We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location Friendly service”
Review of Clay Corner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clay Corner Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Blacksburg B&B and Inns
Annapolis
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect Location Friendly service”
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We loved our stay, the Inn was very clean and well maintained. We stayed in one of the pet friendly rooms with our small lab and it was very nice. The breakfast was great and we could eat on the covered porch while our lab roamed around a gated area. The pool was a great added plus not to mention being within walking distance to Virginia Tech. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadiemylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
63
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2009

This B&B is great, quiet and clean. The beds are a little rough on the back but everything else about the inn more than makes up for it. The pool is large and private. We could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lili619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

With a real emphasis on cleanliness and comfort the Clay Corner Inn provides visitors with well price and centrally located accomodations. Abundant lighting, plenty of towels and comfortable beds really add to a good impression and our hostess, Mary, went to extra effort for a special dietary request. We hope to return!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2009

One of the best B&Bs that I've stayed in. The staff was really friendly, and the inn was really clean, tastefully decorated, and, for an old house, was in good repair. The price was really excellent- pretty much the same rate that the Holiday Inn down the road charges, and the quality is a million times better.

Best parts....comfy room, very clean and bright. Yummy breakfast and perfect location for both downtown and the university.
Negatives...parking area is very small and there are little stone walls around it that are very easy to scrape bummers on. The area behind the inn was pretty small, had very little grass, for those people whose dogs only like to pee on grass, and much of the rest was loose soil, which gets puppy feet rather dirty before they walk back inside. But those are VERY minor complaints...it was a wonderful place to stay and we will certainly stay there again when my husband needs to go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCpuppypal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2009

My comfortable room, the convenient and free wireless internet, the interesting house, the friendly staff, the array of fresh cookies (Friday Afternoons), the delicious breakfasts, and the walk-to-anyplace-in-downtown-Blacksburg-or-on-the-VT-campus location were outstanding. This location provided an antidote to the corporate hotel scene that burns out road warriors. I'd stay at Clay Corner again in a hearbeat!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldahlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2009

I stayed with my wife and daughter at Clay Corner Inn. It was the first time we had spent time in Blacksburg, our grandchild lives there. There are only a few employees and the intimate setting makes you feel like you are at home when you walk through the door. The apartment-like suites are beautiful, each with its own theme and a fully equipped kitchen right outside your bedroom (we cooked some of our own meals to avoid spending too much). The prices were cheaper than local chains with a full private breakfast included and the other amenities (like a cookie bar) were incredible. Clay Corner Inn is only a block away from VT campus, Lane Stadium and Downtown Blacksburg. I look forward to staying again in the summer, there is a beautiful pool and we will be bringing our dog next time! I'm going to rant about this place to everyone, it is a secret treasure!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AValerieSilveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Va
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Rooms are delightful and main area has great fireplace with hot coffee and tea
alwauys available. You could not ask for a more relaxing Inn with a beautiful
pool for summer swimming. Breakfast selection is very good with everthing
prepared in their commerical kitchen.
I a travel extensively and recently retired as Chairman ob Board and CEO
of Old Virginia Brick Co. Fletcher Smoak

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardssmaok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 10 in Blacksburg
220 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
676 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 10 in Blacksburg
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clay Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Corner Inn

Property: Clay Corner Inn
Address: 401 Clay St SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060-4708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clay Corner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Blacksburgs only Boutique Hotel focused on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting for Business & Pleasure trips.Our prices include: Gourmet hot breakfast & homemade cold buffet, complementary business center and wifi throughout the B&B, swimming pool from April to October, kitchen for guests to cook lunches & dinners, free parking as well as being pet friendly. One block to Virginia Tech and downtown Blacksburg. Comforts of home, amenities of a fine hotel, friendliness of a small inn. A home away from home feel throughout. Owners live on premises who will be there to look after you during your stay. Closest lodging to Virginia Tech stadium, dorms, Coliseum, athletic fields. The only locally owned and operated small business lodging property in town! Simply -- the best lodging in Blacksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Clay Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Corner Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing