We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Peak experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peaks of Otter Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Peak experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great place to stay in the mountains. Quiet and beautiful. Great walking path around the lake and an option to walk up or bus up the mountain. We saw otters, deer and hawks. .First floor is a must so that you can walk out to the lake and sit on the porch

Room Tip: first floor to walk out.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green with towel program and biodegradable products. Guests are encouraged to be eco friendly.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    270
    52
    20
    6
See reviews for
218
481
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I stopped here along our motorcycle trip from ME to SC. We'd experienced thundershowers in Wanesboro, VA and didn't start up the Blue Ridge until 5:30pm. It was a huge relief to learn that we could stay at a lodge along the way, without even having to descend to find a motel. Our check-in experience was a little slow, but well worth the wait. There was also an attached restaurant, although service there was quite slow in the evening. The views down to Lake Abbott from our room and also from the restaurant were awesome, and I would have enjoyed staying longer to do some hiking in the area. We had a first floor room, with back door opening fight onto the lawn overlooking the lake. I definitely recommend this facility to other travelers and look forward to returning there again in the future.

Green Features: A good idea, although we only stayed for one night.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you as our guest again!

Sincerest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We're retired but enjoy views, walks, and short hikes from comfortable and clean lodges. Peaks of Otter Lodge offered about everything we enjoy at a reasonable price. The view of Abbott Lake from our balcony was terrific as was the balcony; our room was very clean, comfortable, and well-equipped (though not sumptuous); and we enjoyed both running and walking on the local trails.

The restaurant served among the best "lodge" food we'd experienced in recent times, again with the pleasure of a great view.

We were not successful in cell phone service (which may be a blessing).

The lodge is also very well located for nearby access to trails and terrific views of the peaks.

Room Tip: No comment. We liked our room, but couldn't distinguish it from others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomtrip44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Peaks of Otter Lodge. We look forward to having you as our guest again!

Sincerest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were in a standard king room after a long day of riding for 89$. It was very clean and had all of the necessary amenities...AC/ Wifi/ and a comfortable bed. All of the rooms had a nice view of the lake. We read the reviews about the dining room requiring business casual attire, but did not have any problem getting seated or served in clean jeans and a t-shirt. Staff was very friendly. Nicest place we stayed on the entire trip and it's very convenient to be able to stay right on the parkway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Peaks of Otter Lodge. Please do not ever hesitate to join us in the dining room in jeans and a t-shirt. We generally say that casual attire is all that is recommended for the dining room.

Sincerest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Conveniently located right off the parkway and nestled in the mountains. Very peaceful and scenic setting! Friendly staff and nice dining experience. Get a first floor balcony room to overlook the lake and be able to walk right out on the lawn. Would love to see the mountainview in the fall.

Room Tip: Lower floor with patio is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Peaks of Otter Lodge. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were at Peaks of Otter many years ago. The Lodge hasn't lost its charm and the interior of the rooms have been updated. We chose a 1st floor room with patio which we enjoyed looking across Lake Abbott. Glad we had the first floor which made for easy walking to the lodge. Our experience was better than other reviewers at dinner, my wife found the trout well seasoned and I thought the roast chicken was tasty and more than ample. The staff, front desk and in the dining room, was helpful and pleasant. The hiking on the two days we were there (on Sharp top and Flat top mountains) was fun, well marked and gave us ample exercise. We were struck by the diversity of the visitors from near and far away from Virginia. We understand why they came and glad we came back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobJane4945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience you had at Peaks of Otter Lodge, we look forward to having you as our guest in the future!

Sincerest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipley, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I gave this a 4 or very good rating because of the room, location, view and overall property. It is a typical old-style lodge, which hasn't changed much in many years. This is a good thing. Ask for a second floor room, the ceilings are vaulted with exposed beams. The bath is small, with a wall-mount sink, original tiles and a slot for used razor blades in the wall! However small, the bath has all the immenties, in-shower shampoo/conditioner and hairdryer. A coffee maker is provided in the room, but no fridge or telephone. TV in room, but we didn't use it. Overall, the lodge has a rustic feel, which fits in nicely with the surroundings and the experience of the parkway. Sit on the balcony and enjoy spectacular views of Sharptop Mt. and Abbot Lake, and be serenaded by the bullfrogs and birds.

We did not have a good experience in the restaurant. Although the views of the mountain and lake are again, spectacular with the floor to ceiling windows, the food and service leave a lot to be desired. The fried chicken was good, cooked to order and hot, but under seasoned. The pecan trout was so greasy and the pecans so overcooked it was almost inedible. The rest of the meal was cold (veggies and baked potato), and the rice also cold and dried out. Service was slow, and servers were apathetic. And prices are relatively high ($23 for trout). We did speak to the Manager, and were satisfied with the outcome. A new chef and employment issues may be the culprits. Breakfast the next morning was much better. Staff was friendly,service still a little slow, but coffee was free flowing. Food was also improved, omelet was still a little greasy, but tasty. French toast had a hair on one slice, but was good.

Anyway, my advice would be to definately go - the overall experience of the property and staying right on the parkway are worth the down fall of the restaurant. Hope for the best in the restaurant, hopefully they will fix the issues. Just bring a back up sandwich because there is not place else to go eat!

Room Tip: If you can climb a few stairs, pick a second floor room with a balcony to take full advantage of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle56Chipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank for taking the time to write about your experience at Peaks of Otter Lodge. I apologize for the experience you had in our dining room. I will be sure communicate the issues you described to our Chef and Food and Beverage Manager to make the necessary changes.

Sincerest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
13.0 mi away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
24.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
22.0 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
24.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
22.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peaks of Otter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaks of Otter Lodge

Property: Peaks of Otter Lodge
Address: 85554 Blue Ridge Pkwy, Bedford, VA 24523-6067
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Peaks of Otter Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Peaks of Otter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing