We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mountain Hideaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peaks of Otter Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Mountain Hideaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Although we live in Virginia, and have visited the Peaks of Otter area several times, we had never stayed at the Peaks of Otter Lodge. This mountain retreat on the Blue Ridge Parkway is a perfect way to enjoy the sights and sounds of the Blue Ridge mountains for more than just a day trip. The hotel is located overlooking a bucolic setting on a small lake, with one of the Peaks of Otter as a backdrop. The Lodge, and guest rooms, are a bit dated, but adequate for a very peaceful stay. The restaurant is very good, however, dinner menu selections are somewhat limited. Breakfast is wonderful! A great way to explore and engage one of our national treasures --- the Blue Ridge Parkway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Langhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    227
    45
    17
    5
See reviews for
186
402
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Absolutely amazed at the beauty of Peaks of Otter. First time experiencing the mountains in the Summer season...just as beautiful as in the Winter! Beautiful scenery right outside on my balcony at the lodge. I could sit there all day and admire the "Peak".

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was a spur of the moment trip with our friends. We only stayed overnight which was a shame we couldn't enjoy the mountain and general store and other visitors opportunities. Very beautiful and peaceful.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our trip was truly amazing. If you love the outdoors, this is a must place to stay! The trails & picnic areas were spectacular! The drive to get there was awesome through the mountains. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a getaway. Wi-Fi was spotty but that was okay. Unplugging for a week was much needed.

Green Features: I loved the environmental friendly practices displayed by the Lodge. It was refreshing to see a place acting on helping the environment instead of asking.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Plain but extremely nice motel in really great setting. All rooms have patio or balcony overlooking a beautiful lake. Lots of well-maintained trails lead off from the property and we saw many deer. Restaurant is OK--basic, but food was good. The beautiful setting overwhelms all and the locale is super for a multi-day stay while enjoying the scenery and trails.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Wonderful location on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Grounds and scenery on the sight were spectacular. Separate building for check-in with restaurant serving 3 meals and gift shop with local artisans. Separate 3 guest buildings all with nice lake and mountain view . 1 mile walking trail around lake was nice. My only downfall was choosing a lower walkout basement unit. Should have been on the second floor. Buildings are older but clean. Room was dated but had flat screen TV, and wifi access . Small deck to go outside but had rail across so had to exit from front door and walk around back. This was in the unit under the stairs. The center lower level units had concrete slab patios that you could walk right out to lake. I would try that. No cell service whatsoever and no phone in room. Didn't know that upfront and alittle worried not being able to call home Staff were extremely cordial and helpful. Can't beat the location. Would visit again

Room Tip: 2nd floor first choice or if want to walk directly out to lake from back door choose a center lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great place to stay in the mountains. Quiet and beautiful. Great walking path around the lake and an option to walk up or bus up the mountain. We saw otters, deer and hawks. .First floor is a must so that you can walk out to the lake and sit on the porch

Room Tip: first floor to walk out.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green with towel program and biodegradable products. Guests are encouraged to be eco friendly.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
13.0 mi away
Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center
24.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
22.0 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
20.3 mi away
Halesford Harbour Inn
Halesford Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Moneta
5.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peaks of Otter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaks of Otter Lodge

Property: Peaks of Otter Lodge
Address: 85554 Blue Ridge Pkwy, Bedford, VA 24523-6067
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Peaks of Otter Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Peaks of Otter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing