We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!”
Review of Reba Farm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reba Farm Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Bedford B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We have just stayed at Reba Farm for our first, but not last time!

The farm is wonderful! Yes, you do pull up into a gravel driveway, but anyone that has been in any of the rural areas of Va. should expect this. Truthfully, it reminded me of stepping back in time going to my Grandma's house on Gwynn's Island and to my nana's house in Mathews. We always left the "state" road and drove down a gravel driveway to get to the main house.

The rooms/cottage are great! We stayed in the Springhouse Cottage up at the top. It was very spacious and comfortable. While we were there we had a heat wave, but the air conditioner kept us cool when we were in the cottage which was mainly at night. THe cottage had a homey feel to it, and we felt at home.

The friendliness of everyone was incredible!! We did do the trail ride one day, and our daughter loved it so much, we let her go the second day by herself. That is how comfortable we were with the people in charge of the ride for that day, we knew we could trust them. They did have interns helping out, but all were very experienced and very nice.

When we first arrived we were greeted by some puppy dogs! They were very friendly and affectionate!!! They weren't bothersome, didn't jump on you, but they sure do love tummy rubs. So make sure to spend some time with them, you won't regret it!

When we found out that some of the horses were rescue horses, we were amazed. That speaks levels about Ron and Kathleen as people! It was nice to know that they care as much about animals as we do. Some of the horses we grew to know during our days there were rescue horses that were separate from the trail horses. They are kept right on the property of the main house in different pastures. One day you might find them up at the top of the pasture, and the next down by the road in that pasture. They were very friendly and affectionate--especially JR! He doesn't mind all the love or having his picture taken! Yes you might smell a manure smell, but it isn't overwhelming. This is a working horse farm remember, which is what also gives it that down home feeling.

The scenery is beautiful! Mountains all around you. The property is very well maintained. You really do feel as if you are at home. Ron made us feel welcome from the minute we talked to him on the phone to inquire about Reba Inn, and was just as friendly when we arrived. We were always made to feel welcome, and by the time we left it felt that we had known Ron all our lives.

Ron and Kathleen are very special people. They care about their animals. The animals aren't treated as "money makers" but as real animals that are completely loved! Their passion shows for the animals, their home, their interns, and their guests! What amazes me is the fact that they ever get to sleep!!! That is how much time they spend with the inn and the horses.

Reba Inn and Farm is now our new summer destination. We're hoping we get to go at least twice, if not three times a year. Our daughter has said forget going to Kings Dominion--she wants to only go to Reba Farm from now on. That says something from a kid!

All the above my wife wrote and I agree 100% +. I did want to put in my 2 cents worth. All of the interns as well as Ron went out of thier way to make sure everyone especially the inexperienced riders & especially the kids were safe and having fun! One particular intern named Josh rode like a stuntman in an old western movie portraying a great Indian Warrior. Taking the high ground, constantly circling the ride and swooping down to check and help with pointers and safety, never taking his eyes off the kids and riding his horse like he was part of the wind. There and gone and there again before you even realized it. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! These people are as gracious, caring, and genuine as they come. Oh, and the food is so good! There is no 5 star restaurant that could even come close. Expect for your all of your senses to be overloaded with the scenery, people, accomodations, horses, food, etc.etc. WOW!!! Thanks to everyone at Reba Farm for the best anniversary - birthday celebration we could not have even dreamed of or expected BUT GOT. YES, I could go on & on!!! AWESOME!!! AWESOME!!! AWESOME!!! I'll add that this is a working farm (just like my wife said) and all of these folks work far before sunrise till long after moon rise. The only way anyone could do this is for PURE LOVE for what they do!!! IT SHOWS!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank the3_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 41 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2010

The first time my family and I stayed at Reba Farm was on Thanksgiving 2008. We went on a great trail ride for about 2 1/2 hours, had an excellent family-style Thanksgiving dinner with Ron and Kathleen, enjoyed the hot-tub despite (or because of) the cold weather, spent the night in a lovely cottage, and then awoke to a terrific big breakfast the next morning. The hosts were very down to earth and friendly, and their dogs were very easy to play with or ignore, as you please. (We liked them a lot.) Recognizing that this is a horsefarm, not the Ritz, we thought it was fabulous.

Perhaps the best feature was the horseride itself. They aren't a lot of places in VA, W. VA, or southern PA anymore that even offer trailrides. We have been to several different ones in the past several years, but most do not compare to Reba. Most other places take you on a rigidly controlled horse walk (not really a 'ride') - everyone stays in a straight line the whole time, at a walk, on a single trail. Fine if you've never done any riding, but kind of boring after you've done it once or twice.

Reba offers a much better experience. The farm itself includes a few hundred acres of gorgeous land (pastures, hills, streams, woods, and mountains included), and you get to see a lot of it on the ride. Ron and Kathleen own about 40 or so beautiful horses. Ron will control the ride (and pick your mounts) according to the experience and taste of the group members, which is really great. And if you have some riders who want to trot, or cantor, or even gallop, he will make sure you get that opportunity with advanced warning, in a controlled manner, at appropriate places along the journey. We've never found another place that provides this kind of experience and freedom for those who want it - it's really laudable.

My kids liked the experience so much they begged my wife and I to return as "interns" at the farm in the summer of 2009, with a couple of their friends. One of my daughters is a pretty good rider who had been to horse camps during a couple of prior summers. My other daughter was much less comfortable and wanted to overcome her reservations and get more comfortable riding. Both my kids and their friends had a great time. They all liked Ron and Kathleen a lot, enjoyed all the fun stuff to do at the farm (e.g. pool, trampoline, game room, lots of riding, etc.), and said the food was great. Now they want to do it again this summer - one is pleading for permission to stay for a month!

Reba Farm is truly a treasure. As some other reviewers have said, it's probably not for everyone - if you want upscale pampering, there are better alternatives. But if you want to spend some time in the country relaxing at a great horsefarm, you'll have a very hard time finding something better on the east coast. Oh, one final thought - isn't it great that Ron and Kathleen open their hearts to take care of abandoned or abused animals? I don't understand the criticism from one reviewer about that.

Thanks Kathleen and Ron - best wishes for continued success!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guy9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

This was our 2nd stay at Reba Farm Inn, and we couldn't wait to get back and to bring our friends, as well! The owners, Ron & Kathleen, know how to treat their guests with tender care and special features; and their love of horses and dogs is infectious. The food is amazing, and the portions are more than generous. The Inn provides the perfect combination of charm, high quality, added value and breathtaking scenery. Can't wait to go back again and again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandjCatonsville_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

My friends and I worked as interns for a week and we absolutely LOVED it. Ron and Kathleen, the owners of Reba Farms Inn, were very kind and welcoming and our rooms were beautifully decorated.

The breath-taking scenery made trail rides an adventure and the wildlife surrounding us made everyone feel at peace. We were all unexperienced riders, but everything went smoothly because of their thorough instructions and fine leadership. Reba Farms' trail rides were different than the rest because they took riders into nature and away from flat stretches of land with controlled horse rings. Their horses lived like they would in the wild, that is, in a herd, but were all domesticated. Guests would only ride the calmest, most easy-to-control horses. Even with all the possible precautions, accidents can still happen, and it is not fair nor right to judge an experience based on whether or not something happened.

The home-cooked food was amazing. They even took us out for lunch or dinner once in a while.

Overall, our trip was a success we learned a lot about horses and riding in the short period of time we were there and had tons of fun staying in the hotel (one word: trampoline) I do not recommend this hotel to the business sort; they didn't have cell phone reception in many places. If you can't stand getting dirty and having fun, stay a good distance away.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dangerouslyfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2008

Our family enjoyed The Reba Farm Inn for a very special event - a Cowboy Christmas. This consisted of a 2 1/2 hour trail ride, then decorating a Christmas tree with edible ornaments for wildlife and a cowboy fire lunch afterward.

The owners were conscientious, friendly and helpful. They did everything to make our visit very memorable. Treated each guest with courtesy and respect (even us city slickers).

I read old reviews and want to speak to those - this is a HORSE FARM you will SMELL HORSES, imagine that! This is in a remote and incredibly beautiful location where there are sights, sounds and smells not of the city.

Ron and Kathleen have done a wonderful job making Reba Farm Inn an inviting atmosphere for NON horse people (of which I can claim to be) and horse people. It is awesome!!

If you enjoy horses, nature and wildlife I highly recommend The Reba Farm Inn. If you are expecting a Spa then go elsewhere. You will miss something very special.

This is the country! Carharts, old pickup trucks and hound dogs - it doesn't get any better than this!

God Bless,
The Leete Family

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Iamthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

My husband grew up on an Iowa farm, so we looked forward to staying at Reba's Farm Inn. After driving past Reba's Farm because of a "for sale" sign at the entrance, we turned around and drove up a very steep driveway full of pot holes and loose gravel. We were greeted by muddy outdoor dogs who jumped into the front seat of the car. Little did we know that the owners rescue abandoned and abused dogs and horses, one of whom is missing an eye. Our experience at the inn was disappointing with poorly maintained yard and fences, musty smelling game room, and owners who told us to leave valuables in the car because there were no locks on the carriage house door, and later her refusal to serve us coffee at breakfast because we had taken coffee cups to our room earlier in the morning. Breakfast was the highlight of our brief stay with its delicious three courses, but we did not feel like welcome guests, as we have at the many other bed and breakfasts in which we have stayed.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimibreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

There were 9 of us staying there for a family vacation. The cottage and two other rooms accommodated us wonderfully. There is a nice variety of activities to keep the children occupied and happy. Beautiful landscaping, lots of privacy, great scenary, and nicely decorated rooms all added up to great atmosphere. The breakfasts were wonderful, introducing us to some new delights. Three of our family went on a horseback ride and had a really nice time.

I am one who depends on a nice mattress in order to sleep my best. The mattresses could use upgrading in two of the three rooms we used, Take Charge and Rumble Seat. The bathrooms were great, the rooms well decorated, and all was very clean. It's obvious how proud they are of the property.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathieflorida1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Reba Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reba Farm Inn

Address: 3094 Sheep Creek Rd, Bedford, VA 24523-5816
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Reba Farm Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing