We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Big Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I were looking for quiet B&B with a personal touch/home like experience and we found it. From my first email to our good bye hug my wife and I had a very memorable experience. We have experienced B&B's were the owner/inn keeper doesn't even reside in that building. With Sally and Kevin we experienced southern hospitality which exceeded our best hopes. The time to talk with them, the beautiful B&B, the pretty landscape, excellent breakfast and the friendly outdoor cat made a memorable experience. We look forward to a return trip possibly next spring if possible. We loved the Blue Ridge Parkway which was our main reason for going to this area. Excellent Value !!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas777180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 107 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I were fortunate to stay at the Cedar Post Inn during a trip along the Blue Ridge Parkway in October 2013. Our room was huge and immaculately clean, as was the bathroom. We had a lovely visit with our hosts Sally and Kevin, and learned about their inn and the area. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and plentiful. We would highly recommend the Cedar Post Inn for travelers with high expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I know that a B and B is a a little fancier than many thru hikers are looking for. But, for any hiker that has the resources to stay a little more upscale while hiking will be so rewarded by stopping at the Cedar Post Inn for the night. Sally and Kevin both went WAY beyond the call of duty to make my visit with them pleasurable, relaxing and inviting. I will be back to this part of VA to hike again and WILL be staying here!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank klazzarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I met my sister and her husband for a two night get together. We immediately felt welcomed and comfortable. We had such fun, delicious food,(even homemade shortbread) beautiful scenery and how we enjoyed the collections and art found at Cedar Post Inn. Sally and Kevin are excellent hosts and they provided input and directions to great eating places and the area's points of interest. Patsy and Doug

Room Tip: Both rooms are attractive and the beds are sooo comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had such a wonderful stay. Kevin and Sally made us feel at home with there kind hospitality, clean and comfortable rooms, and delicious and generous breakfasts. The pictures on the website are only a small look of the beauty that is all around. Their B&B is very nicely situated where you can really enjoy the views of the mountains and wildlife. It also is close to so many attractions near the Blue Rigde Parkway, if you want to take in more beauty and hiking and the historical city of Lynchburg. Lynchburg has an open farmers market on Wednesday and Saturday and Cao Artisan Chocolate can be tasted! During our stay we were celebrating our anniversary and they recommended the Millstone Restaurant, which was a perfect ending to a perfect day! We highly recommend this B&B to any who may be thinking about a stay in this area!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenSep2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stopped at this B&B after taking the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is in a slice of heaven in between two moutains. The hosts are very accomodating and made us feel right at home. The breakfast was incrediable. We will try to stop by this wonderful B&B again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We loved this place and the wonderful couple, Sally and Kevin, who own and run this beautiful piece of property. It is such a peaceful, serene atmosphere. The Inn is very comfortable and clean. We were totally relaxed five minutes after arriving. Instantly melted the stress of a busy week. We saw deer, bunnies, hummingbirds and other wildlife just walking around the house! I saw the sight on the web sight and even though it got my attention to want to stay there, in person, it exceeded our expectations! Sally and Kevin are so easy to be around, like we had known them forever. They thought of everything to make sure their guests feel comfortable. Sally cooks the best breakfast ever! We can't say enough about this place. I can't think of anything that would have improved this experience. We booked another weekend before we left. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Island
9.2 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
976 reviews
10.4 mi away
Natural Bridge Historic Hotel & Conference Center
18.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
18.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
16.6 mi away
Timberlake Motel Lynchburg
Timberlake Motel Lynchburg
#6 of 23 in Lynchburg
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1346 Reed Creek Rd, Big Island, VA 24526
Location: United States > Virginia > Big Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Big Island
Price Range: $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A log home located on 65 acres at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains, in Bedford County, VA. Hiking, Biking, Picnic table by Reed Creek (native trout), fishing, bird watching, relax on the deck. Both rooms have private baths. Delicious breakfast served each morning. We are an easy drive to Bedford (D-Day Memorial), Poplar Forest, Lynchburg, Natural Bridge, The Blue Ridge Parkway (a variety of hiking trails). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing