We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than just a little restaurant, an inspiration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duchess of Bedford Bakery - CLOSED

Duchess of Bedford Bakery
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“More than just a little restaurant, an inspiration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We enjoyed our lunch at Joppy's, more because of the owner than anything else. The food was good, and the restaurant was spotlessly clean. Our waitress seemed to be having a bit of a hard time, but we noticed that other members of the staff were helping her out. The owner came over and apologized, saying that our waitress was having a bit of difficulty. We allowed that we all have our days, but the owner came back and told us that she is trying to develop the skills of untried and, frankly, unskilled help. It was a pleasure to see the staff acting as a team, and an owner who is helping develop the people in her community, and develop pride in themselves.
I suppose a review of a restaurant should include something about the food: my chicken salad sandwich was delicious, and my wife had a crab cake. Oh, and my wife made sure to save room for a mini chocolate cheesecake, but who's telling?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SBBNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasty sandwiches, marvelous desserts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Joppy's has a wonderful sandwich menu and a few entrees on their lunch menu. These are not "inventive" sandwiches, just very good quality deli sandwiches. There is a nice selection of side dishes such as macaroni salad, Southwest Salad, potato salad, fresh fruit and a few others. My husband had the Classic Rueben. The corned beef was really tender and tasty. I had the Classic Rachel which was just as good. The desserts are marvelous - it is, after all, a bakery! The wait staff is mainly teenagers. The owner gives these kids an opportunity to learn all the lessons one can learn from having a job in a restaurant. That does mean some of the staff is inexperienced. They all appeared adept at taking orders and serving the food. The slowest part of our experience was paying the bill as our server had trouble with the computer checkout. We'll go back because the food is terrific and the owner is trying to help some teenagers become responsible adults.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReikiForAllBeings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Quiche & desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Duchess Bakery is known for their wonderful cakes, cookies & desserts. Lunch is an experience - wonderful homemade quiches, sandwiches and sides. I can never leave without buying a "Praline Cookie" for dessert!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

When they first opened, it was my top spot for a luncheon with the ladies. Ownership has changed hands a few times and the quality goes down a bit with each new attempt at running the spot. The soups, salads, and coffees are still excellent, but not so much on the sandwiches. The prices are too high. They are "trying" to give a fancier, elegant air, but the staff, menu design, and food quality lend to a more casual tone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Punky9791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“boar's head meats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a nice place for lunch or tea with friends. Great pastries.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank standswithfists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duchess of Bedford Bakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing