We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great room, great advice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Wintergreen, Virginia
1 review
“Great room, great advice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Room was great, with a good view of the mountains. My son and I were visiting VT, and the hotel manager gave us great advice on where to go to find the most interesting parts of Blacksburg. If my son decides to go to school here, this will be the spot to stay when we visit.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalAl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    61
    38
    21
    16
See reviews for
98
24
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
261 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent one night at the comfort inn in Blacksburg and found the hotel very nice. It was clean and the staff was friendly. Breakfast compared favorably with this class of hotel. Definitely had a very good experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hallercf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

First, this hotel is a good value. Standard room with a free breakfast of good or better variety than comparable hotels. The negatives of this hotel are the cleanliness and the lack of a fitness room. The room we stayed in needed a good cleaning. The desk lamp was covered with dust and grime, the wall paper in the bathroom was peeling, and there was a large stain on the carpeting near the closet. The rooms are average, but the free breakfast has a very good variety. But the dining area is small and easily overcrowded. This hotel hosts high school sports teams and gets a lot of wear. They just need to do a little more to keep on top of it. Friendly staff and plenty of parking. Convenient to both Va Tech and Christiansburg.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were able to get a group discount and for the price we paid, this "economical" hotel beats comparable ones. Over the years, we have stayed at Fairfield Inn (pricey), Quality Inn (motel like), Microtel, and Days Inn (motel like)(my friend stayed at another Days Inn located near the Quality Inn and it was horrendous). The breakfast buffet is substantial (make your own waffles, biscuits and gravy or biscuits and sausage, eggs, pastries, fresh fruit, juices, cereals, yogurts, etc). The hotel was for the most part quiet AND accepts pets (I never heard one dog bark the entire 4 days I stayed). The location is just a couple of miles from the mall and a large selection of restaurants and department stores.

The front desk staff was very friendly! The woman who was working the buffet was busy keeping items stocked. The buffet area is not small but can be crowded during peak times and finding a seat may be difficult, especially for large groups.

Hotel is also located near the Huckleberry Trail (about a mile away) - a nice 5+ mile bike/pedestrian path that connects Christiansburg to Blacksburg. I was able to jog from the hotel to the trail and headed north (away from Christiansburg). I highly recommend for those looking to exercise outside versus a hotel treadmill.

We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4va2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel while visit my son at VA Tech. The hotel is conveniently located right between the University and Christiansburg so it was easy to get to the school and to restaurants and shopping centers.
The all of the staff I came into contact with were very friendly and helpful. The rooms as well as the rest of the hotel seemed very clean. The breakfast was nice and had a lot of variety, including biscuits and gravy, waffles, eggs, yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, fresh fruit and more. I thought the rate I paid was very reasonable.
Most importantly, this hotel was pet friendly and had a nice area for walking pets adjacent to the back parking lot. I have stayed in several of the hotels in and around Blacksburg, and for the money, this one was pretty nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmazingRaceFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I arrived late at night, tired and the woman behind the reception was too, I think. She was correct but not friendly. The next day, I was surprised to find two women warm and accommodating. They quickly found a technician who could help me (the in-room safe broke down), they offered the breakfast area for me to work in, they made sure coffee was available. I had the impression they really went out of their way to make my stay pleasant.
The hotel itself is out of town but on a major highway. All the rooms are big and have everything you need, but not in abundance (soap, shampoo, etc.). Avoid the rooms with windows on the parking lot, if you can. The external lamps are strong and even with the curtains, the light comes through. The breakfast, while cheap, is mediocre. If you're on the run, then why not, otherwise have a cup of coffee and head downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel while we were without power. We stayed several nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff was wonderful! Very clean and Loved the breakfast the next morning. I would like to thank Ron Alcorn, I personally talked to him and he made sure everything was just right for my family and I. Thanks again for the wonderful hotel and being so kind while we were dealing with a power outage at home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
3.3 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#4 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Blacksburg

Property: Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Address: 3705 S Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060-7016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Blacksburg 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Blacksburg is located on South Main Street, just minutes from the main campus of Virginia Tech. With easy access to Interstate 81 and U.S. Highway 460, the hotel is approximately forty minutes from Roanoke Regional Airport. Other nearby attractions include Smithfield Plantation, Warm Hearth Village, and Heritage Hall Nursing Home. The hotel is convenient to Blacksburg Industrial Park and the downtown business district, as well as the Christiansburg Aquatic Center and a full array of shops and restaurants at the nearby New River Valley Mall. The Comfort Inn Blacksburg is the affiliate hotel for the Virginia Tech Corporate Research Center and the Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine, and is located directly across Main Street from LewisGale Hospital at Montgomery. For full service meals, the local favorite El Mariachi Restaurant and Cantina is adjacent to the hotel. Other restaurants located no more than 5 minutes and within a 2 mile radius include Outback Steakhouse, Red Lobster, Golden Corral, Olive Garden, O'Charley's, & Texas Roadhouse just to name a few. The Comfort Inn Blacksburg offers these full-service amenities and features: - Free wireless high-speed Internet access - Free local calls - Free hot breakfast - Free weekday newspapers - Free shuttle from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Mon-Fri (Advance reservations required) - Free coffee available 24/7 in the lobby Your morning breakfast is full of hot and delicious options making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Blacksburg the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, sausage, biscuits, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, and more-including your choice of hot waffle flavors. Our guests enjoy relaxing in the seasonal outdoor heated pool, with an expansive view of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. Our hospitality suite is perfect for social gatherings and receptions, and catering can be arranged by our friendly staff. For business travelers a complimentary 24-hour business center is at your service for printing, faxing, and general use of a computer with Internet access. A fully equipped meeting room is available for meetings and social functions. It's easy to stay connected with our free high-speed wireless internet access throughout the hotel, with wired in-room internet service for secure connections. All well-appointed guest rooms come with refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers, and cable television with free HBO (R). Whirlpool bathtub rooms available in Kings or Doubles. King rooms include computer desks and fully adjustable work chairs. We are a pet friendly hotel, and just 2 miles from the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine. Whether in Blacksburg for business or pleasure, the Comfort Inn Blacksburg is the right place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Comfort Inn Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blacksburg Comfort Hotel Blacksburg
Blacksburg Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Blacksburg Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing