We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place.”
Review of Clay Corner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clay Corner Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Blacksburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The bed was comfortable without being too soft. Loved the feel of the sheets and it's nice to have a light blanket on the bed. Parking is a little tough and you might have to juggle cars. The bathroom was clean, but could use some updating. We couldn't get our computer to work in our room and had to use the one downstairs. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 212 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2011

We are three friends on the way to Williamsburg who stopped over in Blacksburg to see Smithfield Plantation. We loved staying at Clay Corner Inn. It was comfortable, convenient, and we even got to play with a wonderful yellow lab. We will stay at Clay Corner Inn everytime we come to Blacksburg. Thanks so very much to all. By the way, the food was wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grich11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We only stayed one night, but the accommodations and service were wonderful. In the morning upon our departure, we had to send a package. Joanne directly us to the local UPS store, but it was closed until later in the morning as it had just started "summer hours". Joanne said "no problem"; she would send the package later that day and charge our credit card for the cost!!! Thanks Joanne!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkBethel_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Two couples had their own bedrooms, living room, and kitchen area! Very quiet and private. Lovely setting. Breakfast was outstanding and our innkeeper, Joanne, even boxed and mailed a package for us! Staying there again is a No-brainer!! Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan28011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

The rooms were extremely clean and the overall grounds well-manicured and relaxing. The hosts were very helpful in making sure you had everything you needed and breakfast was a wonderful feast. Would've liked some a/c to cool off our room as it was stuffy and hot at night. Regardless, we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Out of the sun! - a north or east-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We FINALLY were able to book a room at the Clay Corner Inn! We were there to move our daughter out of her dorm at Tech, and since she was done with exams early we were able to get a room there. We've tried to book this B&B several times for parent weekends and football games, but they're almost always full.

Now we know why. Everything is top-notch at this B&B, from your greeting upon arrival to the sheets on the bed. We were greeted and taken through the B&B where everything was explained. You're free to use the kichen areas, relax in one of their many seating areas (inside and out), take a dip in the pool, or just relax in your room. The B&B is on the edge of campus, so it's a short walk anywhere. Several restaurants are nearby in Blacksburg.

We felt like we were at home here, and plan to return. They do have one room on the ground floor (the Blacksburg Suite) in case of guests who don't do stairs. We asked about this since we have parents who visit our daughter and they prefer a ground-floor room.

We're checking the Tech calendar now, so that we can book ahead and stay here again! You can stay at this B&B for the same price as a mid-level hotel in Christiansburg, but you have a much nicer atmosphere and a fantastic breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed here for a Tech visit.....it's a great place and very well run. I have stayed at many B&B's and this one is really nice.
We used the coupon and got 10% off......the room was perfectly clean and comfortable....breakfast delicious, and Liz is very nice, helpful and really knows how to run a B&B......not an easy job, I'm sure. We left our car here to go to our campus tour and info session,,,,,3 blocks away. No hassle with parking. And had dinner downtown which is an easy walk or drive......

Room Tip: we stayed in the American room,,, nice king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossgloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 10 in Blacksburg
246 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mountain Lake Lodge
Mountain Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pembroke
395 reviews
1 mi away
Residence Inn Blacksburg-University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clay Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Corner Inn

Address: 401 Clay St SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060-4708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blacksburg
Price Range: $188 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clay Corner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Blacksburgs only Boutique Hotel focused on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting for Business & Pleasure trips.Our prices include: Gourmet hot breakfast & homemade cold buffet, complementary business center and wifi throughout the B&B, swimming pool from April to October, kitchen for guests to cook lunches & dinners, free parking as well as being pet friendly. One block to Virginia Tech and downtown Blacksburg. Comforts of home, amenities of a fine hotel, friendliness of a small inn. A home away from home feel throughout. Owners live on premises who will be there to look after you during your stay. Closest lodging to Virginia Tech stadium, dorms, Coliseum, athletic fields. The only locally owned and operated small business lodging property in town! Simply -- the best lodging in Blacksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clay Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Corner Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing