We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Truly a little piece of heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vanquility Acres Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vanquility Acres Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Bedford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Truly a little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed with Ellen & John during a road trip from Washington to Florida & would certainly recommend Vanquility to anyone looking for a B&B in Bedford. Ellen & John were so friendly, it was like staying with family. We stayed in the Blue Room which was very spacious with a lovely comfortable bed. Location is lovely & quiet and the views from the deck are just fabulous especially in the fall - colours were amazing. Breakfast was so good, lovely home cooking & homemade jams & honey, delicious. Special mention to John's goats - very friendly & watching them crossing the pond over the bridge was such fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caz0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
66
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

It took four years, but we recently returned to this lovely B&B in Bedford, run by Ellen and John Everett. We rented the 'Peaksview Cottage', the separate house Ellen offers at the Vanquility Inn (that will soon be completely renovated). It was nice to have a home to ourselves, then join the others at the main house for a three course bountiful breakfast experience - Ellen's an excellent cook. Quiet surroundings, good company, great food- what more could you ask for? Real tranquility is sitting on the porch watching John round up the goat herd and tend the bees! Will be back again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eukrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Chose this B&B due to all the great reviews on TripAdvisor and glad I did. The house was lovely, with great views. We stayed in the Blue Room and bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was brilliant but I think we needed a bigger appetite for all the choice. Ellen and John were so lovely, we spent one morning chatting for ages, felt like we were just friends staying over.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This B&B is an oasis of tranquillity. It's a small farm a couple miles outside of Bedford, VA. My wife and I figured we had to stay here after seeing the good reviews and photos of friendly goats, and weren't disappointed. It seemed like we may have caught the inn-keeper on a busy day, but she still took a good amount of time welcoming us and telling us about things to do in the area, of which she was knowledgeable. There are also goats, and they are about as friendly as goats can be, as far as I know. They came right up to us and let us pet them through the fence. The breakfast we were served was good and plentiful. The rear deck is a great place to sit and watch the pond, the goats, and the Peaks of Otter in the distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was our second stay at this lovely B & B in beautiful Bedford Virginia. Once again we were treated to delicious breakfasts, peacefull surroundings, and gracious Southern hospitality! Ellen and John are perfect hosts making your stay a truly memorable one! Our room, the Blue Room, was spotless and so comfortably appointed. The fabulous moutain views, the cute herd of goats, the walks along the flower beds to the pond, the great conversations, -- need we say more? Rod & Karen

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneyL1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at Vanquility for 3 nights in June 2011
Great Room
Great Hosts
Great Location
Great Breakfast
Great Views
Really could not fault
Steve and Alison UK

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

we stayed 2 nights and enjoyed meeting the friendly, hospitable hosts in their cozy home --pretty scenery, cute goats, and my husband says the best breakfasts he's had in a B&B in
years!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
7.0 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
19.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Halesford Harbour Inn
Halesford Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Moneta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
23.0 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
19.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanquility Acres Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanquility Acres Inn

Property: Vanquility Acres Inn
Address: 105 Angus Ter, Bedford, VA 24523-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country home built on 10 acres with fantastic views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. 4 large suites w/private baths, hot tub, pond for fishing, covered patio with chiminea fireplace, cable TV, ceiling fans and in room coffee center, wireless internet and electric fireplaces. 2 Miles to Bedford Centertown, 8 miles to Peaks of Otter Mountains. "Where you arrive as a guest and leave as a friend." ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing