We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the reviews!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   568 Smithfield Lane, Berryville, VA 22611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Happy Hiker
Ranked #1 of 6 Berryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I'm always a little skeptical when I see a place with almost exclusively 5-star reviews, but having now stayed at the Smithfield Farm B & B, I now, without a doubt, believe those reviews to be real. Ruth was so warm and welcoming. The fact that the house and farm have been in her familty for like eight generations makes the place very genuine. The house is quaint and not overly decorated like many B & Bs. The location (remote) and setting (large farm) made for a very peaceful stay. However, it was close enough to towns like Berryville, Harpers Ferry, and Winchester to make trips for dinner convenient. Also, there are the many wineries and, of course, the Appalachian Trail nearby (which we hiked both days). Last, but certainly not least, the breakfasts were great!. Note this is a farm with pigs, cows, chickens, etc. so the meat and eggs that made up breakfast were great. We've visited many B & Bs in various states and would put this one at or near the top of our list.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Superbowl-lions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
90
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We've been to Smithfield B&B twice now, once in November and once in July. We had a great experience both times, once staying in the downstairs suite and once in an upstairs room. Ruth made it a fun and welcoming experience both times. There's lots to see on the farm - chickens, cows, and pigs- and you can wander the farm and see everything. The property is beautiful, with a nIce gazebo and grill outside (we grilled dinner one night). Breakfast, which Ruth made for us, was plentiful and delicious (note- if you come in November you have to make your own breakfast- but you are supplied with delicious farm fresh eggs and bacon or sausage, and freshly baked muffins so it's still pretty great. Everything was made with truly local and farm raised ingredients. Highly recommend this place- and make sure to pick up some bacon and eggs from the farm store before you leave! Best bacon we've ever had!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieMikeeatworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Smithfield was just wonderful. I was visiting my family in Berryville VA for our family reunion. Ruth welcomed me upon check in. The Inn has been lovingly restored. Every attention to detail has been thought of. Oh, and watch out for those sumptuous breakfasts. I had the best Quiche ever! Staying there was like getting a big hug.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Smithfield Farms B&B was the perfect getaway after our wedding weekend in Leesburg! The innkeeper called us when we were on our way to Berryville to let us know we had been upgraded to the cottage. That was a nice surprise! She was very welcoming and helpful. It was the perfect, quiet and secluded spot to spend the afternoon and evening unwinding after our busy wedding weekend with family and friends. Breakfast the next morning was fresh and delicious. We are already planning to return for our first anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

From the moment of our arrival, innkeeper Ruth made us feel totally at home. In addition to a spacious, comfortable room, there were thoughtful touches such as homemade cookies, a basket of snacks and bottles of water and soda in a guest fridge. Everything was immaculate. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and leisurely. We had no desire for lunch on either day of our stay. You'll not go wrong at this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Smithfield B&B was just wonderful. We went for the first time as a getaway not far from Washington D.C. We were welcomed kindly and with delicious, warm cookies. The Summer Cottage was perfect. A most gorgeous property and so much to do in the area. Such gracious, welcoming, hospitable owners. The food for breakfast was fantastic. We truly felt so spoiled all weekend and it was just the perfect place for rest, relaxation, and peace & quiet. Highly recommended and would definitely return!

Room Tip: Summer Cottage is a private place with full kitchen to cook your own meals if you wish. Privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Ruth is a charming hostess and the Inn and grounds are comfortable and relaxing. Perfect for a quick escape from DC. Spacious rooms, and lovely grounds for a stroll. The food was super-rich, and perhaps not my favorite B&B fare, but certainly hit the spot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank js4088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berryville
14.2 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
16.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#4 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
16.1 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 stars 979 reviews
8.5 mi away
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 568 Smithfield Lane, Berryville, VA 22611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighth generation, 400 acre organic livestock farm surrounds the b&b. Our room rates start at $185.00 including full, country breakfast of products from the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Farm Hotel Berryville
Smithfield Farm b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing