We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Big Stone Gap
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Review”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night Friday Aug. 9, 2013. The room door took awhile to open on both sides. I thought I was going to have to call for help to get out. I had traveled 6 hours and I just wanted to relax a bit and watch tv before bedtime. The satellite was out, so no tv. There was nothing to do except turn in. I called the front desk clerk and she said she had called the company but the next morning, still no tv. I was there maybe a total of 8 hours, but if I had to stay longer, I would have been upset.

The hotel is clean and the decor is nice, a mountain theme. It has charm.

The door lock is an issue that should be taken care of.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, here at the Comfort Inn, in Big Stone Gap, Va. I'm truly sorry about your door lock, since then maintenance has fixed this, and also sorry about the cable. We hope you stay with us again in the future.


thank you
Liz Tavernier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
14
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of our annual bike trip to the States. Very clean rooms and convenient to find right off the highway. We had a whirlpool room which was really nice. Room faced the front of the hotel where we could see the mountains in the morning. Very nice. Desk staff were helpful and allowed us to park the bikes under the overhang for the night. Front lobby and check-in area were beautiful. Huddle House restaurant is on the property. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again.


thank you,
liz tavernier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Clean hotel, friendly staff, price reasonable, breakfast was crowded so we walked to the Huddle House which is on site and it was very good. We have stayed here 7 or 8 times in the last 15 years. We always try to attend the Burchett Reunion on the last Sunday in July each year. The people who live in the area are very nice to visitors.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HainesRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn, in Big Stone Gap for your lodging. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.

Thank you
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Not many choices to start with. Either you fork a lot more money for Holiday Inn which is not worth it, Best Western which isn't a choice (that is another review), do not think of any other hotel in area or you choose Comfort Inn. Slight smell of smoking but better than the other choices above (except Holiday). Rooms are Ok and Clean which is most important, breakfast is insignificant, service is good and staff are friendly. Lodge look is what also differentiates from other places. It brings its own charm. But Versus all other choices in the area, this is the better choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beach_Family_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us, and since your stay we have updated a few things in the hotel, most of our rooms have new carpet, mainly the smoking room, so there's not a smoke smell anymore. If you are ever in the area again, please stop and stay with us again.

Thanks
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Wanting to see the Virginia State Play "Trail of the Lonesome Pine" in Big Stone Gap, VA, we stayed at the Comfort Inn at Big Stone Gap on the "Music Road" Route 23. The hotel was totally booked, but was very quiet. Great view of the Mountains. There is limited choices to eat in the area, but they did build a Huddle House on site with room delivery. Our king room was very clean and had mountain lodge furniture. Staff was helpful and professional, espicially to my many questions about "what to do in the area". Great central location to see the play about a mile away in Big Stone Gap, local history and the "Natural Tunnel" state park. They have a indoor pool with a waterfall connected to the main building. The breakfast is typical of Comfort Inns.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view rooms and for the top floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1beach-nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We enjoy our view just as much as our guests, very pretty in the fall with all the different leaves. Since your stay we have updated some of the rooms with new carpet, and will be putting in our new bedding as soon as it arrives. If you are ever in the area, please stop and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, LA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very clean and comfortable hotel. Love how this chain hotel gave way to the ho-hum of the every day hotel look and decorated in the lodge motif. Charming without going over the edge. I can't see why other reviewers put it down, their photos tell the story.

The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and the room smelled nice as well.
Staff were very pleasant as well.

A couple things that would have made our stay a 5 instead of 4 would be:
1) Better lighting in the bathroom for women to put on make-up.
2) More outlets: only 1 unused outlet (1/2) They could add an extension strip so guests could plug in computers, phones and other electrical needs.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor and were told by others they heard more noise on lower levels. Bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyintheknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
The Mountain Lodge really does set us apart from other hotels. Our owners are from here and they are very outdoors people, fishing, hunting, 4 wheeling, so they wanted to make this hotel homey and comfortable.Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Enjoy resin bears? Furniture made in the 1980s? You're in luck. This is where furniture comes to die. If this wasn't the only game in town I would drive the 15 miles to Norton. Very unappealing stay. Although the staff was helpful and curious, this place needs an overhaul.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idandart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
The furniture wasn't made in the 1980's! The hotel wanted a rustic look, thats why we have log furniture.Maybe you like the more modern look, but everyone that stays here loves the look we have here, and we wouldn;t change it for anything. Thank you for staying with us and if your ever in the area, we hope we can accomdate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Stone Gap
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Stone Gap
28 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norton
Holiday Inn Norton
#3 of 4 in Norton
133 reviews
9.6 mi away
Days Inn Norton VA
Days Inn Norton VA
#2 of 4 in Norton
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Travel Inn Kingsport
Travel Inn Kingsport
#13 of 16 in Kingsport
29 reviews
9.6 mi away
Super 8 Norton VA
Super 8 Norton VA
#1 of 4 in Norton
203 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Of Wise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1928 B Wildcat Rd, Big Stone Gap, VA 24219-4436
Location: United States > Virginia > Big Stone Gap
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Big Stone Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Big Stone Gap
Comfort Inn Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Big Stone Gap Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing