We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!”
Review of Clay Corner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clay Corner Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Blacksburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our stay was so relaxing and comfortable.The room was great and so clean!The specially made breakfast served each morning was a treat. We felt very welcomed especially traveling with our dog. Looking forward to a return visit

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

It was a pleasure to have you in our home and we are pleased that your travels were made easier stopping off with us. Look forward to seeing you on your return visit :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just returned from yet another amazing stay with Nicky and Rick. Have stayed at least 4 times in the past year and wouldn't stay anywhere else. We are always made to feel welcome and comfortable. We were dropping our Hokie off for the start of his 2nd year and he was able to join us for a wonderful breakfast. Once you finish reading these reviews, book quickly. You will wonder why you ever stayed anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank needagetaway63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Yes you are now part of the Clay Corner Inn family and we can't wait to see you again.. pleased to see you enjoyed breakfast and even though we do seem to be booking fast we will always do our best to have a room available for you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Second time stay at the Clay Corner Inn. We moved our daughter into a new apartment for her third year at VT, and we needed a comfortable, quiet place to stay with our dog. The Clay Corner Inn was wonderful, and we enjoyed the tranquility after a long day of driving and moving. We all slept like babies and enjoyed breakfast on the patio before departing for home. Hope to stay here every visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodeci68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Oh no your third year, that means we only have 1 more year with your visits... not fair you guys are awesome!!! Thank you for the review and see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was my third stay at the Inn. My daughter was involved in a VT program and remained in the dorms so I had the room to myself. However, Rick and Nicky were ever the attentive hosts and invited me to the main house for pizza and wine to watch the Opening Ceremonies of the Olympics on the large flat screen. It is truly very comfortable being in their company.

The room was bright, airy and comfortable. Everything was clean and fresh as before. The pool and deck were refreshing and restful. Breakfast was delicious as ever. It was amusing to chat with Nicky about her culinary ideas for the next day's breakfast as she uses fresh produce each morning which allows her to tweak her recipes and menus.

I look forward to returning with my husband this fall!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnkleDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Hey it was delightful enjoying the Opening Celebration with you and trying to decipher many of the sections of this wonderful ceremony... Pleased to hear you liked some of the breakfast ideas so next time you come I'll be using you as a guinea pig to try them out (if you like of course) :). Look forward to seeing you soon and thanks for this wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My 17 year old son wanted to take some of his friends to spend the weekend in Blacksburg and the Clay Corner Inn was the perfect venue! Even three teenage football players appreciated the ameneties and the excellent, gourmet breakfast! They played for hours in the pool/deck area and later enjoyed the festival downtown! A more restful weekend I could not imagine. The afternoon cookies were also well-received! Close to campus, but quiet and secluded. My highest recommendation!

Room Tip: Staying in the main house is more quiet than the other two houses, but the 2nd and 3rd houses are ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Let me tell you your son and friends were awesome! so polite & respectful of the Inn and other guests... well, apart from the time one of them tried to knock me over when playing "Frisbee Pool" .... I think I got him back though :) Anyway thank you so much for picking our Inn for his Birthday and can't wait for you to return for some fun time with your husband....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

So close to campus yet far enough away to enjoy solitude! We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here while taking our incoming freshmen to orientation. I was in heaven so close to my alma mater! Our dog stayed with us as well and it was a perfect spot for all. House was cozy and welcoming with a very nice kitchen we utilized greatly! Breakfasts were incredible and the presentation more so. We are thrilled we found this spot and hope to visit it frequently - if it isn't booked solid as the word gets out how wonderful it is!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Yes we remember you too and your adorable little puppy. We are lucky to be right opposite VTech and 2 blocks from downtown because like that you can just walk to dinner.. it was fun having you here and we look forward to seeing more of you.... Thanks for the review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is an excellent B&B - friendly hosts, outstanding food, nice rooms and a very nice pool/patio area. Blacksburg is a perfect destination for a weekend away even if you have no affiliation with the University. Easy walking distance to good restaurants, and a quick drive to some great hiking and tubing down the river.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

It was enjoyable having you here too, especially sharing the Opening Ceremony of the Olympics it felt like we had friends over for a party..... hope to see you again in the near future! Say hi to Melinda from us and thank you for your review, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
711 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 10 in Blacksburg
239 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#6 of 10 in Blacksburg
41 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clay Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Corner Inn

Address: 401 Clay St SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060-4708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blacksburg
Price Range: $176 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clay Corner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Blacksburgs only Boutique Hotel focused on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting for Business & Pleasure trips.Our prices include: Gourmet hot breakfast & homemade cold buffet, complementary business center and wifi throughout the B&B, swimming pool from April to October, kitchen for guests to cook lunches & dinners, free parking as well as being pet friendly. One block to Virginia Tech and downtown Blacksburg. Comforts of home, amenities of a fine hotel, friendliness of a small inn. A home away from home feel throughout. Owners live on premises who will be there to look after you during your stay. Closest lodging to Virginia Tech stadium, dorms, Coliseum, athletic fields. The only locally owned and operated small business lodging property in town! Simply -- the best lodging in Blacksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Clay Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Corner Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing