We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STAY HERE”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Big Stone Gap
Gun Barrel City, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“STAY HERE”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

First time here
Very good service.
Atmosphere is very nice good country feeling with wood staircase. Log wood furniture in rooms
Breakfast was good but one needs to walk next door to Hiddle House fresh eggs etc there
Bed was comfy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K9sniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
14
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was assigned to work in SW Va. I booked a room at the hotel in big stone gap in order to be closer to my assignment. Being a woman traveling alone for the first time, I had done some research and this looked to be an ok place. The room was nice, the women checking me in were very pleasant. However, there was some sort of mix up and at 12:30 am, I was awoken by someone using a key to get into my room. Needless to say, I was scared beyond words. When I called the front desk, they said I was not registered in that room and they had just given it to the unsuspecting guest that had just arrived. Thank goodness for double locks or this poor person would have been maced. Then, I never got my wake up call. I woke up an hour late, arrived at work, rushed, late and with lack of sleep and no breakfast. Not happy with my experience. And the Internet service was lacking too. It was very spotty and sometimes nonexistent.

Room Tip: When asking for a quiet room, make sure they change it in the computer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Check-in was an absolute breeze and very friendly. Gentleman at the desk worked with us to get rooms near other family members so we could be close. Pool area is very nice, room is very clean and the lodge feel is comforting. Views from front of hotel are amazing, beautiful mountain vista. Great place to relax with family after a busy day at the reunion.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrenchgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
199 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a very nice hotel for the price range. The rooms are nicely decorated in a lodge sort of way. Clean and comfortable. The staff is supper friendly. Definitely the best in this whole area.
We will stay here again when we come back here,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GranNan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This Comfort Inn provided comfort as promised. Just on the outskirts of a small town, my family was surprised to find a nice hotel with good accommodations for the price range. They offer clean rooms, a clean facility, a good night sleep and continental breakfast with Southern biscuits and gravy. Also, A 24 hour, Huddle House restaurant is next door for your convenience. If you do not smoke make sure to request a non-smoking room as I believe, they offer smoking rooms as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

From the time we walked in until the time we left, the staff and owners were friendly and helpful. Check in was wonderful and helpful. As we were in town to do some genealogical research as my family is from Wise county pre 1940's, we were looking for family cemeteries. The hotel employees and owners pointed us in the right directions.

Our room was the typical Comfort Inn room. We found it to e comfortable and inviting as one person mentioned the hotel is decorated like a lodge. Our kids loved the pool. The fitness center is the only thing that I can complain about as it really could use some updating. The breakfast the next morning was very good as they had biscuits and gravy, cereal, waffles, etc.

If we were to come back to the area again we would most likely stay here again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank regionaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
129 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable and clean. Fast wireless Internet. Very friendly staff. On site 24hr Huddle House for quick meals.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PaulSnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Stone Gap
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Stone Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
9.6 mi away
Days Inn Norton VA
Days Inn Norton VA
#3 of 4 in Norton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norton
Holiday Inn Norton
#2 of 4 in Norton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Super 8 Norton VA
Super 8 Norton VA
#1 of 4 in Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Of Wise
12.6 mi away
The Inn at Wise
The Inn at Wise
#2 of 2 in Wise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1928 B Wildcat Rd, Big Stone Gap, VA 24219-4436
Location: United States > Virginia > Big Stone Gap
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Big Stone Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Big Stone Gap
Comfort Inn Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Big Stone Gap Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing