We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Scenic”

Shenandoah River State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Marshall, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Scenic”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I did 2 hikes here in 3 days. This park is a gem in the already beautiful countryside outside Front Royal. There are trails along the Shenandoah River or up high where the views are spectacular. All the trails I hiked were very well marked and there are maps at the Visitors Center which is also worth a visit for the wildlife exhibit. A gorgeous well maintained park which I'm very fortunate to have close to home. There is a $3 admission fee.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank debby t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    30
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Scenic and Serene Getaway”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Only 70 miles from downtown DC, this newly minted state park is a scenic and serene getaway. The cabins are situated on a bluff and boast all the modern comforts. From the our cabin porch we looked down to a spreading meadow, then the river and then off to the mountains in the distance. The 22 miles of hiking trails in the park are well marked, broad and made for the casual hiker. The park has an advantageous location. Close by you'll find canoe rentals, Skyline Caverns and Skyline Drive. More advanced hikers will find trailheads along Skyline Drive. Front Royal, about 10 miles away, has restaurants, shops and grocery stores. All in all, this is a terrific, easy to get to state park for a relaxing and scenic break.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaRET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Treasure tucked away”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This State Park is a gem, tucked away, in the valley between the Blue Ridge and Massanutten Mountain ranges just off State Route 340 south of Front Royal VA. and near the entrance to the Skyline Drive. We had riden by the entrance frequently and decided to investigate on a beautiful fall day. There is a $4.00 entrance fee to enter. A small visitors center provides examples of wildlife and plant growth in this habitat. Since the leaves were falling, the river could be seen from the observation points. Well-maintained trails were well marked and marked in terms of difficulty. Excellent for cycling as well.. There are a multitude of picnic sites with grills available at most. Cabins and campsties were available. The facilities were clean and accessible. There is a boat ramp to launch your canoe or kayak. Fisherman were working the shore. There are no restaurants or stores other than the gift shop on the premises. Front Royal is only a short distance north and Luray slightly farther south if one wants restaurant choices after hiking.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovetobeonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
896 reviews
471 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 858 helpful votes
“beautiful views, easy to moderate hikes”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

For family and casual hikers, be sure to take the Overlook Trail which provides unforgettable views of the river and valley below. The River Trail is a very pleasant walk which can be done by seniors, small children and non-experienced hikers. There are tougher trails, but even these are of moderate difficulty at best.

The facilities are outstanding for campers, and the park is amazingly well kept, with plenty of benches for relaxing and well-marked trails.

This makes for a pleasant and easy day trip from the DC area. We stopped in Front Royal on the way back at the Daily Grind on Main St in the Old Town area and enjoyed some wonderful coffee and chocolate chunk scones. All in all, the beautiful fall day with breathtaking colors while driving as well as hiking.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hot water”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have been camping on the mountain in the national park for 30 year and drove by this park years before it opened. We camped there when it first opened. We fell in love. The camp sites are all along river. For years none of us that camped there would write about it because it was one of the best keep public secrets in the area and it seemed like our own private park.
It took me years to get my wife to fall in love with camping like me. This place did it. The tent site are as well seat up as you will find in the US. Huge manicured lawns for picnics. They have added cabins which are more like homes with big kitchens, bedrooms, living rooms, and large fireplaces. Cabins have large porches. and outside picnic areas with grills, tables, and fire pits. It was the park that my wife became a camping addict.
One of the things she hated at first was the bathrooms and shower at most places we camped. This park has excellent facilities, with clean modern bathroom and hot showers all near the tent sites. This eased her into camping now she will go to the backcountry and dig her outside toilet. This wouldn't work with everyone.
They have a section away from tent sites for RVs with hookups and in this area they have a very nice and clean laundry. If you do not like the weather they also have small camping cabin with electricity.
This park is very safe. My wife has even camped there alone. and the rangers keep a close eye on her. We now know all the rangers and they are great. One of them, Donna, has for years befriended my wife and me. I have camped for over 50 years and Donna is the most caring park ranger I have ever met. Her care has obviously contributed to the ways everyone treats the guest.
The river is beautiful and a great place to float on a hot summer day. the river is often shallow in the summer and you can stand up in most places. Take great care though it is a very rocky bottom with small and large boulders. You can hurt yourself very easily walking and you need river shoes when in the water to protect your feet.
Great place for bird watching. Many stop by when migrating and you can see many types, even several varieties of owls. You can rent canoes nearby and some will even bring them to your camp sites.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jjbjWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shenandoah River State Park also viewed

 

Been to Shenandoah River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing