We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Miss this Attraction!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National D-Day Memorial

National D-Day Memorial
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National D-Day Memorial is located in Bedford, Virginia - the community suffering the highest per capita D-Day losses in the nation. The Memorial honors the Allied forces that participated in the invasion of Normandy on June 6, 1944 during World War II. With its stylized English Garden, haunting invasion tableau, and striking Victory Plaza, the Memorial stands as a powerful permanent tribute to the valor, fidelity, and sacrifice of D-Day participants. The Memorial is encompassed by the names of the 4,413 Allied soldiers who died in the invasion, the most complete list of its kind anywhere in the world. Visitors can expect both an educational experience as well as an emotional one, as they walk the grounds at the Memorial and leave with a clear understanding of the scale and sacrifices made during the largest amphibious landing the world has ever seen. On June 6, 1944, 150,000 Allied troops landed along a 50-mile stretch of heavily-fortified French coastline to fight Nazi Germany on the beaches of Normandy, France. General Dwight D. Eisenhower called the operation a crusade in which "we will accept nothing less than full victory." More than 5,000 ships and 11,000 aircraft supported the invasion, and by day's end, the Allies gained a foot-hold in France. The D-Day cost was high with more than 9,000 Allied soldiers killed or wounded as the march across Europe to defeat Hitler began.
Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
174 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss this Attraction!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you are ever in this part of Virginia, you should not miss this place. All of this was done with private funds. This is a stunning place!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    53
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“monument to great men who liberated europe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

great idea that got lost in the translation, Bedford lost more sons on D-Day than any other community, so fitting location... but some of the exhibits are very obscure and seem disconnected in a pop art kind of way... quite pricey as well

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank uckbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Recognize!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We always enjoy stopping by, to give thanks and remember what has been done by others for us. Two cautions: 1. There is a $7 per person charge. 2. It always seems to be very windy and cold on the memorial.

Helpful?
Thank Sweetsourtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Didn't get to finish the tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The tour was advertised as 45 minutes; we allotted an hour and had to leave partway through the tour because the guide started late, wasted time trying to find out why the fountain wasn't running, and didn't pace the tour well. Then, when we excused ourselves, he was very huffy and said that we should have told him in the beginning that we only had an hour. Why would we expect that a 45 minute tour would take significantly more than an hour? The comment card even had one question about whether the tour guide kept the tour to the 45 minute length.

What we saw was interesting, but I'm not sure the guided tour added more (beyond additional cost) to reading the many plaques and signs

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andee110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have been meaning to make the trip to the D-Day Memorial for some time. On the spur of the moment, we decided to go. This is worth the trip from anywhere. This memorial makes one remember what our servicemenbers did for this country. The memorial is really well done and guided tours are available (though I decided to do it myself). I WILL GO BACK and hopefully on June 6 of next year.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National D-Day Memorial also viewed

 

Been to National D-Day Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing