We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok lodge in great location”

Peaks of Otter Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 60 Restaurants in Bedford
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: As old as the hills . . . The Peaks of Otter have drawn settlers and travelers to the region for more than 8,000 years. The community whose vestiges remain to be explored today had its beginning in 1766 when Thomas Wood arrived from Pennsylvania.The wife of one of Wood’s descendants would open her home as the area’s first lodging for travelers in 1834. By the late 1800s, Peaks of Otter would be home to some 20 families, a school, a church, and a resort hotel. In the mid 1900s, the location was selected for special attention as the National Parks Service developed recreation and service areas along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Abbott Lake was constructed and the Peaks of Otter Lodge opened in 1964.Today, we invite you to be part of the future of this storied natural and cultural destination as it continues to attract visitors and travelers in the 21st century.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed there Wednesday night August 21. We arrived later and the staff was super friendly. Restaurant: good dinner with great service, a little pricey. Breakfast was super pricey, but again we did have great service and great view. Overall comment on food: you are paying more for food based on the location. It was convenient.
Lodge: the staff was very nice. One note is there is No wi-if. I had to do some work and ended up driving halfway to Bedford to get a strong enough signal to send data. The rooms themselves while clean have not been renovated. They did have TV's and Keurig coffee machines. But the beds and linens could use a little updating. The view was amazing.
We were driving on the parkway so the location and food availability was convenient as it is right off the parkway.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MAP434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We have recently gone under new management in our Food and Beverage department so I hope you will have a chance to come back and see the changes we have made. We hope to finish updating all the rooms with new linens and wireless internet in the near future. Again, I thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

Sincerest Regards,
Robert Peters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Peaks of Otter Lodge Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 395 of 477 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We only spent one night at the lodge. Had dinner in the lodge restaurant, what great luck to have happened on this place. We were seated immediately. The restaurant was not busy and the dining environment was very quiet with a fantastic view of the lake and mountain. Our waiter was attentive and knowledgable about the menu. I have never had better fried chicken and turnip greens, ever. I wish I had time to try the rest of the menu. It looked wonderful, especially the desserts. I will have to work on a way to get back there. Because of the location, they don't have to be this good. They have a captive market. But they really are that good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pk1363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your experience here at Peaks of Otter. Please be sure to stop by and say hello should your travels bring you back this way!

Sincerest Regards,
Robert Peters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Been visiting lodge for many years, but this is first visit since opening under new management. Waited and waited to be seated, when seating was only half full. When seated, waited again till waiter finally arrived and informed us it will be awhile till he takes order. We left and drove down to Bedford and had supper. Management really needs to work on their service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tdjkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Peaks Of Otter. We have recently gone under new management in our Food and Beverage Department and we hope that you will check back to see the improvements we have made. I will certainly work with my team to address the issues you have raised. Again, I thank you for taking the time to give us feedback.

Sincerest Regards,
Robert Peters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our family went to the Sunday buffet on August 18. For many years, we had been going to the Peaks under the old management and the food had gotten progressively worse to the point that we would hike and not eat at the Peaks restaurant. We were really curious to see if and by how much the food had changed under the new company, Delaware North (DN). The new management has not operated the lodge and restaurant that long so decor-wise, nothing had changed. The food though is much better than it was under the old management. We actually saw the DN chef come out and inspect the food along the buffet, something you never saw under the old management (if they even had a chef). Service was good with a very friendly waitress and all staff smiled and were friendly too. On the buffet line, they had fried chicken, turkey, and meat loaf, mashed potatoes, cheese macaroni, salad, etc. Although the food was good, it was not delicious. Maybe as time progresses and the new management establishes themselves, the food will get even better. This is a wonderful place and we've been going there for years. We, and many other people, really hope that the new management will make this a wonderful place to eat at once again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michaelrm48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at Peaks of Otter. We are very fortunate to have such a great staff in our dining room. We will continue to strive to improve our operations here and we hope that you will continue to check back with us. Please be sure to say hello if your travels should bring you back here.

Sincerest Regards,
Robert Peters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Totally worth the trip! Some of the same staff returned and the New Chefs are EXACTLY what this treasure needed! Food was WONDERFUL and we will return again SOOOOON!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GFtraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at Peaks of Otter. Please stop by and say hello if your travels should bring you back this way!

Sincerest Regards,
Robert Peters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peaks of Otter Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Peaks of Otter Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing