shop connected with it, so you go there to select your bottle which is at a normal "retail" price and then they charge a $2 corkage fee. The wine selection wasn't particularly broad, but certainly doing it that way allowed me to have a better bottle than I would normally have because they don't do the standard restaurant mark up. We had a white that was $10. My sister had the Caprese, which she praised as one of the best ever. I had the fettucini alfredo, which is a basic dish that is easy to mess up and it was wonderful - one of the best I've ever had. I will have occasion to be in Blacksburg again and I will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ovg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Decent Italian food. The staff was warm, welcoming and efficient. The restaurant itself could use a facelift. Decent prices. Marginal wine selection.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikelynxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeppoli's also viewed

 

Been to Zeppoli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing