We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot recommend this motel in its current condition” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Motel

Bedford Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bedford Motel
Save
You added Bedford Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Grasonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend this motel in its current condition”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed there in April for one night to visit the WWII memorial. I made reservations 2 days in advance for a king non smoking room. Check in was smooth and the woman who appeared to be an owner told me that most of the rooms were rehabbed but she was out of them. Our room was clean but would have been marked as out of service on other motels. No head board, duct tape covering holes in the wall, 2 steps up to the bathroom which had an oversized vanity in it. If you sat on the toilet you had as much room as you would have on an airplane. This should have been removed and replaced with a pedestal sink. The outdoor lights shown in our window all night because the wore out curtains did not cover the window properly. On the outside the walkways were filled with construction stuff and a few mattresses on end under plastic. It has the appearance that they gave been working on the motel for some time. The only thing good about our stay was the mattress (hope if did not sit out in the weather like its brothers). Not worth the $51 including tax per night.

On a brighter note the breakfast next door was terrific!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cranky64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
5
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We were in the area for the race at Martinsville, which was about an hours drive. I was skeptical of staying because of the rates. A lot of times a cheap motel does not equal clean! We own a cleaning service so we are very observant when we stay in a motel. I read the reviews beforehand and thought we would give it a try. So glad that we did. Our room had a king size bed with a pillowtop mattress. The mattress was a little harder than mine at home but comfortable enough. The room was very clean, not even cobwebs outside of the door. We did see a couple of pine bugs but they are harmless. They look a little prehistoric. We looked real close for any evidence of bed bugs but didn't see anything. We even lifted the mattress. The room was good sized with a small microwave and fridge. No coffeemaker so be sure to bring your own. All in all it was a very good rate ($45) per night for a good clean room.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeakyclean1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Yes, it's not the Ritz but all we needed was a place to sleep while visiting Bedford. I'm not a hotel snob but do enjoy a nice place to stay. However, you don't have a whole lot of choice when you are in Bedford. I read the reviews of this motel plus the Days Inn and Super 8 and after speaking with manager, decided that we were not above staying in this motel. The room was just fine for what we needed. Beds were adequate. Bathroom was clean and plenty of hot water. We did kill one little bug but that can happen anywhere. All in all, don't be afraid to stay at The Bedford Motel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandMAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We chose this hotel for a 2 night stay while travelling through Va. We only lasted 10 minutes in the room and checked out. We were told that our booked room(non-smoking) was not available as they were having plumbing issues on one side of the hotel. The manager said we would be getting the room she usually holds for her family when they visit. She was very nice but the room was total crap! My husband used the toilet and had to take the tank lid off and play plumber to get it to flush, the room had a very strong odor of smoke and the element around the hotel felt unsafe. The view out the bathroom window was a very rundown trailer and there was junk surrounding the door to "our"room. We checked out immediatly and were charged $25 for the 10 minutes we were there trying to decide what to do. After checking out the Days Inn and Super 8 we drove on to Roanoke and never got a chance to see Bedford. Looks like the only option for a nice stay there would be a B&B in town.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micheleitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Spent the night in Bedford on business, and I thought this place looked okay. The owners were nice, and the rate was only $43. This is your typical '50s 'C'-shaped courtyard motel. The rooms are pretty big, and decently furnished. It's nothing fancy, but it's clean. The beds were a little mushy, but comfortable. The bathroom was small, the sink was actually outside in a funky old vanity that was just about the only vintage thing left in the room. US 460 is pretty busy and has a lot of trucks, so it wasn't the quietest night I've ever had.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadtripperMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
7.1 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
18.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Troutville
Comfort Inn Troutville
#4 of 5 in Troutville
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Halesford Harbour Inn
Halesford Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Moneta
5.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
21.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
24.5 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Motel

Property: Bedford Motel
Address: 2195 W Lynchburg Salem Tpke, Bedford, VA 24523-3914
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing