We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst possible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Sterling, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst possible hotel”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Hotel advertised king bed...no mention that it was a Murphy bed. The pillows were tiny and too soft. The floor was actually uneven. The closet next to the bathroom was off of its hinge and was jammed shut. The refrigerator was hanging by a bolt to the cabinet and rocked side to side when you opened it. The faucets ALL were backwards, in other words, hot was on the right and cold was on the left. This included the shower. The "jacuzzi tub" was actually a small part of the bathtub. We dared not try it out! There was a separate heat unit in the bathroom on the wall which either steamed you, fried you or froze you depending on where you put the dial. The toilet paper roll was way back behind you when you sat down so it made it impossible to get the paper unless you stood up which was quite unacceptable. And the strangest of all was the actual toilet itself. The tank water was heated so when you sat down on the toilet, you literaly got a steaming where you don't want one. Very very odd. And lastly, the tv was very difficult to use. The remote required you to scan thru countless options just to see regular tv. I just wanted to watch CNN and then the weather channel and it had me going thru hoops. Just dumb.
At checkout I explained this to the hotel clerk and she said she would tell maintence and management about the room and I quote her "put the room out of order". Now that is a laugh. My husband and I have traveled to many locations and this hotel was by far the strangest hotel we have ever encountered. Don't say I didn't warn you.

Room Tip: just don't stay here. period
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    64
    39
    23
    17
See reviews for
109
31
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My husband and I were visiting Blacksburg before Christmas and needed a pet friendly place. This hotel was the perfect choice. No crazy extra fee that some places charge; and there is actually an area out back to walk your dog with bags and trash cans. The room we stayed in wasn't fancy (things were old), but was clean and quiet. All in all I felt this place was an excellent value. I have to think that many visitors to Blacksburg will appreciate this place! The only down side to this hotel is that is not really within walking distance to downtown/campus area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRS-KCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Of all of the hotels that I have stayed in for my son's athletic competitions, I can honestly say that I have never written a review. I traveled with my son's athletic team during January 2012. We were all very satisfied with the hotel property from before our arrival until our departure. Ron, the hotel manager, was extremely professional and very welcoming. The woman at the front desk at check in was a bit unfriendly, but not to where we thought we needed to complain. We were able to arrange for an early check-in in order to accommodate our athletic schedule; and our rooms were ready when we arrived. The rooms were exceptionally neat and clean; and it was evident that they had been thoroughly cleaned in preparation for guests.
The housekeeping staff must have really taken their time to make sure that all of the guests could have clean rooms. The one thing that I would change about the hotel room would be for the TVs to be updated. The hotel was renovated quite recently; however, the TVs and the elevator did not appear to be. These two are not significant enough for me to not return.
Andrew, the overnight desk clerk, was such a knowledgeable resource. He was very friendly and accommodating as well.
Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. The Comfort Inn Blacksburg is a fabulous (very clean) place to stay with a great price and value. Our team will definitely be staying here on all of our Blacksburg trips.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrackMomF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We do not usually write reviews but due to the Comfort Inn's service and attitude we had too! My wife and I had to vacate for some home remodeling and didn't want to invade family and friends. We have a dog who is a rescue and has major separation issues and with the construcrion was already stressed. We found that the local Comfort Inn was pet friendly and only a half mile away so we thought for three or four days why not. It was almost enjoyable, the staff went way over the norm to assist, the Manager and front desk where understanding and friendly taking time to explain the pet policy and without being asked a room very close to an exit to make walking the dog as easy as possible. After I soke to the maid on the firsr day and specifycally told her not to try to get very hair off the floor everyday. The carpet was dark and although she doesn't shed much has light fur. Each day there we came back to a room that looked as if there had not been anyone in it let alone a dog. The morning breakfeast was a real treat, with great choices and a very helpul and friendly staff. Ok it would have been nice to have four draws in the dresser instead of two very deep ones. If you have to look that hard to find something you don't like it is a great place and for the price even better!

Our thanks to all the staff, we greatly appreciate all you did to make the situation as comfortable and enjoyable as it could possible have been.

Room Tip: A high room on the back would have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chsink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Traveled down from Ohio in November to visit family. The hotel is very clean and located in an excellent location. Breakfast was great and free.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Nasty trip down I81 (is there any other sort?) to collect the boy from Virginia Tech for the winter break. Naturally, it was the same day as the Winter Commencement ceremony so Blacksburg was like Bethlehem and we needed a room. The Comfort Inn is a nice surprise. Unlike the Christiansburg motels (except for the excellent value Quality Inn) which are generally basic and grim, Comfort Inn Blacksburg is a gem. CLEAN!!! Everything was spotless, dust-free and gleaming. The heating worked and was controllable, the TV had a good selection of stations (although I couldn't find the Diet with Jesus program I once found down there. The before and after stories were truly miraculous.) The breakfast bar offered everything and in copious quantities. And it's located 30 steps from a Mexican restaurant and bar. All in all a very good find.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveljunky56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield VA
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2011

My wife had surgery at the Blacksburg hospital which meant I would be staying nearby for at least three days. We found Comfort Inn right across the highway from the hospital; they gave discounts for people who had someone at the hospital ; AND I could bring my little dog with me. The rooms were clean, a hot breakfast each morning, and I am my little cocker spaniel were welcome.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjwiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
3.3 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#2 of 10 in Blacksburg
652 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#5 of 10 in Blacksburg
152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Blacksburg

Property: Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Address: 3705 S Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060-7016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Blacksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Blacksburg is located on South Main Street, just minutes from the main campus of Virginia Tech. With easy access to Interstate 81 and U.S. Highway 460, the hotel is approximately forty minutes from Roanoke Regional Airport. Other nearby attractions include Smithfield Plantation, Warm Hearth Village, and Heritage Hall Nursing Home. The hotel is convenient to Blacksburg Industrial Park and the downtown business district, as well as the Christiansburg Aquatic Center and a full array of shops and restaurants at the nearby New River Valley Mall. The Comfort Inn Blacksburg is the affiliate hotel for the Virginia Tech Corporate Research Center and the Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine, and is located directly across Main Street from LewisGale Hospital at Montgomery. For full service meals, the local favorite El Mariachi Restaurant and Cantina is adjacent to the hotel. Other restaurants located no more than 5 minutes and within a 2 mile radius include Outback Steakhouse, Red Lobster, Golden Corral, Olive Garden, O'Charley's, & Texas Roadhouse just to name a few. The Comfort Inn Blacksburg offers these full-service amenities and features: - Free wireless high-speed Internet access - Free local calls - Free hot breakfast - Free weekday newspapers - Free shuttle from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Mon-Fri (Advance reservations required) - Free coffee available 24/7 in the lobby Your morning breakfast is full of hot and delicious options making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Blacksburg the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, sausage, biscuits, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, and more-including your choice of hot waffle flavors. Our guests enjoy relaxing in the seasonal outdoor heated pool, with an expansive view of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. Our hospitality suite is perfect for social gatherings and receptions, and catering can be arranged by our friendly staff. For business travelers a complimentary 24-hour business center is at your service for printing, faxing, and general use of a computer with Internet access. A fully equipped meeting room is available for meetings and social functions. It's easy to stay connected with our free high-speed wireless internet access throughout the hotel, with wired in-room internet service for secure connections. All well-appointed guest rooms come with refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers, and cable television with free HBO (R). Whirlpool bathtub rooms available in Kings or Doubles. King rooms include computer desks and fully adjustable work chairs. We are a pet friendly hotel, and just 2 miles from the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine. Whether in Blacksburg for business or pleasure, the Comfort Inn Blacksburg is the right place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blacksburg Comfort Hotel Blacksburg
Blacksburg Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Blacksburg Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing