We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,119)
Filter reviews
1,119 results
Traveler rating
627
362
78
37
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
627
362
78
37
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the blue ridge parkway beautiful view of the lake abbott lake wi fi main building flat screen tv first floor coffee maker skyline drive otters balcony razor brp lodging memorial summit accommodations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,119 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2019

This hotel/lodge is way overpriced for what you get. My bill for one night was $190. Your heart will sink when you walk into your room and see what they think is worth almost $200. The rooms are just moderate, like maybe an Econolodge or Best Western or even less. There are three buildings, and it's a very long walk to your room. There are no luggage carts, and if it's raining you're gonna get soaked. Especially if you need to make more than one trip to the car (or if you forget something - aargh!). It's an outside walk to the lobby too. Then you walk back to your car and drive to your building. No parking under an overhang like any other hotel you might visit. There are no phones in the rooms. But you have a cell phone, don't you? Well, there's no cell reception in this part of the Blue Ridge Parkway. They advertise Wi-Fi, but it's too weak to use. The rooms have a TV, but no fridge or microwave. The bathroom is real small and not very nice at all. Ours had a wash cloth stuffed in a softball sized hole in the wall! We recommend a first floor patio room. This is one of the good things as they face the lake which is quite nice. It's also a very romantic walk around the lake (paved) with a dock on the other side to snuggle together and enjoy. Balcony rooms are also nice, but they're upstairs so you have to go in and down to get to the lake for a nice walk.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amather2016, General Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Bob, i do apologize for all the negatives that you experienced. This property is owned by the NPS and we have done all to the rooms and the property that we are allowed to do. 1964, things werent as complicated as they are today. Sorry to have not met your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

Beautiful well equipped rooms with fantastic views over the lake and to the mountains beyond. Check was smooth and information provided sufficient for our needs.Difficult to get enough hot water for the shower!

Walked to the bar for a drink before dinner. Asked for 2 gin and tonics. Unfortunately the staff seemed unaware what this was. Had two neat gins delivered with lots of ice - needed a long drink with the heat and journey!

We ate in the on site restaurant - seafood buffet evening. OK but not exceptional and expensive. Breakfast was much better and recommended but again buffet style predominant.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank purchases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amather2016, General Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

We appreciate you coming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

Peaks of Otter Lodge is a beautiful and serene setting. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. There are hikes of varying difficulty. I was excited that there was a trolley to take you part of the way up Sharptop Mountain which is a strenuous hike. However I have a bum knee and could not climb the 1500 remaining feet for the view. The food at the Lodge was good not great. You can disconnect from technology because there is no cell service. There is internet but is slow. We did day trip to Bedford to the National D Day Memorial. We had a very informative guide. It was hot and the sun is bright with all that concrete. Wear sun screen and sun glasses and dress for comfort. Liberty Station in Bedford has good steaks and great service!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank marygG308YR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amather2016, General Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Appreciate you coming, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

We had some trouble checking in without a reservation, However, once we had our room we had a very enjoyable stay. The property is approximately 50 years old but well maintained. All rooms have lake views and are furnished well, although a small refrigerator would be nice. There is a nice paved walkway all the way around the lake and plenty to do in the immediate area.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RoadLessTraveledMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amather2016, General Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

thanks for coming, being that the rooms are 55 yrs old the electric cant handle frigs, but we do have them to rent. Do come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019 via mobile

Amazing place to stay. Located on the edge of a lake in the national park with great places to walk close to the hotel. The room was comfortable, quiet, really clean and had everything we needed. We ate in the bar and sat overlooking the water whilst sipping cocktails, it was an amazing last night to my holiday. I only wish I could have stayed longer!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank JulieHeron17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amather2016, General Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019
Google Translation

Please do come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews