We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning, dogs can stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Reviewed April 24, 2011

The hotel is fine, what you would expect for a Comfort Inn. What we did not expect was to be woken up by barking dogs in 2 rooms both mornings. We didn't even realize pets were allowed, so just beware if you have allergies or like to sleep past 7.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenFromNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Com4tinn, General Manager at Comfort Inn Blacksburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

Thank you very much for your feedback. Like many other Comfort Inn locations we are a pet friendly hotel. We attempt to keep all pets on the first floor; since you have allergies in the future please request an upper floor and we will be happy to accommodate you. Also, should pet noise ever become a problem we would certainly honor a room change request.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope you will stay with us again so we may accommodate you properly and make your stay a more enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 223 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

The rooms could have been cleaner (we found a shoe -- not ours -- and a giant Lego -- not ours either -- under a bed while looking for our dog's toy) but I loved the staff, the breakfast and the access this hotel provided at a great price. Also, we had our dog with us and felt so comfortable that there were other folks with their pets here too. It would have been nice to have a 'designated doggy area with pick-up bags' to assist us, but again, I loved the staff. PS: there was also a little ant problem, so we made sure not to bring food in and cleaned up immediately after feeding our dog. Staff immediately asked if we wanted to switch rooms since they had not had other problems and wanted to tackle this immediately.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTMomof360996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Com4tinn, General Manager at Comfort Inn Blacksburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

Thank you for your comments. I am very glad that you found our staff and amenities to be comfortable and a great value. Pets are always welcome guests here and I apologize that you were not shown our designated pet area where we keep the pick up bags. We will continue to train our staff so that guests with pets do not have this problem in the future.

I would also like to apologize for the minor ant problem you mentioned. Our rooms are professionally inspected and treated on a regular basis to avoid such occurrences.

Thanks again for your feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

My son and I stayed at the Comfort Inn while visiting Virginia Tech. The people at the desk were very friendly, even before the actual visit, when I called to get directions to the hotel. The rooms were very comfortable. Four pillows were provided for each bed. The bathrooms were old but very clean. It looked as if the carpets in the hallway had just been replaced with thick Persian carpeting. Coffee, tea, and fruit were available 24/7 in the lobby area, and the breakkfast was more that adequate. Guests could use the computer in the lobby for free. In all, a very comfortable hotel with friendly staff; great value for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midlerbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Com4tinn, General Manager at Comfort Inn Blacksburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2011

Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us here at the Comfort Inn Blacksburg. The Persian design carpeting you liked was part of the complete corridor renovation that we finished just recently.

Our business center has also been upgraded with a new computer and printing is always free. Guests are welcome to the free coffee and tea in the breakfast area, and we also provide free coffee in guest rooms for an even greater convenience.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope that your next stay with us will be soon and even more pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I definitely do not recommend this hotel. It is in desperate need of rennovation - the carpets are filthy, the room I checked into smelled horrible, the bathrooms are dirty and the worst of all was that the sheets were dirty! The sheets were soiled and obviously had not been changed since the last guest. The front desk was extremely polite and apologetic but almost seemed unsurprised. She refunded my money in full since I did not stay the night and went to the Holiday Inn instead.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank businesstraveler009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Com4tinn, General Manager at Comfort Inn Blacksburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2011

I would like to sincerely apologize for the difficulty you had while visiting our property. Room cleanliness is a top priority here so I am not sure what happened. It is possible that the front desk assigned a room to you that was marked as clean and ready for use when in fact it was not.

Our cleaning procedure requires that linens be changed on a daily basis if requested and are always changed once a guest has checked out. We have recently upgraded our carpeting and regularly deep clean each guest room and restroom. We will continue to work with our staff to make sure this doesn't happen again.

I appreciate your feedback and truly hope you will consider us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I came to Blacksburg for homecoming this year, and the power went out in our room the morning of the game. We left for the game and the front desk assured us the power would be back on by the time we got back. When we returned that night we still had no power and the front desk's reaction was basically 'its dark, goto sleep'. There was no manager on duty, or a maint. man working all day to fix the problem. Finally, they switched our room and didn't even have a flashlight to offer us help in transferring our luggage from the dark room to the one with light. Four days after checking into the hotel we have not been able to have resolution with the hotel and the manager has even suggested that we caused the power failure by overloading a circuit. Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AddyOMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Com4tinn, General Manager at Comfort Inn Blacksburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2011

Thank you for your feedback and please accept my apologies for your unsatisfactory stay with us. This unfortunate event occurred on a weekend that we had no vacancy. Had there been another room available we would have promptly moved you to a suitable room. If possible we would have even been glad to set you up with another local property, however, on this busy homecoming weekend it's nearly impossible to find a room anywhere locally.

Your satisfaction is very important to us but sadly our options on this particular weekend were extremely limited.

I sincerely apologize and hope that you will consider us again so we can make your visit an enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

The place is tired, dirty, worn out and run down. The staff while friendly enough they apologize frequently. Disclamer- the "Inn" is being remodeled but honestly I couldn't see anything being done. The place was in disaray but for no apparent reason. The carpet in our room was so gross that we dare not go barefoot. "Nevermore"
Ok the "Business Center" is a PC & Printer on a table top in the lobby.
THe outdoor pool looked nice.... and wet

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buccnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Com4tinn, General Manager at Comfort Inn Blacksburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2011

Your comments are appreciated and I apologize that your stay with us was not satisfactory.

The issue you mentioned with the carpet is unacceptable. Our housekeeping schedule requires that all carpets are cleaned and professionally shampooed on a regular basis. I am not sure what happened in this situation but I can assure you we will continue to train our staff to remedy any such carpet issues should they arise in the future.

Sometimes when remodeling the process is not seen by our guests because we try to keep you insulated from the activity. At the time of your stay we were going through an extensive upgrade to our corridors. Fortunately they are now completed with new carpets, wall vinyl and fixtures. Our business center has also been upgraded with a new computer featuring all the necessary software that a leisure or business guest might need. The printer is also free to use for all guests.

My apologies again for your unsatisfactory visit. I hope that in your future travels you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Bottom Line......The hotel staff is very rude. Why would you every stay some place where the people are so rude. STAY AWAY

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmills23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Com4tinn, General Manager at Comfort Inn Blacksburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2011

I am very sorry you feel that our staff was rude to you during your stay here with us. Since your visit we have made changes to insure our guests are treated in a courteous, professional manner at all times. We will continue to train everyone here to take good care of valuable guests like yourself so we can see you many times over in the future.

Thanks for your feedback; I sincerely hope you will give us another try. I will see to it that we don't disappoint you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
3.5 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
697 reviews
3.0 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 10 in Blacksburg
231 reviews
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Blacksburg

Address: 3705 S Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060-7016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Price Range: $69 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Blacksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Blacksburg is located on South Main Street, just minutes from the main campus of Virginia Tech. With easy access to Interstate 81 and U.S. Highway 460, the hotel is approximately forty minutes from Roanoke Regional Airport. Other nearby attractions include Smithfield Plantation, Warm Hearth Village, and Heritage Hall Nursing Home. The hotel is convenient to Blacksburg Industrial Park and the downtown business district, as well as the Christiansburg Aquatic Center and a full array of shops and restaurants at the nearby New River Valley Mall. The Comfort Inn Blacksburg is the affiliate hotel for the Virginia Tech Corporate Research Center and the Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine, and is located directly across Main Street from LewisGale Hospital at Montgomery. For full service meals, the local favorite El Mariachi Restaurant and Cantina is adjacent to the hotel. Other restaurants located no more than 5 minutes and within a 2 mile radius include Outback Steakhouse, Red Lobster, Golden Corral, Olive Garden, O'Charley's, & Texas Roadhouse just to name a few. The Comfort Inn Blacksburg offers these full-service amenities and features: - Free wireless high-speed Internet access - Free local calls - Free hot breakfast - Free weekday newspapers - Free shuttle from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Mon-Fri (Advance reservations required) - Free coffee available 24/7 in the lobby Your morning breakfast is full of hot and delicious options making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Blacksburg the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, sausage, biscuits, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, and more-including your choice of hot waffle flavors. Our guests enjoy relaxing in the seasonal outdoor heated pool, with an expansive view of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. Our hospitality suite is perfect for social gatherings and receptions, and catering can be arranged by our friendly staff. For business travelers a complimentary 24-hour business center is at your service for printing, faxing, and general use of a computer with Internet access. A fully equipped meeting room is available for meetings and social functions. It's easy to stay connected with our free high-speed wireless internet access throughout the hotel, with wired in-room internet service for secure connections. All well-appointed guest rooms come with refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers, and cable television with free HBO (R). Whirlpool bathtub rooms available in Kings or Doubles. King rooms include computer desks and fully adjustable work chairs. We are a pet friendly hotel, and just 2 miles from the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine. Whether in Blacksburg for business or pleasure, the Comfort Inn Blacksburg is the right place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blacksburg Comfort Hotel Blacksburg
Blacksburg Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Blacksburg Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing