We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Wine”

Barboursville Vineyards and Historic Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
$325.00*
and up
Private Winery Tours in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular vineyard in Orange Country, Virginia that offers wine-tasting.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Wine”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A friend and I took a weekend tour of Virginia Wineries and found this one to be among the best. It's $5 for a wine tasting and that includes 20+ wines. And, for free, you can take a pretty stroll around the vineyards and ruins. All of the staff was very sweet and attentive to us and provided great information on the wines we were tasting (our favorites were they dessert wines).

Overall, it was a great experience and we left each with a couple bottles of wine. One word of advice: get there early. We arrived about 11 and did not feel crowded at all but when we returned a short time later, there was barely enough room for people to even park! This was, however, a Saturday (I am sure their busiest day of the week), so a weekday may not have as many people!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    128
    37
    15
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good wine and beautiful setting”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was the last winery that we visited in northern Virginia and it was by far the largest and most like a California tasting room. Buy your glass for $5 before heading back to the tasting area. You will taste lots of wines, almost 20! It was very busy and there were only 2 people behind the bar which made it difficult to get more than just the general discription of the wine. We did engage our pourer and she tried her best to give us more information when she could. The reds are the stars here, although the whites were nice also. Wish we could have tried the restaurant next door as we had heard great things about it, but it isn't open for dinner, except on weekends. The ruins of the original house are neat to go out and see and the setting really is beautiful, would definitely stop here again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ags35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic Winery”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Having been a long time fan of the wines of Barboursville Vineyard, I was super excited to visit this legendary place. It was Easter weekend, the weather was perfect and the winery was busy as get-all. All that said, the staff was very friendly, made the crowd feel at home and took it all in stride. After a trip through the tasting line we took a walk over to the mansion ruins. They were a well kept and fascinating piece of Virginia history. This place was well worth the trip and I would be hard pressed to find a better way to spend a sunny Saturday afternoon! A must see spot!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley, PA
Level Contributor
215 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fabulous wines... A little gem of a winery”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stop at this winery whenever we are in the Valley of Virginia. They used to be a well-kept secret, but now their wines win every year at the state competitions and they ship all over the country.
For $10 you can taste almost every wine they sell and you get to keep the glass. My wife and I can now entertain 20 with their matched glasses.
There will be something for everyone in their offerings. We particularly like their Cabernet Blanc and their Rosato.
There is a fabulous restaurant attached to the winery with fine cuisine. We have not eaten there; it looks pricey and you'll need reservations.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhilosophicalOldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great B&B to share alone or with friends”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The B&B at Barboursville Vineyard are top notch. We stayed there in a group for a friend's birthday. The cottages are quaint and nicely equipped with little kitchenettes. Each cottage gets a bottle of wine and cheese to enjoy along with breakfast already made and waiting for you. The Blue Run Cottage is great if you are booking for a group. It is broken into three sections with one section having two bedrooms. a group of 8 could easily plan a fun winery weekend around staying here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phillip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barboursville Vineyards and Historic Ruins also viewed

 

Been to Barboursville Vineyards and Historic Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing