We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good selection of wines”
Review of Veramar Vineyard

Veramar Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Berryville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Founded in 2000, Veramar Vineyard was one of the first successful wineries in the northern Shenandoah Valley. The vineyard is run by James and Della Bogaty, who were original members of the Shenandoah Valley Wine Trail. Justin, their son, is the winemaker. He is a graduate of VMI and has a certificate of oenology from UC Davis. Our wine is internationally-acclaimed, and is made at the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A very good selection of wines”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The vineyard was not crowded, so the person pouring the wines was able to spend lots of time explaining the qualities of each of six different wines.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrjack37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Excellent Winery”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I met our daughter and friends at Veramar for wine tasting and a picnic. Tasting fees are $7.00 and includes eight wines. We liked all of the wines we tasted. Tammy took excellent care of us. Wine prices are $7.00 - $12.00 per glass or $19.00 - $25.00 per bottle. The winery is a nice size with two tasting bars. They have tables inside and outside. The view outside is beautiful. They serve sandwiches at the grille and have lite fare, i.e., cheese, salami, crackers, etc. We are members of their Estate Club and receive two bottles of wine quarterly, complimentary tastings including their reserve tastings, and 15% off purchases.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pletzkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Grounds; Great View; Wines just OK”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

- $7 per person for wine tasting is expensive; thankfully we had free passes from our B&B (Rosemont Manor).
+ Grounds were beautiful with a nice tree swing; pond, lots of seating
Wines were just OK and the staff was alright. Nothing to write home about. We went to another area winery and had a better time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely spot”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was a gorgeous spot with a very knowledgable man running the tasting. The wine is average for Virginia wine which lets face it- is not always that great. But i think you really go for the great experience and we definitely had that!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cmallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful winery”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The tasting was wonderful, and the grounds were beautiful. The staff told us they sometimes show movies outside and the vineyard. We missed it, but I bet that would be wonderful! The dry rose wine was our favorite.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CGeorgeDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veramar Vineyard also viewed

 
Round Hill, Loudoun County
 

Been to Veramar Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing