We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful getaway in the Virginia countryside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosemont Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosemont Manor
Ranked #1 of 6 Berryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful getaway in the Virginia countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have stayed at B&BS before, but none have been anywhere as breathtaking as this spectacular property - a truly extraordinary surprise. The house is a large and graceful manor house set in extensive grounds, which in the twentieth century hosted many famous guests including U.S. presidents, Churchill and Einstein. The rooms are named after some of these famous visitors. We were fortunate to stay in the Roosevelt suite, named for FDR. The public rooms and furniture are classically beautiful. These were enhanced by outstanding Christmas decorations - frankly the most tasteful and lovely we have seen anywhere. The staff was very friendly and attentive, and a tasty breakfast was elegantly presented and served. This is a real find and all round winner. We intend to be back!

Room Tip: Look on their website which has great photos of all rooms -then call Rosemont Manor. The manager is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you, David, for taking the time to share your thoughts on Rosemont! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are blessed to be able to host our guests in such an historic setting, and we do our best to provide excellent customer service as well.

We look forward to having you back at Rosemont again soon!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    37
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
30
137
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We basked in the beauty of this Georgian manor house with its heavy crowns and wainscotings, and traditional and contemporary Christmas decorations. While its wi-fi enabled we turned off the technology and turned back the clock in this stately setting. Each suite has a different theme with gorgeous rich colors and well appointed bathrooms.There is plenty of staff to see to your every question and request but they are transparent to your experience of carrying around a glass of wine and a plate of cheeses at the Inn Keepers party, listening to classic piano and playing a game of chess. In this historic area there are lots of places to visit but our real find was our evening at L'Auberge Provencale in White Post, just 10 miles away. This top Zagat # 57 French inn and restaurant is another warm location where you are treated like family. while enjoying the gourmet foods and wines. It took me almost my my whole over night stay to unwind. Next time two nights!

Room Tip: The Churchill Suite is the quietest and many the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind and well-spoken review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Rosemont during the holiday season. We do strive to make sure that our guests are attended to as needed, yet can feel at home without anyone hovering over them, so we are glad that you found this to be the case during your stay.

We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining at nearby L'Auberge! We will be sure to pass along your recommendation to future guests.

Speaking of future guests, we hope you will come back soon for two nights! We look forward to your return, and thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We held our daughter's wedding here and couldn't have been happier with the place and the people. From the wedding planner to the caterer, all supplemental services were excellent. The Manor itself is an historic site rich with stories. The grounds are beautiful, but were especially so on that beautiful fall weekend.
It is perfect for having a smaller wedding and having close friends and relatives stay on the grounds. There are great Civil War sites and vineyards to visit nearby.
Absolutely two thumbs up for those who want help with organizing a wedding.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSENo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Historic Rosemont for your daughter's big day, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. At Rosemont, our wedding clients become like family to us, and we make it a priority to make the process as smooth as possible for the bride, groom, and their families so that they can all relax and enjoy the festivities. We do our best to work with you to meet your needs, solve any potential problems before they arise, and to alleviate any fears you may have so that your dream wedding becomes a reality. With a variety of wedding packages, and multiple indoor and outdoor ceremony and reception locations, Rosemont truly is a wedding venue for all seasons. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we wish both you, and your daughter and son-in-law all the best.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, US
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Surprised we found this gem of a place & town only an hour and half away from us. The manor itself is rich with history and is nestled quietly on a beautiful property. Me and my wife enjoyed the peace we found at the Manor. We took our picnic lunch out to the grass and enjoyed the quiet from our busy lives.

Manor was very accommodating. They had snacks and beverages at no cost. Breakfast each morning was delicious. The picnic basket was a wonderful touch. And we loved having no tvs. They also provided us with many coupons to use throughout town.

The only downside to the manor (which is very hard to blame because of its age) are the paper thin walls. I'm sure some rooms are better than others. We could hear the conversations (in detail) of both of our neighbors. I felt bad if I had to use the bathroom during the night because I didn't want to wake up our neighbors. But that is sort of expected in a place such as this.

Overall, I would recommend this to people (mostly couples) and I would come back again (and try a different room).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanRudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are so glad you found us! Thank you for your review and for recommending us to others looking for a romantic getaway or quiet retreat. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your picnic lunch and that you received excellent service. We do hope you'll come back and see us again soon.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

It was a crisp fall day when we checked into the Rosemont Manor. We chose the Nixon suite because of its larger size and a sun porch. The room was quite nice except for the rather bad Nixon portrait and a few stink bugs. I guess we will have to choose a different room next time.
After unpacking we explored some of the other rooms which had yet to be occupied. All were very well decorated with themes based upon historical figures who had visited the Manor.
In the late afternoon, we were treated to wine, cheese and other snacks.
The town of Berryville has some very good places to eat or one could drive a few miles more to Winchester for a broader selection.
That night we were quite pleased with the comfort of the queen sized bed and slept very well.
The next morning we had a great breakfast which included three ginger pancakes with a dollop of vanilla yogurt topped with apple-butter jam, link sausage and baked apples. Yum-Yum.
In our package we were given passes to three nearby boutique wineries; each with their own variety of grapes and ways of creating some interesting wines. Rosemont also packed us a picnic basket lunch including a chicken wrap, chips, apple, cookies, bottled water and wine. Because of the excellent weather, we were able to enjoy a wonderful lunch on the road in a very scenic area of Virginia.
There is no television, so we brought reading material to enjoy before going to bed.
Breakfast the next morning included half of a pear accented with Devonshire cream, three cheese omelet, Canadian bacon and corn muffins. The service both mornings was outstanding.
We also were very pleased with all the other staff at the Rosemont.
This was a nice getaway with many interesting things to do or not do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrjack37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Rosemont for your fall getaway and for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad that you found the accommodations to be relaxing and comfortable. We are pleased that you enjoyed your home-cooked breakfasts and picnic lunch, and that you were able to find time to visit the nearby wineries as well. Again, thank you for your kind words and we hope you'll come see us at Rosemont again soon.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

As a mid week get away, my wife and I traveled about 90 miles to the Rosemont Manor in Berryville. It is an historic, wonderfully landscaped, very relaxed bed and breakfast. It was very pleasant rocking in the chairs on the large porch enjoying the view of the grounds and mountains in the distance. Our room was decorated nicely and was comfortable. Breakfast was really tasty. The staff was very welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed this mid week get away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your mid-week stay at Rosemont! We are pleased to hear that your room was comfortable, and that you received a warm welcome and great breakfasts. We want our guests to truly feel at home and to be able to relax and fully enjoy their stay. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you at Rosemont again soon.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Wonderful historic Mansion with huge rocking chairs on the enormous portico. Friendly staff and great accomodations. Beautifully landscaped grounds with acres of walking area. A nice quiet place to relax and get away from all the stress in our lives. Breakfasts were delicious and they have a room with complimentary snacks, water bottles, sodas and ice available at all times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ron51ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks so much for choosing Rosemont for your relaxing getaway and thank you for your gracious review. We are pleased to hear that your time at Rosemont was rejuvinating and enjoyable. The rocking chairs are a fairly new addition and we're glad you were able to sit and enjoy the views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We hope that you will come see us again soon!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berryville
9.3 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
11.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
17.6 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemont Manor

Property: Rosemont Manor
Address: 16 Rosemont Manor Ln, Berryville, VA 22611-3567
Location: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Rosemont Manor Hotel Berryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing