We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place still amazing!”
Review of Millstone Tea Room

Millstone Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Bedford
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Virginia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“This place still amazing!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Yea I know I reviewed this restaurant now 3 times. But when it is great they deserve all they get. We came on 6/28/13. We had Laura this time and Charlotte also helped with drinks and such. It's nice to see people with such great pride in their work. We had the seafood platter. Shrimp, flounder, Oysters. They were fried which I wondered it they would taste greasy. They did not. It was great. I wish all restaurants cared for their customers like the Millstone Tea Room.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    8
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting but a little off the mark (if a vegetarian)”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The drive up to the restaurant is simply lovely and the restaurant itself is charming. The wait staff is friendly and courteous. Our appetizer (egg on grits) was quite good. While my companion relished the fish entree special (he said it was quite delicious), I found that the vegetarian pasta entree left a lot to be desired. The chilled soup that accompanied it was pleasant because it was cold but it had been sweetened and that took away from the original taste of the cucumber and tomatoes in it. The desserts were not bad and the bread was fresh. I would recommend the place because it is so charming but not if one had a vegetarian dietary preference.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samaan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My experience at Millstone Tea Room was just perfect. The atmosphere is quaint, yet modern and the lighting makes for a romantic dinner. We enjoyed absolutely everything we tasted and the service was great too-our waitress was helpful, we did not have to wait long for our meals, and our entrees came out hot. The caesar salad was perfectly dressed, the bread was was freshly baked, and our entrees were heavenly. The soft shell crab was a special that day and may be the best meal I've ever had at a restaurant (highly recommend it!), The portions are generous (which may be surprising for a restaurant that specializes in local and organic foods), however, I doubt you'll leave a bite on your plate. AMAZING.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank alicia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Millstone Tea Room”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The food was outstanding and service perfect. We took friends from Asheville, North Carolina and they were very impressed with what the little town of Bedford has to offer. It is in a beautiful setting. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Exceptional dining options well worth the beautiful drive”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This quaint establishment is a 'can't go wrong' type place, regardless of your tastes. My wife, the vegetarian, had the best halibut fillet she had ever seen or tasted. I was served a phenomenal rib-eye cooked medium rare to perfection. My mother had the crab cake special that is unmatched by any you would get at a restaurant in a surrounding town within an hours drive, or more.

The ingredients are locally sourced as much as possible, and the staff is on top of everything. Great local beers from surrounding breweries are exceptional, and their liquor drinks are made well.

In any big cities the prices here would at least be doubled, but since this is Sedalia menu options hovered around $20 and the priciest options were $27. Make the trip out and enjoy the drive, the views are some of the best of Virginia.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Millstone Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Millstone Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing