We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olde Liberty Station

Olde Liberty Station
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our family went there after hiking up to Johnson's Farm at the Peaks of Otter on Dec. 30, 2013. We planned to go somewhat early to avoid the crowd; we arrived at 4:30 PM. As others have said, the restaurant is an old Norfolk Southern train station that has been restored/renovated as a restaurant. The restaurant is well laid out and very clean, including the restrooms. There was a large crowd in front of us, about 12 seniors, but we were immediately seated after them. Service was perfect and our waitress was great; she kept our glasses full of either water, sweet tea, or soda. Something unusual, they serve the bread in a crock; the bread is partially pumpernickel partially white. The butter is either hazelnut or honey which is absolutely delicious on the fresh baked bread. I had the Chattanooga Chopped steak, french fries, and onion rings, my wife had a large salad, sweet potato and onion rings, our daughter had the black bean chicken wrap and corn pudding, and our son had the chicken pasta. My chopped steak was excellent (not fancy but delicious) as well as the french fries; the onion rings were fried perfectly and were absolutely delicious which we all agreed. My daughter's black bean chicken wrap was full of chicken and was absolutely delicious, they definitely did not skimp on the chicken. Our son's chicken pasta was good and in a cream sauce with some chicken and mushrooms, but it wasn't loaded with chicken like our daughter's chicken wrap. We had eaten lunch at the Olde Liberty Station before several times but never dinner; we were pleasantly surprised at how good it was. We were even lucky enough to see a train go by! Overall it was a great experience and we will definitely go back again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaelrm48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    140
    29
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed dinner and dessert!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Visited on a recommendation from our innkeeper. Great food, good value, fun atmosphere. We enjoyed it and would recommend it! We went on a rainy Saturday night and it was busy, but we were able to get a table quickly, and we split a burger and salad (plenty of food!) and dessert. We had a good server, the food came quickly and was good. We would go back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

A trip to Bedford would not be complete without a trip to Olde Liberty Station. This restaurant is located in the former Norfolk-Southern railroad station. The prime rib on the dinner menu is second to none. The owner makes his own cheesecakes that would put any New York restaurant to shame.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Earle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't order steak”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have eaten here numerous times and I mostly order the ribeye or prime rib. I always order rare and without fail it's at least medium. I have sent back numerous steaks because they just can't get it right. Once a waitress told me after sending it back a third time that an almost well done steak was rare, it's just that the steaks are cut early in the day and all the blood has drained out...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David24523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Almond Joy Chicken Salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Almond Joy Salad with prefect ly grilled chicken, cocoanut, almonds and a sprinkling of white chocolate. And I usually don't like white chocolate!

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olde Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing