We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 7 Bedford B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The lodge is totally different taste from modern hotel. If you look for a place with all kinds of fancy electronic included, this is definitely not a good match for you.

The lodge itself is a over hundred year building but with excellent condition. All the interior decoration are very unique and cute. The owner herself is a big fan of otter so that you can see all kinds of otter related collection around the house.

The property owner is very friendly and talkative. She will provide with you abundant breakfast every morning and share you with the local information and experience.

But you may think about it before you decide to make a reservation if you are extremely sensitive to bugs. Due to the natural environment around, you may experience few stink bugs in your room due to the fact it is likely to be attracted by the light. But as long as you don't keep the light closed to you open all the time, they may not stay so close to you. I personally won't feel uncomfortable with it.

I definitely would still consider to live in Otter Den's B&B next time while I re-visit Blue Ridge Parkway.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

A group of us visited Otter's Den whilst driving down the Blue Ridge Skyline Drive. We had tried to book by email but telephoned when we received no reply. The scenery and wildlife in the area are stunning but we were very disappointed with the standard of the accommodation. Michie was very welcoming and appears to do her best but the place seems too much for her. Her breakfasts were reasonable and she advised us where to eat in Bedford in the evening. However, rooms were scruffy; towels and linen were worn and marked; drawers were full of junk; One of our rooms had nowhere to hang clothes - one that did had an open rack in the bathroom; windows and flyscreens didn't close properly; the upstairs bedroom was really hot and the aircon was both noisy and ineffective; sinks and toilets were stained and marked. Sorry to be a dissenting voice but it really does need a major update.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblingSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Otters Den. The view was really nice from the screened in porch off of our room. We watched the lights come on in the valley below at dusk and watched them go out again one by one at about 10:30pm. It was a very peaceful setting and a relaxing stay. The proximity to town was just right- not to close, not too far, and we explored alot of the shops and cafe's in Bedford. We were pleasantly surprised at the amount of artists works on display, and good restaurants, oh, and the " Well" (health and wellness shop) was a good supplier of essential oils, healthy foods, and, from their signage- reiki and massage. The owner of the Otters Den, Michie, is a very nice lady, and alot of fun to talk to. Her breakfasts were wonderful. We had to ask for less food- we arent eaters of huge breakfasts. She asked us what we liked and what time we prefered to eat- very accomodating. The Peaks of Otter mountains are beautiful, and the cabins location is great. The history of the cabin is facinating (I think 200 years old). I will definately stay there again. It is a great place for a romantic getaway, or to bring friends or family.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparrow82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

We just spent two nights in the bed and breakfast that the gracious, humble host Michie runs and we were treated to a beautiful mountain view from the bedroom we stayed in. There were trails in the back that we enjoyed walking on. Breakfast was filling and delicious. Would definetly recommend and would hope to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

If you love nature and the rustic beauty of historical Log homes you will fall in love with this bed & breakfast and it's owner. As we sat and chatted with Michie and listened to her stories of her and her husband who died recently we were so moved. This is true rustic americanna and simple way of life. I found myself just wanting to go back and hang out for the day and help out around the grounds just for her company and to soak up the serennity of the log home and the property ! Keep it alive Michie you are awesome.

  • Liked — The beauty of rustic log home living
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigrock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

My boyfriend and I decided to ride our bikes the entire length of Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline drive on our motorcycles. We didn't book any rooms figuring we would just stop along the way. On our fourth day of travel we found Otter's Den on our way back to Blue Ridge Parkway after going to Peaks of Otter Winery just up the street. We had already planned on staying somewhere near when the sign popped out at us.

We were lucky enough to be the only ones staying there that night and had access to the entire grounds. We stayed at three other motels before and Otter's Den had the best bed!! The breakfast was fantastic and so was Mickey the owner. The grounds were beautiful and the view outstanding from the private balcony on the top floor. If you are looking for pretentious and sterile this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a little Virginia history, wildlife (lots of deer on the grounds) and a feel of the land you will love this place.

One note of caution though. If you are on motorcycles it is a gravel drive.

Thank you Mickey we will stay again!!

Amelia and Brian
Baltimore MD

  • Liked — The scenery
  • Disliked — Gravel Drive
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amelia98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

A quaint and unpretentious B&B tucked away in the mountains of central Virginia run by a terrific hostess who's informed about local attractions, happenings and gossip. She knows how to cook a real breakfast and is warm and generous with her meals and her time. She made us a little late night snack complete with apple pie just because she had extra that evening and knew we'd like it since we were on a cycling vacation and our appetites were non-stop. The grounds are sweet; ideal for the wanderer thanks to years of effort this couple have spent making their 10 or so acres a place to remember in the Peaks of Otter region.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank cats4rent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.7 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
13.7 mi away
Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center
24.4 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
6.8 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#2 of 4 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
19.2 mi away
Timberlake Motel Lynchburg
Timberlake Motel Lynchburg
#6 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast

Property: Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8578 Peaks Rd, Bedford, VA 24523-3783
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Otter`s Den Bed And Breakfast
Otter`s Den Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing