We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly and lovely”
Review of Clay Corner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clay Corner Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Blacksburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed at the Clay Corner Inn the night before my dog had surgery at the Veterinary College at VA Tech. Needless to say this was a stressful time. Our stay at Clay Corner helped to alleviate some of this stress. The innkeeper very graciously upgraded us to a bigger room which was very comfortable, quiet, clean and nicely decorated. King sized bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. It's a mile from the Veterinary College which was a big help, and so nice that they are pet friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_smart2616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 212 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2010

The location of the inn is absolutely superb, and the service and cleanliness were excellent. The parkinglimited parking for the main house left something to be desired. The door to the bathroom was not easy to close, nor was the shower easy to turn off. The shower itself was fine. The upstairs room we had was old style, but comfortable. Tall people should watch their heads on the way down the stairs.

The room value was downgraded because the price was inflated for the football weekend. The price the inn normally charges is more in line with its worth.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diransc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This is the most beautiful and clean bed and breakfast we have stayed at in a very long time. We were met with a warm welcome and shown around. Immediately, we fell in love with the cozy atmosphere and beautiful decor. It felt as though we had stepped into the pages of "Southern Living Magazine". The web site does not do justice to this gorgeous hideaway. For sure, it has been a well-hidden secret that we can't wait to share with our friends.

Bonnie and Hub Lovelace, Chesapeake, VA

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HubsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I stayed at the Clay Corner Inn to visit my son in college and see a football game. I can honestly say that it was one of the most relaxing overnight stays that I had in a long time. James - a VA Tech student was working there and checked us in and made sure we had everything covered including local maps and some local tips. The next morning, a young woman who I think her name was Lizz prepared breakfast and just could not be more accommodating. The Inn was booked that night and I needed to leave my car somewhere and she graciously gave me her spot! The rooms were spotless, comfortable, and very relaxing. The food was excellent – just a really wonderful experience. Visiting VA tech – this is your spot.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbyrnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

This is a great downtown property. Clean as a pin. Not crowded when we were there and we basically had a full wing of the property.....Full kitchen, den, living room, king bed and two bedrooms and a bath upstairs. Larger than our first house. Very friendly staff. Very quite location considering that you're only blocks from the Virginia Tech campus. College kids everywhere but still very cozy and quite.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadHogGreenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

The Clay Corner Inn helped set the stage for a delightful visit to Blacksburg. You cannot ask for more- pleasant walk to campus, excellent value, cozy rooms and a delcious breakfast. Liz was absolutely delightful and was very helpful. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wgk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Location great -- both town and campus within two blocks. Breakfast superb, both food and setting. Very comfortable upscale place without being stuffy. And thank GOD no floral wallpaper! Nice spots to sit outside and a BEAUTIFUL pool! Owner JoAnne was super-helpful -- easy to talk to and once she understood our interests, connected us with people and places that greatly enhanced the visit. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 10 in Blacksburg
230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
694 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 10 in Blacksburg
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clay Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Corner Inn

Address: 401 Clay St SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060-4708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blacksburg
Price Range: $177 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clay Corner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Blacksburgs only Boutique Hotel focused on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting for Business & Pleasure trips.Our prices include: Gourmet hot breakfast & homemade cold buffet, complementary business center and wifi throughout the B&B, swimming pool from April to October, kitchen for guests to cook lunches & dinners, free parking as well as being pet friendly. One block to Virginia Tech and downtown Blacksburg. Comforts of home, amenities of a fine hotel, friendliness of a small inn. A home away from home feel throughout. Owners live on premises who will be there to look after you during your stay. Closest lodging to Virginia Tech stadium, dorms, Coliseum, athletic fields. The only locally owned and operated small business lodging property in town! Simply -- the best lodging in Blacksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Clay Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Corner Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing