We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CATERERS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosemont Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosemont Manor
Ranked #3 of 6 Berryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington Township, New Jersey
1 review
“CATERERS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I attended a wedding here(Rosemont Manor)/6-13-14 to 6-15-14.The venue and grounds were breath taking. I have a gluten and wheat allergy. So I thought I would be limited to what I could eat. Not so. When I told the caterers about my allergy,they prepared food for me. And it was amazing and delicious.
I had the best weekend knowing I could eat what everyone else was having gluten wheat free and not get sick.Thank you so much

Room Tip: there was no refrigerator in the room and the bar closed early rm # 427
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Rosemont! Our caterer, Celebrations Catering, as well as the Rosemont in-house catering staff, are well-equipped to deal with any number of food allergies and restrictions, especially when notified in advance. We want to make sure everyone can eat, drink, and be merry!

For our guests' convenience, there is a refrigerator in the hallway outside the guest rooms that can be used for personal items in need of refrigeration.

Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope you'll come back and see us again sometime at Rosemont for a B&B getaway or an afternoon tea.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    35
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
137
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We purchased a living social coupon, had never been there before. When we arrived, the front desk person was very nice, however, the owner was standing so close to the desk trying to convince a young couple to book their wedding, we had a hard time hearing the clerk. We stayed there on a Saturday and Sunday night. Both days had tea parties, and it appeared as if most of the people attending were not staying there. Loud and walking all through the building. High heels on old floors are quite loud.
On Sunday we went down to breakfast and the dining room was full, we went to the covered porch and there were two tables, one long and a smaller table for two. The owner and his family were at the longer table. We went to sit at the smaller table and he waved us to the main dining room were we sat with another couple. BTW, the breakfast was miniscule, half of a small breakfast cut length wise and three very small pancakes about the size of two quarters each.

The whole weekend seemed to be them trying to sell weddings. We did not enjoy the weekend. Fortunately, we found a diner in town that had decent food and dined there both days.

Room Tip: If you go, know that the wood floors outside your room are very loud when someone passes by. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We take your concerns seriously and we want our Bed and Breakfast guests to know that they are very important to us. Our goal is that every guest that comes through the doors at Rosemont, whether they are here for an overnight stay, an afternoon tea, a wedding, or a corporate event, knows that they are our number one priority, and that they receive a warm welcome and comfortable stay.

Some days at Rosemont are busier than others. We do have afternoon teas on selected Wednesdays, Saturdays, and Sundays (though it is VERY rare that we have them on back-to-back days), so we encourage our B&B guests to consider coming to tea to join the fun! When booking an overnight stay, it is always a good idea to check the tea schedule to see if there will be a tea occurring during your stay. If so, let us know if you'd like to come to tea, and if not, that small window of time may be a great opportunity to go check out some of the lovely shops in charming Berryville, or to relax out on the Grand Portico or Garden Terrace.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you have a wonderful summer.

Sincerely,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Entering the grounds of Rosemont Manor is a lovely experience, wandering the path up to reception, where we encountered Bill North, one of the nicest and gracious host/manager of the Manor. He gave us a brief tour, invited us to an afternoon wine and cheese reception and gave us tickets to some wine tastings in the area. Our room was lovely, with every amenity. But to me the highlight was the Manor itself, Southern gentility and tranquility. Sitting on a rocker overlooking the sixty acre grounds was one of the most tranquil experiences I have had these last few years. All in all it was a total delight, due in no small measure to the cordiality of our host. Definitely a do again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Wow! What a kind and gracious review! We so appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. It is our pleasure to give our guests a warm and welcoming experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed the history and southern charm of the manor as well. We look forward to seeing you again at Rosemont soon!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
517 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a Living Social coupon which made our visit to the Rosemont very affordable. We stayed in the Nixon Suite. Suzanne checked us in on Friday afternoon and seemed to be there our whole visit. She is such a nice person – which the inn’s owner should treasure. The weather was wonderful and all the trees and shrubbery were bursting forth with buds and blooms. Our suite was lovely and had a “sleeping porch” with was so nice in the mornings. The Manor is grand! The grounds are lovely. The Grand Portico was magnificent, with white rockers for guest to sit and sip and take in the view.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your gracious review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you'll come back again and stay in a different room, which we're sure you'll enjoy just as much as the Nixon. Each one has its own charm. Thank you again for your kindness and we hope to see you at Rosemont again soon!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I booked at Rosemont through Groupon for an overnight birthday retreat. We arrived on a Sunday and were delighted to find there was only one other couple staying- which made it seem like our own private manor. The view from our room, Byrd's Study, was incredible and the food and staff were superlative.

Below are the three items that kept the hotel from being a 5 out 5. That said, we are already planning on booking a return trip for this fall.

1. Lack of restuarants within walking distance. We drove to nearby Winchester, which had a quaint town center, and was a fun excursion. Still, a few more options in walking distance would be nice.

2. Lack of variety of games in the parlor. My husband is a pretty 21st century guy, so the lack of television in the rooms was a bit hard for him. We went downstairs to the parlor, and worked on a puzzle. Having a few more modern game options, both for couples and groups, would help tech guys like my husband, better adjust to the tv-free setting. Side note- I loved that there were no tvs.

3. Proximity of rooms. As I mentioned there was only one other couple booked when we were there. Originally we would have been in adjoining rooms, which would have resulted in a greatly reduced lack of privacy. Fortunately, we upgraded to Byrd's study- worth it!-and had an entire wing to ourselves. Had we not upgraded, it would have been preferable if the hotel could have further spaced our rooms out.

And now, the reasons we plan on returning:
1. Gorgeous, historic property
2. Comfortable pillows
3. Delicious food- the breakfast far exceeded my expectations and the snack tray was a nice touch
4. Personable, personalized service
5. Overall a great location, convenient drive to many attractions

Room Tip: Upgrading your room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, and thank you for choosing Rosemont for your birthday getaway! We are so glad that you enjoyed the Byrd's Study with its great views from the private balcony, and were pleased with the breakfast and the hospitality of our staff.

Berryville is very much a small town, with quaint shops, and small but unique dining opportunities. The area is not commercialized, so you won't see chain restaurants on every corner, but it does make for a quiet respite from the bustle of the city. For more dining options, we are blessed to have Winchester just 8 minutes up the road. Thank you very much for your suggestion about adding a few more games and puzzles to the parlor - we plan to add a few more selections right away. We are also blessed to have a good library of books, and it is quite common to see our guests curled up in a chair with a good read. Wifi throughout the manor also offers a connection to the 21st century! Lastly, we have not changed much of the original design of the house or the layout of the bedrooms, so as to maintain the rich 200+ year history of this home which has hosted Presidents and other notable historical figures.

In closing, thank you so much for your kind words about the beauty of the property, the delicious breakfasts and welcome reception, the welcoming staff, our proximity to great local attractions, and even the comfortable pillows! We are so glad you plan to come back and see us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed in the Churchill room which was filled with sunshine all day long. Nice in March when there was still a little snow on the ground. If we make it there again, I want to try the Eisenhour suite. It looked very nice as well and the inn keeper confessed it was her favorite suite. We went to the two complimentary wine tastings at nearby vineyards and enjoyed those. The breakfasts were good. Would stay there again

Room Tip: Of the suites, I would choose the Eisenhouer. Of the rooms, I would choose Byrd's study.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you'll come back and see us again. All of our rooms and suites are named after famous visitors to Rosemont and the Byrd family, and each is unique in its layout and decor, so it is fun to come back and stay in a different room!

We are pleased that you enjoyed your winery tours and your breakfast at Rosemont as well. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts and we look forward to your next visit -- Eisenhower will be ready and waiting for you!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I discovered the Rosemont Manor through Living Social, and are very happy that we had the opportunity to visit the historic mansion for one night. The grounds were lovely despite the winter landscape, the room was tastefully decorated and comfortable, the common areas provided a relaxing ambiance away from the room, the staff were very accommodating and friendly, the breakfast service was well done, and even with several other guests in the home it felt very quiet and private. We particularly enjoyed learning about the history of the home and the surrounding area.

Our only major complaint about our stay is that the home has a fairly significant stinkbug problem. We were not made aware of this at all either prior to booking or during the check-in process. We only discovered it once we got to our room and in reading the welcome binder read a letter from the owner explaining that stinkbugs may be found on the property and that he personally has made the choice to avoid the use of pesticides or treatment to eradicate the problem. We then quickly noticed stinkbugs in our room and my husband spent the entire evening having to capture and flush them, a total of 15-20 in all. It seemed only 10-20 minutes would go between getting rid of one and finding another one. They are unattractive and invasive bugs, crawling on our things and flying around the room, so needless to say this significantly detracted from our ability to relax and "settle in." We made sure most of our belongings were stored in the closet and that our suitcase was left zipped up at all times to avoid bringing any home with us. While I understand and even can appreciate the owner's preference to avoid the use of pesticides on the property, I also feel it is both unsustainable to have to flush the toilet 20 times in a matter of a few hours (because the bugs cannot be crushed without causing them to emit their gross odor) and also very uncomfortable for guests to have to feel "on edge" in their own room. I believe that guests' comfort and relaxation should be a top priority at any overnight accommodation, and especially one as refined as the Rosemont.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beauty of the grounds, the history of the manor, and that you were received warmly and graciously by our staff.

In terms of the "unwelcomed" visitors (i.e. stinkbugs!), please do know that our guests' comfort and relaxation ABSOLUTELY IS our top priority. During your particular stay, there was a significant temperature swing, which tends to exacerbate the problem. We do use environmentally-friendly chemicals on the exterior of the manor to minimize these critters from getting in as much as possible. That being said, as any home or business owner in the mid-Atlantic will tell you, this species is, unfortunately, very resistant to these efforts and so their effectiveness is not 100%, especially during the winter. However, we are diligent with this, and have been successful in greatly reducing the issue.

Additionally, every room is thoroughly examined prior to check-in, to make sure that you are the only occupants! If this was overlooked in your case, we sincerely apologize for the oversight. Finally, we also encourage our guests to alert us right away if you see a stinkbug and we will come and take care of it for you.

Again, thank you for your kind words about Rosemont. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall, had a great breakfast, kind service, and took advantage of the surrounding area as well. We hope that you will come see us again soon.

Sincerely,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berryville
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
9.3 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
9.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
7.6 mi away
Towne Place Suites
Towne Place Suites
#16 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
8.0 mi away
L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemont Manor

Property: Rosemont Manor
Address: 16 Rosemont Manor Ln, Berryville, VA 22611-3567
Location: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Rosemont Manor Hotel Berryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing