We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Heaven!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Big Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We loved this place and the wonderful couple, Sally and Kevin, who own and run this beautiful piece of property. It is such a peaceful, serene atmosphere. The Inn is very comfortable and clean. We were totally relaxed five minutes after arriving. Instantly melted the stress of a busy week. We saw deer, bunnies, hummingbirds and other wildlife just walking around the house! I saw the sight on the web sight and even though it got my attention to want to stay there, in person, it exceeded our expectations! Sally and Kevin are so easy to be around, like we had known them forever. They thought of everything to make sure their guests feel comfortable. Sally cooks the best breakfast ever! We can't say enough about this place. I can't think of anything that would have improved this experience. We booked another weekend before we left. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 114 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed here with a last minute reservation. Most bed and breakfasts do not always welcome children but Sally and Kevin, the innkeepers, were more than welcoming to us! We had a room with beautiful views of mountains and we even saw the sunrise over one of the mountains. In the morning Sally and Kevin made blueberry pancakes, cheesy grits, scrambled eggs, sausage and fresh fruit. It was absolutely delicious! Our kids played outside watching the hummingbirds and butterflies, having a blast. We will definitely come again on our trip down to South Carolina next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Cedar Post Inn for one night during our trip driving cost to cost. We absolutely loved it! Sally and Kevin were perfect hosts making sure we were comfortable. They recommended a nice restaurant for dinner and made us the best breakfast we had during our vacation. There was some problem with the password for the wifi but Sally and Kevin did everything they could to help us make it work. The landscape driving to Cedar Post was so beautiful and idyllic. We would recommend anyone who is looking for a relaxing holiday to go there!
/Jannica and Linda, Stockholm Sweden

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JannicaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I found this gem on the internet and we have been back twice. The hosts are kind, friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean, well-stocked and well-decorated. This is a recently-built home so bathrooms and fixtures are quite modern. Sally's breakfasts are delicious and hearty: shrimp and grits; huevos rancheros with real guacamole and fresh fruit; or sausage, eggs, pancakes, and greyere-cheese grits. You can't go wrong at this wonderful spot in the beautiful mountains of Bedford, Va.

Room Tip: Both rooms are suites with private baths, similarly appointed and with nice, newly constructed bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Cedar Post for the first part of our honeymoon while traveling north in the Appalachians. We found it to be peaceful and relaxing and also with plenty of activity in the surrounding areas (cannot get much better than a drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway). Kevin and Sally are very good hosts: thoughtful, hospitable, and they go out of their way to make the stay an enjoyable one. We will definitely look to go again. - Andy & Courtney Miller

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Honestly I can not say one bad thing about our Stay, the Hosts, and the atmosphere, of course including the amazing Breakfasts, that we experienced. The Hosts are an amazing Couple. Her Breakfasts are... indescribable. They are very conscious of any dietary restrictions, and cater to individual needs. We could not have enjoyed our Stay more. The Room was amazing and comfortable. The Hosts make you feel like Family more than just Guests. Your instant Friends from the time you say Hello. The view from the Deck, is breath taking. We will definitely be keeping in touch and hope to visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely B & B. It was our second stay & we plan to return again next year. The log home is beautiful as is the setting. The only hard decision is whether to sit on the back deck & enjoy the mountain view or to sit on the covered front porch & enjoy the hummingbirds - hard to go wrong. Sally's breakfasts are delicious & abundant. She & Kevin are friendly, excellent hosts. We highly recommend the Cedar Post Inn!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JTMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1346 Reed Creek Rd, Big Island, VA 24526
Location: United States > Virginia > Big Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Big Island
Price Range: $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A log home located on 65 acres at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains, in Bedford County, VA. Hiking, Biking, Picnic table by Reed Creek (native trout), fishing, bird watching, relax on the deck. Both rooms have private baths. Delicious breakfast served each morning. We are an easy drive to Bedford (D-Day Memorial), Poplar Forest, Lynchburg, Natural Bridge, The Blue Ridge Parkway (a variety of hiking trails). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing