We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Give it a try...you won't regret it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vanquility Acres Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vanquility Acres Inn
Save
You added Vanquility Acres Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 7 Bedford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Quinton, Virginia
2 reviews
“Give it a try...you won't regret it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our first visit to a Bed & Breakfast and it well exceeded our expectations. Ellen and John are very gracious hosts and make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. We stayed in the Garden Suite which is very nice and spacious with a comfortable bed, electric fireplace…and for the guys it even has a TV. The adjoining sitting area overlooks the beautiful scenery with a great mountain view. Many of the reviews mentioned that you are treated like family. This is very true, as we enjoyed simply having good conversation with Ellen and John. We have already told many of our friends about the wonderful experience we had and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
60
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed with Ellen & John during a road trip from Washington to Florida & would certainly recommend Vanquility to anyone looking for a B&B in Bedford. Ellen & John were so friendly, it was like staying with family. We stayed in the Blue Room which was very spacious with a lovely comfortable bed. Location is lovely & quiet and the views from the deck are just fabulous especially in the fall - colours were amazing. Breakfast was so good, lovely home cooking & homemade jams & honey, delicious. Special mention to John's goats - very friendly & watching them crossing the pond over the bridge was such fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caz0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

It took four years, but we recently returned to this lovely B&B in Bedford, run by Ellen and John Everett. We rented the 'Peaksview Cottage', the separate house Ellen offers at the Vanquility Inn (that will soon be completely renovated). It was nice to have a home to ourselves, then join the others at the main house for a three course bountiful breakfast experience - Ellen's an excellent cook. Quiet surroundings, good company, great food- what more could you ask for? Real tranquility is sitting on the porch watching John round up the goat herd and tend the bees! Will be back again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eukrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Chose this B&B due to all the great reviews on TripAdvisor and glad I did. The house was lovely, with great views. We stayed in the Blue Room and bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was brilliant but I think we needed a bigger appetite for all the choice. Ellen and John were so lovely, we spent one morning chatting for ages, felt like we were just friends staying over.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This B&B is an oasis of tranquillity. It's a small farm a couple miles outside of Bedford, VA. My wife and I figured we had to stay here after seeing the good reviews and photos of friendly goats, and weren't disappointed. It seemed like we may have caught the inn-keeper on a busy day, but she still took a good amount of time welcoming us and telling us about things to do in the area, of which she was knowledgeable. There are also goats, and they are about as friendly as goats can be, as far as I know. They came right up to us and let us pet them through the fence. The breakfast we were served was good and plentiful. The rear deck is a great place to sit and watch the pond, the goats, and the Peaks of Otter in the distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was our second stay at this lovely B & B in beautiful Bedford Virginia. Once again we were treated to delicious breakfasts, peacefull surroundings, and gracious Southern hospitality! Ellen and John are perfect hosts making your stay a truly memorable one! Our room, the Blue Room, was spotless and so comfortably appointed. The fabulous moutain views, the cute herd of goats, the walks along the flower beds to the pond, the great conversations, -- need we say more? Rod & Karen

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneyL1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at Vanquility for 3 nights in June 2011
Great Room
Great Hosts
Great Location
Great Breakfast
Great Views
Really could not fault
Steve and Alison UK

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
7.0 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
23.0 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
15.0 mi away
Halesford Harbour Inn
Halesford Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Moneta
5.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
19.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanquility Acres Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanquility Acres Inn

Property: Vanquility Acres Inn
Address: 105 Angus Ter, Bedford, VA 24523-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country home built on 10 acres with fantastic views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. 4 large suites w/private baths, hot tub, pond for fishing, covered patio with chiminea fireplace, cable TV, ceiling fans and in room coffee center, wireless internet and electric fireplaces. 2 Miles to Bedford Centertown, 8 miles to Peaks of Otter Mountains. "Where you arrive as a guest and leave as a friend." ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing