We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,101)
Filter reviews
1,101 results
Traveler rating
619
356
77
35
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
619
356
77
35
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the blue ridge parkway beautiful view of the lake abbot lake wi fi main building flat screen tv first floor skyline drive coffee maker otters balcony razor brp lodging summit accommodations virginia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,101 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

Originally we were looking for a place to stay while we visited Natural Bridge. The closest place we could find that was pet friendly for the timeframe we were able to make was here at the Peaks of Otter Lodge. Best find ever! This place is magic! Beautiful views everywhere you turn - including the guest rooms. We were lucky to be there for Friday night surf and turf at the onsite restaurant. Live music while you dine and a view of Abbot Lake with the Peak beyond - amazing! Delicious food and wonderful service. Second to none staff! So glad we were able to stay here! We went for several hikes around the area and were disappointed that we were unable to book a second night! We will return and would highly recommend the Peaks of Otter Lodge!

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank cindym454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amather2016, General Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Cindy, thank you so much for coming to Peaks. It was our pleasure to have you with us. So glad you enjoyed your time, do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

The rooms were comfortable with great views of the lake and mountain. Wonderful outdoor experiences in hiking and viewing nature. A relaxing area with beautiful scenery and a restaurant attached. Staff was friendly and informative. A great place for an overnight stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amather2016, General Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Greg, thanks for coming to the Peaks and you are right things are not modern as we are not allowed to do much to the place as it is owned by the govt. and they want to keep the historic fabric of the property. Thanks for the review and do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018 via mobile

Peaks of Otter is gorgeous and the room was clean and comfortable but the restaurant left us annoyed. It’s the only option and yet the service is slow, the food was mediocre at best but most annoying was the prices! To charge so much for mediocre to bad food when it’s the only option is reprehensible. The amenities at the lodge and restaurant are scant to nonexistent and there’s not much attention to detail but each room has a lake view and nice bed.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Zeenawilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amather2016, General Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Zeena, I do apologize for your mixed feelings here at Peaks. I will address the food issues with my FB manager. Please accept my apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

When I booked the room I asked for and was told I would have an updated room. Wrong. Room was dated and smelled musty. No phone in room. No cell service. No working internet. Asked for first floor room but still had to walk stairs. Poor lighting from parking lot to buildings. Supper was a disaster. Prime rib night. Service was unbelievably slow and my soup was served at the same time as the entree. The soup was good, but the prime rib was ice cold!! Fearing another lengthy wait we are it cold. We were so disappointed we checked out first thing the next morning and skipped our second night.

Date of stay: October 2018
3  Thank michaelmH2032WN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amather2016, General Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Michael, so sorry for your experience here at Peaks, I apologize. We didnt do well in any area for you. Phones, cell service and wifi are all issues that we are addressing which has been a lengthy difficult process. I will address the food issues with my FB manager but please do accept my apology for disappointing you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

My wife's, our daughter's and my birthdays are within 5 days of each other and we try to celebrate it at some place near Lynchburg where our daughter lives with our two grand daughters. We picked the Peaks of Otter this year. We had stayed here about 30 years ago and were eagerly awaiting our return visit.

We weren't disappointed as it still is one of the most picturesque properties anywhere even for the Blue Ridge Parkway/Skyline Drive... as all the rooms and the dining room overlook the lake and Sharp Top Mountain.

The rooms have been upgraded... to include TVs and super comfy beds, but otherwise they have the same rustic feel as they did 30 years ago. The rooms are situated in three two story buildings... all with a balcony or a porch and all with the same great views... and all withing easy walking distance to the lodge/bar/dining room.

There are several hiking trails... from easy to strenuous... within a short walk from the rooms.

The staff is friendly and efficient.

Room tip: All the rooms have views of the lake and Sharp Top
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amather2016, General Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2018

Hokie67, Happy Birthday to you all, so glad you spent your time here at Peaks. Thank you for the review and we welcome you back anytime.
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews