We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Ellen has thought of everything!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vanquility Acres Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vanquility Acres Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Bedford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ashland, Virginia
1 review
“"Ellen has thought of everything!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Why stay in a “never-knowing-what-you’re-going-to-get” hotel when you can experience the wonderful accommodations of Ellen & John’s Vanquility Acres Inn? As part of a recent vacation, we wanted to tour Bedford’s D-Day Memorial. For an overnight stay, we liked what we saw on the Vanquility Acres Inn website. We chose the extremely comfortable, spacious and beautifully decorated Blue Ridge Room. Ellen has thought of everything!! Her personal attention to detail matches how she “would want to be treated” herself. The bedroom and private bathroom are immaculately clean, with lots of conveniences. Before it got dark, we took a stroll around the quiet and peaceful neighborhood, enjoying the beautiful view of the mountains. For breakfast the next morning, we devoured Ellen's scrumptious homemade breakfast. On the dining room table, we discovered a bottle of John’s outstanding fruit-flavored honey, which came from his own bees in the backyard. During our meal, we enjoyed fun and interesting conversations with other guests and Ellen. If you have any special dietary needs, you only need to let Ellen know in advance. After enjoying more delightful conversation with Ellen, we packed up to leave for our day of touring. We both left the Inn feeling like we’d found a brother and sister, and would love to have stayed longer. Later that afternoon, we drove to Bedford’s Liberty Station restaurant for a tasty lunch. The restored historic railroad-station-turned-restaurant was highly recommended by Ellen and other locals. We already have recommended Vanquility Acres Inn to co-workers, family, friends, and neighbors. After such a positive experience, we both agree that when in the Bedford area, we wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else. -Debbie & Ronnie (Ashland, Va.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
66
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Leamington Spa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Any accomodation limitations (shared shower facility with our travel friends next door) were more than compensated for by the excellent breakfasts (best of our trip during our stay at various hotels in six US states ( our first US visit !!)) ) and the considerable friendliness of our hosts (and other breakfast guests).We had excellent views of the countryside, the lake and the goats meandering to and fro across the bridge . All provided for an enjoyable final two days stay prior to our flight back home to the UK .A big thank you once more to our hosts!!
Stuart & Ann (Royal Leamington Spa, England).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartBayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were desperate to find a place at the last minute. Ellen was very accommodating and had a wonderful comfy room available. It is very tranquil and quiet. The view of the mountains is superb, with the pond a nice contrast. Enjoyed the home made breakfast, especially the veggie frittata made with fresh eggs from her hens. Very close to the Blue Ridge. Highly recommend to travelers from the Hampton Roads area as the four hour drive can't be beat getting there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catharowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Coming originally from California and living in Hampton Roads currently, this was a breath of fresh air, literally. Situated in the rural residential community of Bedford, this is a peaceful and beautiful place to stay. Fairly easy access to the Blue Ridge Parkway and near some of the more remote historical sites of Virginia, the location is great. The accommodations are top notch; guest rooms are spacious and comfortable. The Vanquility Suite where we stayed was complete with a sink and mini-fridge, enclosed porch and open porch, view of the open land and mountains in the background, easy hot-tub access, and most notable an immensely comfortable king size bed. John and Ellen are very nice, and when other guests are present offer the opportunity to eat and commune with others. I would definitely recommend this to anyone, but especially those looking for a more peaceful and communal type of stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the moment we stepped on the porch and were greeted by Ellen we knew this was a special place. Ellen, her husband and her son made us feel like family. The rooms were clean and comfortable and even had reading material. The view of the mountains can't be beat and closer to home the pond, hearing the frogs, the chickens, and seeing the goats all added up to a feeling of relaxation and contentment. Ellen and her family couldn't have been more helpful and we were surrounded by beauty - what more can you ask! Suffice it to say, we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a wonderful place to visit. We loved our large, comfortable room, and the great view of the Peaks of Otters, the pond on Vanquillity's property, and the Nubian goats frolicking in the fields or crossing their bridge. The breakfasts were outstanding all three days we were there. It was near the lovely town of Bedford, which has a couple of terrific restaurants, and not far from the historical sites we wished to visit. Also, it is very close to some beautiful trails in the Blue Ridge Mts. Ellen and John indeed treated us like family, and we enjoyed meeting Ellen's son Brian as well. We highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KY3cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on a trip from Washington to Florence SC with my American cousins. We chose it from the internet back in the UK and as it was my cousins first real dip into the world of B&B's I wanted it to be good.
I can say the stay was everything I had hoped it would be, the innkeepers John and Ellen were very welcoming and their home was made to feel like ours. We stayed in the The Blue room and The Garden suite and both were very comfortable with a great view over the lake from the garden suite.After cocktails on the terrace we went into Bedford for dinner at Liberty Station a recommendation of Ellen's which was very good. On our return we noticed the back lawn covered in fire flies which was amazing.
Breakfast was excellent with scrambled egg and bacon, then pancakes with syrup and home made jams but Ellen's apple butter was the best.
A great introduction to B&B's for my cousin and I am sure they will do it again, we will certainly be back next time we are in this neck of the woods.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Iandastewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
7.0 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
19.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Halesford Harbour Inn
Halesford Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Moneta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
23.0 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
19.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanquility Acres Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanquility Acres Inn

Property: Vanquility Acres Inn
Address: 105 Angus Ter, Bedford, VA 24523-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country home built on 10 acres with fantastic views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. 4 large suites w/private baths, hot tub, pond for fishing, covered patio with chiminea fireplace, cable TV, ceiling fans and in room coffee center, wireless internet and electric fireplaces. 2 Miles to Bedford Centertown, 8 miles to Peaks of Otter Mountains. "Where you arrive as a guest and leave as a friend." ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing