We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice B&B!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clay Corner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clay Corner Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Blacksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice B&B!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

We stayed at the Clay Corner Inn for Virginia Tech's graduation. It was perfect for us. Great location...only a couple of blocks from campus and also Main Street for bars, restaurants, coffee shops, etc. Parking was tight but we made it work. Too cold for the pool but it looked nice. I'm sort of a clean freak but I can honestly say that our room seemed very clean. Breakfast was delicious and of course everyone was friendly!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Satchmoocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
62
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

At Clay Corner Inn you are treated as part of the family not simply a guest. Great location for visiting Va. Tech. Breakfast was delicious, bed was very comfortable, room was very clean. This will be the only place I stay when visiting my son at school during the next 3 years!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBF32746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

Stayed here for one night moving daughter out of dorm for summer. Moving was a total pain, but the Clay Corner Inn was a lifesaver after a long, hard day. Checked in and grabbed 2 beers, then retreated to seats beside the pool to relax. Heaven. The room was VERY clean, and Matt was a great host!

We made reservations for football season (a bit pricey, but considering you are a hop, skip and a jump from Lane Stadium, WITH PARKING, worth it).

Recommend Clay Corner!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

Great location. Very accommodating staff. Clean and Friendly. What more do you need to know? Just book it, you won't be disappointed....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank falconqg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

We stayed here while visiting Virginia Tech. This B&B is well located, just one or two blocks from VT and two blocks off Main Street. You can walk to eveythng.

The room was great, clean and spacious for one adult and two teenagers. The food was some of the best breakfast food we have ever had. The service was fine, although not excellent. My only negative is that it was pretty pricey for Blacksburg. We are used to more economical accomodations - but certainly we got what we paid for.

We would definately stay again if budget were not an issue - but it usually is, so next time it will be the Comfort Inn which is not nearly as well located or as nice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wormula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nothern Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

The Clay Corner Inn is a lovely B&B, everyone was wonderful, and the food was outstanding. Our room had access to a full kitchen (wonderful!), so if I stay again, I would bring groceries and cook dinner in. I loved being able to make myself a cup of tea in the evening. Being close to campus was very convenient! The only downside was that being close to campus on a Friday night also meant being close to loud, partying students. Sleeping was pretty impossible. A delicious breakfast with strong coffee helped make up for it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

I stayed in the suite which is located in it's own "home" overlooking the pool and a hop, skip and a jump (literally) from the main Clay Corner Inn. This building had a full kitchen and was stocked with drinks, tea, etc...The main Inn is just a 50 foot walk along the deck out back where I tasted some incredible breakfasts enjoyed the Friday evening cookie bar. The entire property is beautiful and so meticulously maintained. Mary, the resident innskeeper, was Johnny on the spot when I needed something and she and her husband are such genuine people. The Clay Corner Inn is so conveniently located to VT that my son didn't complain walking over to the Inn from his dorm to meet me in the cold, cold January weather . I can imagine Fall football games and Clay Corner Inn with it's fireplaces are sure to be a perfect match-up. I bet summers with the gardens, deck and pool must be spectacular as well. I will return to enjoy this gem!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kthomasva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 9 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 9 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#4 of 9 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clay Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Corner Inn

Property: Clay Corner Inn
Address: 401 Clay Street SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clay Corner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Blacksburgs only Boutique Hotel focused on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting for Business & Pleasure trips.Our prices include: Gourmet hot breakfast & homemade cold buffet, complementary business center and wifi throughout the B&B, swimming pool from April to October, kitchen for guests to cook lunches & dinners, free parking as well as being pet friendly. One block to Virginia Tech and downtown Blacksburg. Comforts of home, amenities of a fine hotel, friendliness of a small inn. A home away from home feel throughout. Owners live on premises who will be there to look after you during your stay. Closest lodging to Virginia Tech stadium, dorms, Coliseum, athletic fields. The only locally owned and operated small business lodging property in town! Simply -- the best lodging in Blacksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Clay Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Corner Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing