We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Labor Day Lunch”

Olde Liberty Station
Ranked #1 of 58 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Terrific Labor Day Lunch”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a fun family lunch. Many choices ont he menu at reasonable prices. Our group especially liked the Fried Green Tomato BLT and the Salmon Cakes. Topped off the meal with Key Lime Cheese Cake (cheese cake is a house speciality) and Chocolate Pecan Pie. Fun restored train station atmosphere. We'll be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandpaGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    146
    31
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food in an upbeat setting”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Olde Liberty Station is the former Bedford City Rail Station, that has been turned into a diner. The menu features chicken and seafood along with steaks and chops. One of the best things on the menu, however, is the fried green tomatoes with a cucumber dill sauce. Unforgettable! The crab cakes are outstanding as well. The chicken comes grilled with a variety of toppings such as raspberry sauce, or grilled onions and pepper-jack cheese. Sides include broccoli (cooked to perfection!) corn pudding (very sweet), onion rings, and potatoes. Everything is excellent, and the service, even at busy times, is always prompt.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fsmith58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not quite sure why this place comes so highly recommended”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at a very comfortable B&B in Bedford and this place came highly recommended. In fact we were told in no uncertain terms that it was by far the best place to eat in Bedford. The service was charming but frankly everything
we were served was so sweet as to be almost inedible. All of the vegetable dishes had lots of
added sugar, and the salad dressing frankly tasted like jam to me. Even the bread (including pita bread), was overly sweet. The
only thing that didn't taste sweet to me was the crab dip and that was insipid. Honestly, the food in this
place could be really quite good if they would just lay off the sugar!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peccadillo1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do eat here”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We ate here twice: a lunch and a dinner. The service was prompt, everyone was friendly and eager to please. Try the Fried Green Tomatoes. Oh my, they were good! And then there was the large portion of corn pudding. It was delicious.
Do take a few minutes to check out the mural in the back room and the various old photos. Yes, I would go back the next time we are in Bedford.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seniorcitizen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delish”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

All I can say is... Peach Cobbler!! They make it in these small pots and its a perfect portion for someone like me. The meal was great.. Try the salt & pepper catfish, Ranch chicken wraps, veggie burger, cobbler or one of their assorted cheesecakes! We are definitely going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeDid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Liberty Station also viewed

 

Been to Olde Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing