We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Berryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great in every way!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Highly recommend Smithfield. First time there and chose it based on all the great reviews and the proximity to DC metro area. It's easy to get there but once there, you feel like you are thousands of miles away. Loved the access to the farm animals - the cows are fun to watch and the sheep and their baby lambs are adorable. There is a nice walking trail through the 400-acre farm, and you can go off trail and explore pretty much anywhere you'd like. For those who like to run or road bike, the surrounding area has a lot of nice paved rolling roads with few cars. The summer cottage is right next to the main house, and provides a little more privacy. It's very cute inside, with a full kitchen and foyer downstairs and a bedroom, bath and living area w/ TV upstairs. Lots of places in the back yard behind the main house to relax, read a book or take a nap. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious! Ruth and Linda were wonderful, welcoming hosts. This is a fantastic place, you can't go wrong!

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are larger open spaces, the summer cottage has smaller rooms in a separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
97
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery Village, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This farm and B&B offers gorgeous rooms, a marvelous breakfast made with organic free range eggs and meat from grass fed animals raised right there on their farm. The farm and house has been in Ruth's family over 200 years and is currently owned and worked by the family. You can see chickens, sheep, pigs and cows living as they should. The home is beautiful, filled with antiques and completely refurbished by the owner over a period of 10 years. Ruth and her friend Len at down with us after breakfast since we were the only guests left on Monday and we had a great chat about the house, land and surrounding area. It was a super time in a beautiful part of Virginia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I've been to Smithfield Farm twice now, and both visits have been perfect. The house itself is gorgeous and has a rich history....it has been preserved beautifully by the inn's owner and her family. Ruth and Linda were so welcoming and helpful, and the setting itself is so lovely and relaxing. It is by far our favorite B&B in the Washington area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quiberville, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Our family looks forward to our respites at this beautiful farm and charming B&B, made even more so by the gracious host and delicious breakfasts. Lately, we have stayed in the Garden Suite downstairs, which is so spacious and well-appointed and equipped that you might be tempted to live there full-time rather than a short stay! But that would not be fair to other guests who would then miss this special place! We have also stayed in the upstairs rooms, which are beautifully decorated and comfortable as well. The wholesome values of the farm, which go beyond current organic standards, are just as important to us as the setting, accomodations and friendly welcome and conversations. If possible, try to pick up some of the home-made pastas, free-range eggs, or other healthy offerings in the farm store to take home - or cook in the Garden suites full kitchen.

Room Tip: For a couple, any of the B&B rooms are fine. For larger parties, choose the downstairs garden s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We spent the evening after our wedding in Bluemont, Virginia at Smithfield Farm. Ruth was helpful throughout the booking process and was incredibly accommodating when we asked any questions. She was even considerate enough to leave the cottage open for us since we had a late arrival. In the morning, she cooked an amazing home grown breakfast for ourselves and another couple, and it was great getting to know her. When we inquired about her honey apple butter, she was so kind that she actually gave us a large jar to take home with us. On top of all that, Ruth also gave us two Smithfield Farm B&B glasses to remember our stay.

We would definitely recommend staying at Smithfield Farm since it is a wonderfully hospitable environment that is a great get away from the city. The cottage in which we stayed was very clean and cozy, and was a nice change from a normal hotel room stay. The scenery was also an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna, va
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Bill and I were given a gift certificate to a local winery, Veramar. Great wine! So we needed a place to stay and Bill found the Smithfield B&B. Since we were staying mid week we had the B&B to ourselves. Ergo, TLTM. We were greeted by the lovely Linda. She was very welcoming and gave us the history of the B&B and the family. Everything about the house and linda was wonderful. The room was great and inviting. We stayed in thr Wellington Room. Our breakfasts were plentiful and DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All their rooms are spacious and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I found this B&B while trying to find a relaxing and nice place stay for a weekend of wine tasting in northern Virginia. And what an amazing find it was. The location was simply beautiful and the house was amazing. The location was secluded enough that you really did feel like you were getting away from it all, but still close enough to anything you needed with just a short drive. The house itself was immaculate and Ruth and Linda are wonderful hosts. Hearing the history of the farm from a member of the family that has owned it for 200 years was an incredible experience. And last but certainly not least was the amazing food. We stayed for 3 nights, and each morning was different and fantastic. We are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berryville
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
14.2 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
18.9 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hillbrook Inn
Hillbrook Inn
#1 of 6 in Charles Town
441 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Ashby Inn
The Ashby Inn
#1 of 1 in Paris
157 reviews
23.6 mi away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 568 Smithfield Ln, Berryville, VA 22611-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighth generation, 400 acre organic livestock farm surrounds the b&b. Our room rates start at $195 including full, country breakfast of products from the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Farm Hotel Berryville
Smithfield Farm b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing