We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Happy!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Basye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pines
Ranked #1 of 2 Basye B&B and Inns
Portland, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not Happy!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I booked this placed online through RCI. We were to get unit# 8 which slept 8 private and had a jacuzzi,sauna, and game room with a ping pong table so of course everyone of us in my party of 6 going packed bathing suits and ping pong paddles. We were late for check-in so we rec'd our key at a lock box. They gave us a different unit. When I asked as to why the change, they had given our original unit to a couple, that is, party of 2, who wanted to be closer to the road.REALLY??!! Also, during our stay we ran out of toilet paper so I called the office. They said they would tell their housekeeping Dept..needless to say, we never rec'd the TP and the office closed early on that day of hurricane Sandy without getting in touch with us or any other of their guests for that matter to see if we were all set and needed anything. We had to get the TP on our own I/We will not be making a return visit there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
13
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I agree with the previous reviewers regarding the Pines. If you are looking for a clean, inexpensive comfortable place to relax, The Pines is a good place for you. With kitchen facilities in the suite, it was easy to keep expenses down. Moreover, from what I could see, you have to go pretty far afield to find fine dining- we didn't even bother. Looking for wireless? Park your car outside of the library just down the road for free 24 hour wireless. They also have a nice book exchange going, if you are looking for reading material (donation to the library suggested- they need it). Small, well-kept outdoor pool which we had almost all to ourselves. Sauna was under repair and the local fitness center (which was advertised as available for a fee) had just closed down and is for sale.) The Bryce resort activities are available for a fee, but we didn't need them. Walking on the grounds can be chancy during good golfing days. There are many beautiful trails in the nearby mountains and a few within a short hop by car. For us, it was a perfect place to rest and recharge. Thinking of going back for the fall color. It should be gorgeous. If you are light sensitive, bring blinders for sleeping since the shades were not adequate to darken the room and the old style room air conditioners can be noisy.

Room Tip: see if you can get a room that has a newer, central AC system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearlbalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you are going to relax and do absolutely nothing this is the place for you. It is very clean and the staff tries hard to help but I would not go again. We own at Massanutten and I guess we are spoiled. The kids drove us nuts with the "nothing to do". They have a small pool and tennis that is free but that is all. If you already planned a trip I would suggest a park called Kids Cove in Mt. Jackson. It costs 3.00 and it is really nice.This is the perfect getaway for a winter holiday for couples as they provide the wood etc. for the fireplace. Almost everything is closed by 5 and many activities outside the timeshare are not open every day. As I said the staff is very nice and they try. Also, Be careful on the roads. The speed limit goes from 55 to 35 in a second without warning and I got my first ticket.

Room Tip: We had unit 114 and it was well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalma53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirsdale, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We own a week in early April, and enjoy getting away from the Florida heat and humidity to spend time in the Shenandoah Valley. The spring foliage can be very colorful and beautiful. We love the fact that firewood is provided for the timeshare units, along with a Sunday Washington Post. We love having a fire going in the fireplace. The furniture is 70's-80's crate style and can be a little uncomfortable after a while, but the cushions have been recovered. The units back to the ski slopes, but of course in April its too late to ski, though we usually experience at least one day of snow flurries during our week, which we enjoy. There are not a tremendous amount of things to do in the area, but there is, of course, the golf, Civil War sites, many Caverns. Our unit has always been clean upon our arrival. There is a DVD player in the living area, but trying to watch a movie made for the wide screen on an older 19" TV can be a little trying. There are 2 TVs, both 19" models. The kitchen probably shows the age most in the unit but is still functional. If you don't go expecting a 4-5 star resort, you can still have an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
3 Thank retiredjld-fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,401 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 678 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

With some timeshare apartments you get the "wow" factor, i.e when you first walk in and see the high standard of furnishings and decor you say "Wow! I wish I could live here." Well, The Pines is definitley not like that - there is no "wow" factor. So why do I give the resort such a high rating?
I've read some bad reports about The Pines - so let's get the facts straight. On first entry it is immediately obvious that these apartments have not been refurbished for several years, and the standard of fixtures and fittings reflect this. Also, with the predominately dark wood furniture and brown decor the overall effect can be rather drab in summer, although I imagine that it would be warming and cozy in winter. The apartments are however clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate. They are conveniently located for the resort amenities and there is also a small pool on site which is well-kept and very pleasant.
The resort itself is very quiet (certainly in summer) which is why we choose to come. If you are looking for crowds of fellow holidaymakers, a wide selection of restaurants and lots of laid-on entertainment - don't come here. If however you are looking for a quiet stay in a lovely location you will enjoy what Basye and the Bryce Resort have to offer. The location is ideal for exploring the beautiful Shenandoa Valley area and the roads around this part of North Virginia are an absolute deligh to drive on.
As for the resort in summer, you have a choice of walks, golf, swimming, zip-lining, grass ski-ing etc and the clubhouse bar is great for evening beers and food. The village of Basye is small but offers another couple of places where you can have food and drink; you can also enjoy "wild swimming" in the nearby Lake Laura.
This is a return visit for us and we would happily come again, because in our view the advantages of the wonderful location far outweigh any slight disappointment you may have re the ageing apartments.
NB however - you must have a car.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We arrived at 8 pm on Saturday - the office was closed - I got a key from my room from the box outside the office. Next morning, on Sunday, we found out that we cannot lock the door to our room! We call the office - it is closed! We left the message on a beeper as the recorded message suggested - nobody responded ... Lucky for us in the brochure for area attractions we found the phone of the golf course manager, who at least left in his recorded message his cell number - he was nice enough to respond and he sent his golf course employee to our room: together we found out how to make the lock to work (it was NOT obvious and the lock was very old and all wiggly). There is no internet in the room or in the building! Only in the nearby regional library we could connect to the internet and, again, only nn Monday, because the library was closed on Sundays too. Both restaurants available in the area are full of flies and outstandingly unsanitary ... The boat rental worked until 5:50 pm - i.e. we could rent a boat only when the Sun was up.
Swimming pool - very small and had very cold water. Except fishing and golfing was nothing else to do, so, since we are not fishermen or golfers, my wife and son literally demanded me to pack our things and leave this place on Monday morning, even though we loose the money I paid for the week.
This "The Pines", Basye, VA - is a very strange place: make sure you research this facility exceptionally thorough before deciding to go there in summer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank mika3873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Loved this trip wonderful condo, wonderful people, wonderful area. Manager of these condos is great. She recommened a very honest mechanic and we had to call her on Sunday her day off. Condo was clean, well equiped. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nich1Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basye
0.9 mi away
Senedo Springs by EVRentals
14.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chalet High Resort
Chalet High Resort
#1 of 1 in Basye
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lost Forest Bed & Breakfast
8.3 mi away
Super 8 Mount Jackson/New Market Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines

Property: The Pines
Address: 2565 Orkney Grade, Basye, VA 22810-2073
Location: United States > Virginia > Basye
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Basye
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
The Pines Hotel Basye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing